You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Became a Game Writer in Three Weeks with no Coding Skills

in #gaming7 years ago

Great post, lots of details! Good luck with this - I truly hope it pans out.

Definitely message me on Discord, as I worked closely with the narrative designers on a number of games (actually in-studio) and have interviewed numerous game writers back when I was freelance writing full time.

As for feedback on the structure of this post, there's some proofreading and editing required, if you want a little bit of constructive criticism! (Some quick examples: "that was overly descriptive" = "that was not overly descriptive" and "hunorous " = "humorous ", as well as some words that should be hyphenated.) But like I said, let's chat on Discord - I'm happy to help.

Sort:  

Thanks for pointing that out- I wrote this on my 25th hour of no sleep! I appreciate it :)

I actually meant "overly descriptive" that's what the company wanted in order for their animators to be able to design the most accurate representation and avoid many possible future edits. :)

Oh OK - sorry, then my bad in the reading thereof! But great work nontheless - don't misunderstand where my criticism is coming from. :)

Oh, no, I appreciate your eye. Most people won't say something- I posted an article yesterday and right before publishing I decided to switch a couple paragraphs. Problem is I didn't delete one after copy/paste. Many views later someone finally pointed it out!

Either that or they were the first of the commentors to actually read the thing!

lol

Hahaha that's very possible. I do believe a lot of comments are copy/pasted, intentionally vague with the motivation being of maybe getting a cent here or there as an upvote - not really contributing.

It's especially bad now after HF I'm afraid. I've certainly noticed a severe loss in quality posts in my feed :(

I'm feeling confident that if this poor trend persists, the powers that be will see to it that the next HF rectifies this - or that there's some disincentive to throw out short, low-effort contributions. Time will tell.

I certainly hope so :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62082.09
ETH 2434.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66