Ragtag Garden, Season 2 ~ MORE Buckets!!

in #gardening6 years ago

I took advantage of mild temps and sunshine today to tackle a mini-project outside.

Seeing as how we don't have a proper garage, hubby and I have been using our oldest (aka dead) van as a substitute. Mostly, we've used it to store the bulk of hubby's painting equipment from a previous work life.

Of prime interest at this point, is getting it cleaned out so we can sell the van. I had a rough idea of what I'd find, but it was better than I thought. The instant gratification was gathering up another dozen clean buckets... five with lids! I could have stopped right then and been satisfied with the progress.

Then, I spotted a roll of plastic sheeting. In the very back of the van. Oh, I forgot to mention, only the driver and passenger doors open. The side and rear doors are stuck shut. I had to crawl from the driver's seat to the middle bench behind it. Yippee...?!

I did get a little additional return on investment for doing the mad scramble - I found what appear to be small panels from a wire dog crate (they're in the white bag) and a few other whatnots to bring inside for now. And, as you can see, that's almost a full roll of sheeting.

I did leave a few heavy things in there, because it's going to take a team effort to get them out. There was a nice grocery bag full of very dry wood, assorted types and lengths of lumber, and an almost full box of copier/printer paper. Once those are removed, then I think I'll be able to reach a nifty set of stackable drawers that are in very back corner and a small folding table that's under the lumber. Those treasures, however, will have to wait for a different day as I have a sneaking suspicion that my back is going to have something to say about today's acrobatics.

Now, where did I leave that bottle of aspirin....?


RECAP:


It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden


Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

The expansion of these two projects has now become The Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 3
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 4
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 5
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 6
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 7
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 8
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 9
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 10


Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.
Ragtag Brand Logo created by Michelle at @slhomestead.
Steemit Icon created by @grow-pro.

Sort:  

My uncle used to keep his old van that didn't work as a greenhouse. He would start his spring goodies in there and even micro greens and sprouts! Your post so reminded me of this :)

Neat! It does make sense and if it works, all the better. So pleased it triggered a fun memory!

I love it when I clean areas I haven't been in a while and find a bunch of useful stuff! You really scored with your finds. Good luck selling the vehicle. We have a VW Vanagon we need to sell but my husband and I both hate cleaning enough to drag our feet on the project.

Treasure hunt mode is about the only way I get this stuff done. I'm embarrassed to say how long it's been in the driveway. {blush} Thanks for the good wishes on selling! It's junk so fingers crossed metal prices go up. LOL!

We actually have a few vehicles we are trying to get rid of right now (and they each have their share of stuff stored in them), but we have been ready to get rid of the VW for quite some time and have just dragged our feet on it big time for some reason. Ours runs but the batteries keep dying from not being used. Im really bad at getting around to such projects, so youre clearly doing a lot better than me in that regard.

The ambition is mind blowing.

Lol! Yeah, it kinda is...

That's a nice treasure hunt there, @aunt-deb. Almost time to start some seed! Well, for the impatient ones like myself anyhow..lol Makes me want to dig around my garage now and see what has been buried from last season..ok, nah just looked..that's not a 'today' project by any stretch here..haha but kudos for your ambitious efforts! 😉🌱

Thanks! We haven't had many days recently to be outside much. This was a perfect way to get a little fresh air and some 'loot' to show for the effort. Depending on how well we do in selling the van, I'm hoping to direct a few of those dollars into a small greenhouse build. Starting seed is definitely coming up quick!

Lol @ checking your garage... maybe an incremental approach? Rainy day project? You'll think of something!

I can't wait for the gardening to fully get going again!!! Followed ya all last summer too. Love watching other container gardeners do great things!! We have all our peppers started in the incubator just growing day by day, staring at me, reminding me we are getting closer lol.

Awww, thanks for the follow. (Returned the favor!)

The weather is teasing us this week with 40's and 50's... snow is melting. BUT, the end of the 10 day forecast has the high at 28. You're ahead of me on seeds started. None here yet, but soon. Keep us posted on how your starts are doing!

Wow aunt-deb you and uncle-dan are a dastardly duo. I am surprised you haven’t pushed the old van into the rag tag area to use as your new green house. I gotta learnto keep my mouth shut! 🐓🐓

ROFL!! Yeah, it can get that way sometimes. At least there's a semi-sort-of-kinda-almost-an-inkling of a gameplan this time. 😜

Hmmm....we have a "dead" Suburban in our yard. My husband talks about getting it repaired, but it would cost more than it is worth. Maybe it could become a greenhouse! I like that idea!

There ya go! Turn it into to a plant nursery for it's second life.

You see to have a great vision for what you are doing, awesome work! I'm sure you will be blessed with a wonderful harvest.

Thank you for the support and kind words!

Sweet! I love finding useful things that we forgot we had!

We have this gigantic pile of reclaimed lumber in our garage, just waiting to be turned into a shed in the spring. I am so excited to go through all the stuff in the garage and find all the things that I forgot we had. Things that can be used for gardening and crafting and such. (And I’m a little excited to put my car in there again.)

It's truly amazing what can be built with re-purposed materials. Each structure or project ends up being unique! Plus, room for the car, too... Score!!

Like finding money in an old jacket pocket!

Yup yup! Good analogy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63762.28
ETH 3107.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84