April Fools Day and Spring is Playing Tricks on Us plus Indoor Garden Update...

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

It's the first day of April and spring had poked her head out for a bit but today she decided to play a trick on us and it snowed.

2 FB.jpg

I'm sure it will truly be spring one of these days but in the meantime I'll just enjoy the lovely scenery all highlighted in the white of snow.
I hope you can enjoy it too through the photos I took...

Golden willow on lane highlighted with snow best.JPG

angled picture of snowy blueberry plants and young spruce.JPG

sun glistening on tamerack amongst snow dusted spruce.JPG

late snow on tiny spruce by poplar tree.JPG

looking up young snowy spruce with trees in background.JPG

light covering of snow on young spruce by rock pile.JPG

Needless to say I won't be getting out and planting in my garden any time soon

April 1st and still Deep Snow on this Garden Plot

garden covered with snow april 1 and bent tree.JPG

That being said I have started my gardening season with tomato and pepper seedlings started indoors and I have been doing indoor gardening this year with my new indoor Gardening Project.

JJ by the Pots of Lettuce - Cannabis in the Background

JJ by lettus with cannibis plant in background.JPG

In spring when I visit the greenhouses and see the pots of lettuce ready to pick for salads I'm always tempted to buy them for I love my fresh greens but I could never bring myself to pay such a price for lettuce which is so cheap to grow by seed. I prefer to be patient and wait until my garden lettuces starts to produce.
Well this year I have my pots of lettuce already producing (and they have been all winter) so I won't have to wait or pay a big price!

JJ by Pots of Lettuce for Fresh Salad PickingsJJ looking up by lettuce plants.JPG

The fig cutting I took last fall are sure taking off now and the rhubarb Swiss chard (that I dug out of my garden in the fall) has produced all winter long.

swiss chard and fig trees.JPG

My herbs have been producing well all winter too! I have mint, rosemary, thyme and basil.
I tried a strawberry mint this year that has a wonderful scent! I just love to rub it any time I walk by it. It's gone to flower now which are pretty too.

Rosemary Thyme and Strawberry Mint in Flowerherbs mint in flower and rosemary.JPG

I'm so happy I started my indoor gardening project this year for the winter was really cold and it seems to be lingering on.

See the whole series of the Gardening for Food Security Indoor Gardening Project:

Part 1 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning

Part 2 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning-part-2

Part 3 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-3-the-experiment-worked

Part 4 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/video-tour-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-4

Part 5 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/why-i-brought-my-gardening-indoors-indoor-gardening-project-part-5

Part 6 - https://steemit.com/dsnapx/@porters/gye4b7sv

Part 7 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-garden-project-part-7-a-walk-thru-and-making-cuttings

Part 8 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/k4yhd5b7

Part 9 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/5x0x3oz7

Part 10 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/g8xh0kq2

Part 11 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/lessons-learned-in-my-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-garden-project-part-11

Part 12 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/march-2019-my-garden-journal-entry

All photos are my originals taken with my Canon Powershot A495

Thanks for stopping by!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

It didn't snow here, but the wind was pretty stiff and it was cold, well, in the 40's F. With the wind it went right thro you. But we had sun! Yay!

Love your photo bomber. :))

Always grateful for the heat of the sun returning in spring!

Mother Nature can be the cruelest of them all!

On the plus side, your indoor garden is looking wonderful!

@porters,

Like many things in life, when you have to wait for it, it means more when it finally comes.

Great pics.

Quill

Thanks!
That's what I say - this will only make us appreciate spring more when it finally comes!

Brrrr!

I get cold just looking at the images. Although I grew up in the Boston, New England area, I'm not a big fan of neither snow, nor cold weather in general.

That's why I retired in Asia, where it's perpetually warm (even during rain storms).

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Smart move!
I love everything about living in the forest except for the fact that we have winter for 5 months of the year!

Brilliant. 100% well done for your indoor gardening and self-sufficiency. Nice to see JJ by the jayjay plants. And lettuce. Lots of snow. I'm on the south coast of Africa and never see snow except on distant mountain tops some years.

Ya, I'm getting pretty tired of the snow, it snowed again today! I'm just ever so grateful that I have my indoor garden so i can just ignore whats going on outside sometimes!

Hi @porters!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.599 which ranks you at #6035 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #92.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Brrr! That is quite the cruel April Fool's joke! Glad you've got plenty of greenery still indoors. Strawberry mint?? Yum, I've had chocolate mint but haven't heard of the strawberry variety. I might have to seek it out to try it...

Ya, I just ran into it last year and really enjoy the scent! I still like the chocolate mint best for flavor though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82