Heartbroken: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

saying-goodbye.png

black.png

I stood in the entryway, my heart broken, watching him leave. He didn’t even bother to turn and look back, not even once. His shoulders were bowed, his head down as he lifted the last of his boxes into the backseat of his car. I watched our dog bouncing around on the seat, excited to get to go on this unexpected ride. He didn’t seem to pick up on the fact that his humans were feeling quite broken. All he could think of was the ride at the moment.

The tears kept me from seeing when I heard the car door shut that final time. The engine turned over and my heart fell. As the tires crunched against the curb, pulling away, taking us apart, it suddenly seemed so final.

A gasp escaped my throat and my hand reached out as though I could stop this from happening, even though I knew in reality it was far too late. It had been too late for a very long time. Tears spilled down my face, dripping from my chin. I thought I could hear them hitting the tile inside our front door as I stood there, staring as he drove away from our home. From our marriage.

I don’t know how long I stood there, not exactly. I just know that the porch light came on and I realized that it was dark. I blinked and looked out at the street. All of the normal comings and goings in the neighborhood. No one else stopping or even noticing that my life was wrecked, my soul was broken and my life would never be the same.

I felt my hand grasp for the doorknob and pull the door shut. I heard the wisp of sound as the door shut on my past. I turned towards the living room, now bare of his things, his touch. My mind reached for something, some shred of hope, some glimpse of the future, but there was nothing there yet.

Just darkness and despair.

For now.

black.png

And some of my other more recent posts:

Weekend Freewrite: To Change Our Fate

change-our-fate.png

Sunday Funnies: When Cats Get Bored, Letters from a Boat Cat

tempest-16.png

Mommy Monday: Puppet Making, Part 4 (Making Poseable Hands)

BMB-4.png

Try Something NEW Tuesday: I did a Rap Karaoke Video!

TSNT-eminem-rap.png

Fiction: Short Writing Challenge "A Dog's Story"

Dogs-Story.png

Photo by Patrick hendry from Unsplash

Sharing Our Steemit Work Space: My Steemit Office

BehindtheCurtain-cover.png

black.png

Photos & graphics are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Oh, how come I've just seen this now? Strange. What an amazingly sad, heartbreaking write-up, @byn. Felt like I could touch the pain.
Congratulations <3

Thank you. It was an emotional thing to write, for sure!

Your writing is getting so damn tight! That was really nice @Byn. You kept it simple and let the reader fill in some of the blanks themselves. I liked that level of detail. Very good writing.

You rock! Seriously, though, I feel like there are The Expectations now!!! :) Thank you for the amazing compliment!

This is beautifully written and so very sad. You really managed to get the pain and emotion across. Very good and descriptive writing.

Thank you! I think I need to write some fiction every day. It feels a little like therapy! :)

What a lonely feeling in this story, I love that you gave a glimpse of hope towards the end. "for now" everything happens for now. who knows what will happen in the next moment.

There is always hope... maybe not the hope that we want, but I feel like I always have a little glimpse of it. Thanks for the comment!

This was so emotive and the touch added of the dog that was oblivious to the human drama so on point. You did a masterful job capturing this life changing scene.

Thank you! Writing is my therapy, for sure. I was feeling pretty down this week.

I understand that, and hope you have a relaxing weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54