Failed Freewrite Attempt - CrazysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite7 years ago

freewrite.png

This was my first failed attempt at a Freewrite.

There is this wonderful person on Steemit who is doing a Freewrite daily thing, I knew it was coming because I follow her, but low and behold it is already 13 days in and I have not done one. It is supposed to be a 5-minute timer and you get a prompt and you are supposed to just write. Here is the link to Today's prompt from @mariannewest

So, why am I calling my attempt a failed attempt? Here's why...
5-Minute Timer? - Check
Use the Prompt? - Check (Today was Crazy)
Write non-stop and don't edit? - No

So, apparently, I have this thing where when I am typing, and I type pretty fast (87 wpm) as I did all the below text in 5-minutes, and that included be editing as I wrote, to type and go back and erase to fix what I was writing or missing. I am able to keep the thought in my brain while I am doing these edits, but I don't even realize I am doing them. I did not edit after I was done typing, just naturally fixed the words while I was typing them out. So, this is my failed attempt. I didn't know it would be this hard not to do that, but oh well. It was still a fun exercise and I think I will have to try this again but actually make sure I do no during the writing process editing. Either way, I hope you enjoy this little bit of writing that was inspired by the word prompt: Crazy

Failed Freewrite Attempt - Prompt: Crazy

There he was, sitting in the corner all alone. I didn't think too much of it except he was just staring at me. His eyes seemed unfeeling and piercing at the same time. It made a bit of an uneasiness creep up my spine. He sat there, all alone, nursing what appeared to be a gin and tonic. I had to go up to him. It was my job. I had just started my shift but I had no choice, he was now sitting at a table in my section.

The girl before me, Bethany, said he had been there for hours and that he did not say much. He had just been sitting there, taking in people around him in our quiet bar that was not very busy. I approached him and let him know that Bethany had left for the day and that I would be taking care of him now. He looked up and gave me half of a smile, or what I thought was half of a smile as the left side of his lips crept upwards. He sat there and then nodded his head, lifted his glass as to signal he wanted a refill and I left his side. I could feel his stare on my back, I didn't know what to make of it. He said nothing, his eyes seemed even more emotionless when I had gotten up close. They were a very deep brown, nearly the color of the pupil and they seemed a tad cold, I was not sure what to make of them. I looked back while at the bar, waiting for the bartender to finish making his new drink, he sat there, looking over towards the door, just staring. I was not sure if he was waiting for someone or if he was just a people watcher, who could tell.

Once the drink was refilled I made my way back and set it down with a little smile, but not making much eye contact. As I turned to leave he grabbed my wrist. It wasn't a hard grasp, just something unexpected enough for me to turn around. I looked at him and he was staring up at me. I froze for a moment, and for just a second I thought that his eyes flickered, that somehow they softened, and yet a moment later, like it never happened, the coldness was back.

I hope you had fun reading.

Have you ever taken a typing test to see how fast you are?


As usual, Stay Awesome Steemians!

muchlovesig.png

nicedivider.png

Don't forget to check out my Art Contest

artcontest29-4.png

nicedivider.png

Check out some more of my recent posts

Fun Halloween Photographs

Come play with me. Video games that is. Part 2

Crazy story time! Are you ready for it?

Happy Caturday! Reached 400 Followers too

nicedivider.png

Want to join thealliance? Come to the Alpha Syndicate of thealliance in Discord

CLICK HERE to JOIN the ALPHA SYNDICATE

alphabanner.jpg


teamcanada.png
Banner made by @bearone

Sort:  

Stick to the rules dangit ;) Great story and had fun reading it. I like the stories where there are depths to the main character that are hinted at, but never really develop until the end of the story.

You got me pulled in!

Haha thanks! Glad I got you pulled in. Maybe one day I will try to make that into a full short story or something. The funny thing is, I had no clue where it was going, so this is a really cool idea. Sticking to the rules are apparently tougher than I thought haha.

you did really well

as for writing and not editing thats also something i could never do, my brain runs faster than my fingers can keep up with so I am always having to go back and fix what actually it typed to what I wanted typed

Back in my Army days when I used to fix teletype machines amongst other communications equipment a few of us did a tying test just to see how fast we were and I think my actuall typing speed was somewhere around 77, but to achieve the accuracy they wanted I had to slow down so my typing speed while meeting the accuracy goal was about 68 WPM if i remember correctly

but that was a long time ago and I am a lot slower now

Wow that's awesome even years back though. I actually thought my speed was a bit slower but when I tried it out last night I found out I was that fast. I was in the 90's but due to a few words for accuracy it got adjusted to 87 which still isn't bad. Yes I agree I am one of those people too where my brain runs faster, I try to get my fingers to catch up but sometimes it doesn't haha.

yes I am the same my fingers never catch up LOL

How in the world is this to be considered a failed attempt? Lordy, lordy, I'm almost scared to ask what a success is, lol. Now I'm over here trying to figure out this guy. Is he bitter, is he wishful, who is this guy?

Haha all those questions are great. I will have to figure out the answers ;) Ahh..well I call this a failed attempt because "technically" I was typing and during typing I would also backspace to correct my words as it is just my natural flow, so I shouldn't be doing that haha. But, it was a great exercise and I loved it.

Ahh, makes sense in that context. I was like, what? I guess I'm a failure too :-) I correct as I go. I can't help it, it's an OCD thing. But I'm a hunter and pecker when it comes to typing. Then again I do almost everything slow. I figure that's fine. I get to smell all those roses that so many others are passing up.

You crack me up!! If correcting is that natural to you, not to do it would interrupt your flow! The main point is to not let the inner critic wake up and interfere with the flow..... Thanks for participating!!

Haha well I am glad I crack you up lol. Yes it is such a weird flow but something I just do. I will definitely do it again though because it certainly got my mind thinking up something I wouldn't have come up with so easily otherwise.

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Good job! Thanks to @enginewitty you have planted 0.06 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14267.76. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

And another one - just like the other one :) Imagine loud and off key singing - nothing like the cute kpop people :) https://busy.org/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-white-cat

This post has received a 0.61 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @saffisara. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34