How I Became a Game Writer in Three Weeks with no Coding Skills

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I began taking my writing career seriously several years ago. I had been told for a while that I should be a professional writer, but I had always felt I was lacking in talent in that area. Truth be told, I never feel my stories are up to par- I am definitely my own worst critic. I mean, I read a lot. There’s no way I can compare to the authors who pen the prose I consume like air!

At the time I was a stay at home mom. Terribly busy growing children and making the house pretty and cooking ever growing meals. And terribly bored. Oh, I had plenty to do, sewing active boy buttons on will consume more of your week than you’d like to admit.

But I had the wanderlust something fierce.

Writing was the answer. It gave me an outlet for my tsunamically imaginative mind. And it was a work at home career, which is very important to the type of family I am nurturing.

The problem was I didn’t have much time. I had to be sneaky and write while the kids were having their morning cereal while engrossed in cartoons. And after they went to sleep at night. That is the golden time for author moms! But my favorite time to sneak in some writing was during nap time. That blessed hour, when I was fortunate enough to get it, was pure heaven. My little break in the hectic day that was all mine :)

You know they're getting too old for naps when they say, "Mom, why is it we have to go to sleep when you're tired?

It took a few years of non stop dedication, which was even tougher when I had to begin working outside the home again. But I persevered. Becoming a career writer is seriously something you must have a passion for. It is hard, and it take a while before you can live off your writing income alone. But if you want it, work for it and you will get it! I started out by searching job boards and applying to gigs. I was super fortunate in that I was granted a staff writer position for a humorous survival website SurviveTheApocalypse.net (which I still contribute to). It didn’t pay much in the beginning, ok, it paid $0.00. But hey, I was getting feedback and exposure.

And I was a published writer!

I was also writing fiction, my first love, for myself. Just to keep the creative juices flowing. I really enjoy creating worlds. My favorite part about fiction is your characters start out like your babies. You tell them what to wear, what to say, how to act. But halfway through the novel you realize they have grown up! They are doing their own thing- they are their own humans now! It's an interesting phenomena to watch. No matter how much you try to reign them in to do as you had initially envisioned when they were sweet little newborns, they do what they want. They are now adults and determining their own actions :) I wrote everything from YA to Horror to Romance. I was contracted to ghostwrite a couple novels. If you are unfamiliar with the practice, ghostwriting means you write bestselling novels for big name authors for very little pay.

But hey, there again, I was a published Writer! Even if nobody ever could see my name because of that pesky NDA!

So this is my background. I dabbled around and made a few Wordpress websites, but they were never as good as I wanted. I kept telling myself I’d learn coding soon, it can't be that hard. I just never got around to it. ❤

How to be a video game writer

Fast forward to Spring 2017. I was still struggling to dig myself out of the tragedy which befell my clan, and barely finding gigs. The market is so over saturated now due to the economy. Everyone is diversifying, finding second and third income sources, and scrambling for money. For every job posted there’s about 4000 applicants.

Saying I was desperate is an understatement.

One frustrating day I was about to leave my laptop and go prepare lunch when a paragraph of an article stopped me. The author mentioned a company his friend worked for was having a hell of a time finding a game narration writer who could actually, well, write. I checked the date of the article- yesterday.

I clicked the link.

After reading and rereading the requirements and application process, I downloaded and played a couple of their games to get a feel for what they want.

I could do this! This is what I did, I created worlds! I would create the scene, detailing it for the game developers. I would describe the characters for them to bring to dimensional life. And I would write the plot, narration, everything!

I had exactly what they were looking for already, too! They wanted a natural humor that was appropriate for all ages, and a trendy, dynamic style that was overly descriptive. I have a big problem with that. Being overly descriptive is distracting and rambling for print( I always have a lot of editing out from my first draft) but it was perfect for game writing. The developers and animators need this info- the more the better.

Best part? Absolutely NO coding skills were necessary! This was strictly a creative writing gig.

I sent in my CV and was surprisingly approved to begin the application process that night at 11:59. I can’t remember the last time I was so excited to receive an email!

My next two weeks were completely focused on the process. I signed an NDA so I must use false names, so I will call the main editor Megan. Megan would send me a project to complete with a deadline. Sometimes she wanted a piece heavy on narration. Another she wanted a detailed descriptive scene that displayed an emotion they wanted the audience to feel.

I passed with flying colors and excellent feedback every time. I was on such a high!

Long story short- the editorial team had it narrowed down to me and this guy with extensive coding skills. We both had stellar writing talent. They said that aspect was exactly equal. They gave the contract to the guy. Simply because he could cross preform if absolutely necessary.

I was devastated. I had given two weeks of my time, and was so super passionate I was feeling working on this upcoming game already. It would have taken 12-18 months from beginning to shipment. It was like I had lost my little newborn.

But I had learned so much about the industry in this time that I damn it, I was gonna write my own game app! I had the perfect (and proven) concept, already loved by a whole editorial team. All I needed was a developer! But I worked my end of it- the writing.

Game writing may not have started off as my dream, but it's here now and I work on the writing and creation of my game app everday :) Everything else will come because my energy is focused clearly.

I mentioned this to a colleague of mine who is a professor at the local university. He immediately introduced me to a gentleman I’ll call “Jack”. Jack is recently retired to my area, and is hosting a weekly video game creation class at the university. Jack is very low key, behind the scenes, and abhors publicity. He has shipped nearly 100 games in his 60 year career.

Jack agreed to have lunch with me. Our 30 minute meeting turned into three hours. I couldn’t have asked for a better mentor. Funny how the world works, right?

This is how I found Steemit.com. Jack is also a gaming industry strategist, whose foresight is sought after worldwide. He was recently consulting with a company and cryptocurrency is a big player in the very near gaming future.

In my crypto research I found steemit and fell in love ♡

If you are moving forward on the path toward your dreams, there's no way you can be stopped!

STEEM on my friends!

shaded line.jpeg

Follow @ArbitraryKitten for more for Steemit tips, moneymaking hacks, fiction, fun and humor :)

More stuff you might love :)

Motivation
Post Apocalyptic Entertainment- Avoiding cabin fever when you're the last survivor
The City Girls Guide to Surviving the Apocalypse- Don't let the title fool you!
Everyday Erotica
Arbitrary Travel Tips
inCatuation

shaded line.jpeg

Original Fiction Episodes
by @ArbitraryKitten

The Strays

Prelude
Chapter 1
Chapter 2

animated-cat-image-0415

shaded line.jpeg

I ❤ your comments and questions! Proud Minnow Mentor :)

animated-arrow-image-0032 Please Upvote and Resteem :) animated-arrow-image-0044

Sort:  

You had me captivated at, There’s no way I can compare to the authors who pen the prose I consume like air! you have a way with words that delights my heart :) I NEED MORE!

It makes my heart soar knowing yours is caressed in delight!

I am happy to give :)

Thank you!

She did it again folks, towards me this time! faints with excitment!

May I suggest a swoon into the arms of a dashing gentleman?

DrawDrops, her gif game is strong too! ALl hail arbitrarykitten!!!

if you're that passionate about it, perhaps you already know what you've gotta do (if that's not already what you're learning with "Jack")....! :)

https://www.quora.com/Should-I-use-Unity-5-or-Unreal-Engine-4-as-a-beginner

I recommend Unity. Unity is far easier to pick up compared to Unreal Engine 4 or CryEngine. Because of its scripting language: C# which is highly recommended by me why? read more at: Harshal B Kolambe's answer to Why does Unity Game Engine use C# as the main scripting language? -- ignore Unityscript/Javascript and boo.

I'm just the writer, I do not know coding whatsoever, well, besides how to center and bold here in steemit! Lol. I'm keeping my eyes open for someone who can help me on that end...

Congratulations! I really hope that you can reveal the company and the name of the game at some point!

Well, I cannot name the company I applied with, you know, pesky NDA's and all. However, since I am going independent I will have to name my company at some point ;) And, as I am on the lookout for a designer for the visual aspects of my game, you'll be hearing me talk about it here on Steemit a lot! I'm shooting for iOs and Android ATM... Possibly Amazon apps as well...

What a journey. Thanks for sharing. I myself am currently try to build a web based game using javascript. Something equivalent to Mafiawars from back in the day.

Awesome! I wish you the very best of luck, I know just how difficult this undertaking can be!
I am eager to read about your journey :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

You might not earn or make earn a lot or whatever but I really enjoy your writing

Why thank you so much! That really means a lot ♡

Great post, lots of details! Good luck with this - I truly hope it pans out.

Definitely message me on Discord, as I worked closely with the narrative designers on a number of games (actually in-studio) and have interviewed numerous game writers back when I was freelance writing full time.

As for feedback on the structure of this post, there's some proofreading and editing required, if you want a little bit of constructive criticism! (Some quick examples: "that was overly descriptive" = "that was not overly descriptive" and "hunorous " = "humorous ", as well as some words that should be hyphenated.) But like I said, let's chat on Discord - I'm happy to help.

Thanks for pointing that out- I wrote this on my 25th hour of no sleep! I appreciate it :)

I actually meant "overly descriptive" that's what the company wanted in order for their animators to be able to design the most accurate representation and avoid many possible future edits. :)

Oh OK - sorry, then my bad in the reading thereof! But great work nontheless - don't misunderstand where my criticism is coming from. :)

Oh, no, I appreciate your eye. Most people won't say something- I posted an article yesterday and right before publishing I decided to switch a couple paragraphs. Problem is I didn't delete one after copy/paste. Many views later someone finally pointed it out!

Either that or they were the first of the commentors to actually read the thing!

lol

Hahaha that's very possible. I do believe a lot of comments are copy/pasted, intentionally vague with the motivation being of maybe getting a cent here or there as an upvote - not really contributing.

It's especially bad now after HF I'm afraid. I've certainly noticed a severe loss in quality posts in my feed :(

I'm feeling confident that if this poor trend persists, the powers that be will see to it that the next HF rectifies this - or that there's some disincentive to throw out short, low-effort contributions. Time will tell.

I certainly hope so :)

You continue to be one of my Steem heroes. I hope Megan paid you for your work. ^R (upvoted and resteemed... I'm needing an abbreviation)

No, not a dime. But I knew this going in. I would have had an advance of almost $2K upon signing the contract at the end of the the application process had I been chosen.

Thank you, I feel so proud to be your Steemit Hero :D

Oh wow. What an interesting story. Are you a game player? There are some games right now that I'm COMPLETELY immersed in. Mass Effect Andromeda, and Ghost Recon Wildlands :)

You know, Raymond... Shhh don't tell anyone this but I do not play video games. Not for lack of want, but because I simply do not have time. I am absolutely a single mom- The boys' father has been gone many years so there has never been child support or any assistance. I do it all myself. I'm just thankful that I work from home- I definitely couldn't feed three active boys if I had a commute! Every spare second is spent on work, because there are barely any spare seconds!

I get that. There's two of us, and only one child, and I get time to game perhaps once or twice a week if I'm lucky.

Great story! Sorry that first gig didn't work out, but it looks like you found the perfect direction to take next. Best of luck!

(btw, I could watch that last meme of the little knitting gnome forever!!)

Thank you!

He is pretty cute, aye?

Too much. Just too much. :)

Just came to upvote and comment after reading "Word Dominatrix" in your repertoire. Bravo! :D Keep spanking those words Madame!

Why thank you, Sir.

Whipping words into submission since 2008 ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62152.13
ETH 2441.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65