Cabbage Cravings (Vegan)

in #fruitandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

Asian Veggies with a Mediterranean Touch

DSC09868.jpg

To balance the way I feel and function, I tend to regard the PH value of food. Like an atmosphere, our gut colon has biota that thrives and helps build immunity. Since all that bad bacteria lives in mucus, that tends to build up when one lives too acidic by consuming certain foods and drinking too less, I always keep alkaline veggies in mind.


Source

During October 2019 my cravings for alkaline food became so strong, that I kept having dreams about staying away from nightshades and getting more into cabbages. In my dream I was giving a lecture to myself about bioavailability and the colon. I woke up with a cabbage craving. After researching, my dreams actually had some corroborating facts.

Groceries


DSC09837.jpg

Ingredients:

  • Green Chili

  • Garlic

  • Ginger

  • Onion

  • Leek

  • Fresh Oregano

  • Fresh Thyme

  • Oyster Mushrooms (the label said agaricus bisporus) / Pleurotus Ostreatus

  • Savoy Cabbage

  • Turnip Greens

  • Piper Nigrum (Black Pepper unripe)

  • Mushroom Sauce

  • Soy Sauce (make sure you use a nicely fermented one with less preservatives like Tamari - makes a difference)

  • Peanut Oil / Coconut Oil / Olive Oil

  • Whole Wheat Flour / Any other Flour (possibly gluten free)

  • Nutritional Yeast/ Regular Yeast/ Home Made Yeast (optional)

Preparation:

Firstly you need a Frying Pan, a pan for a Sauce or Fond and one for the Rice.

DSC09838.jpg

DSC09839.jpg

Chop Garlic and Ginger Brunoise and slice Green Chili. Add 1 Liter of Water and add the 3 ingredients and bring to boil. I also added a bit of bouillon.

DSC09841.jpg

Add Mushrooms to a Frying pan with some oil of your choice. I used Peanut Oil.

DSC09842.jpg

Chop two Cloves of Garlic minced.

DSC09843.jpg

Add Garlic with Black Pepper and a pinch of Salt.

DSC09845.jpg

Cut Leek Mire Poix or Slice(Roundelle).

DSC09846.jpg

Add Leek.

At this point I would also start cooking the rice...

DSC09847.jpg

DSC09848.jpg

Cut Savoy Cabbage Mire Poix.

DSC09849.jpg

DSC09850.jpg

Cut Turnip Greens Mire Poix.

DSC09854.jpg

Add Savoy Cabbage and Turnip Greens to frying pan.

DSC09855.jpg

Add a spoon of yeast. (Optional).. I made this over a few days, just adding flour, water and sugar. Once you get bubbles, the yeast starts growing. (I use it to make Bread)

DSC09856.jpg

Add Rice Wine or Rice Vinegar to the frying pan. Or the Sauce/Fond (with Garlic, Ginger, Chili, Bouillon) that is still cooking. 1-2 Table Spoons

DSC09857.jpg

Add some Mushroom Sauce to the Fond.

DSC09858.jpg

Add a bit of Soy Sauce to the Frying Pan/Veggies

DSC09860.jpg

Add The entire Sauce/Fond to the Frying Pan/Veggies and some Flour, then stir.

DSC09861.jpg

Add some fresh Pepper/unripe Black Pepper.

DSC09864.jpg

Add a bit of Thyme and Oregano (Kindly note that this is experimental and totally how I particularly like my Veggies(with herbs))

DSC09865.jpg

DSC09866.jpg

Slice Onions and add them.

DSC09867.jpg

Now you are ready to serve your meal with Rice. Enjoy!

DSC09869.jpg

Here are all my previous recipes, in case you feel like trying something else:

Thanks for stopping by and i'm looking forward to reading your recipes and to posting more simple and effective plant based recipes.

shadow_fw_ .png

Our ears and within them is one of the most important senses to detect movement of energy. - Soan Shinobi a @yangyanje original

[ NOTE: #vegansofsteemit, #food, #creativecoin, #naturalmedicine, #vegan .]

Join Steemians that meditate together:
2gsjgna1uruvCMJTX7owXd26zXYjZqAJUBTewkwpoEFuRzL1nF22iUyCz7hkxfhsQrDgonprnwfGXowsrcVzbbsJkmBMBPWKVRFvJvpZAh22Ht9AE1.gif





@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


yang.gif

Sort:  

This sounds and looks mouthwateringly good. A shame I miss some of the ingredients. Might have just enough ingredients ( actually got some green cabbage, albeit in my freezer ) to make some sort of improv version of this one of these days.

Please keep those amazingly healthy recipes coming my friend :>)

Thanks for your comment my dear friend. A couple of spinach type veggies like rapini along with savoy cabbage of event just spinach and fennel with ginger and garlic with something sour like vinegar or wine in just a stir fried is a nice combo. So many branches. I know for a fact that you have very evolved gustatory senses so your appreciation for these things are highly regarded.

Posted using Partiko iOS

🤤 I want it 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

I do want to cook for you once. It feel like a lot of people can shade a dark color into a lighter one. Some know where to put the black and the white. What is your have light green and dark green, black and white? Where will one add the orange color ? You are an artist and i am sure you are probably an amazing cook? 😉 surely love the food from where you are a lot! Thanks for stopping by. Lets skype soon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You always shpw such passion for cookimg. I get craving for cabbage, particularly with sesame oil!!

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine - Cool chart with the acid and alkaline foods! Your recipe looks scrumptious! Thanks for sharing!

curation.png
If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord.

weelotus.png

Did you know we're running an 'Art is Healing' challenge this week on Steem? It's due February 8th and you can win up to 100 Steem plus tokens. Read more here

Made a variant on this. Didn't have leek or soy sauce, nor special mushrooms, also no yeast or wine ( but I used apple cider vinegar ). Added some raisons with the cooking veggies for sweetness and a little bit of cinnamon. The fond was too wet but I used this big spoon with holes in it, to not soak my rice.

I made peanut butter today and also had a slice of dark Portugese rye bread ( not comparable to rye bread in The Netherlands or, I guess, Switzerland, it looks like slightly dark round bread ) with home made peanutbutter. I also added some lemon juice to the rice and - of course - kurkuma ;>)

I don't think it came close to the way your food tastes but thinking of us cooking together and the fact that I cooked from a friend's recipe made it taste pretty damn good.

Oh, and I almost forgot, I added some broccoli.

Namaste.
Thanks for sharing, sounds delicious. I might just sacrifice Mama Cabbage (but not her babies) tomorrow to make a variation with the ingredients I have. Today I will finish off the Sweet potato, parsnip, carrot, ginger, coconut milk and Tamari hotpot I made yesterday.

I found you via @vincentnijman's who do I follow post btw and was inspired to check you out and follow.

I look forward to reading and trying more of your recipes.

Peace and love
from Virtually Vegan Atma

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65