My Freewriting Truth - The Over 20 Club

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Thank you @fireawaymarmot for this terrific Freewrite Over 20 Club badge!
Thanks as well to @omra-sky for personalizing it for me!

      One of the greatest things in this life is when you stumble ass-backwards into something phenomenal.

      Four months ago, I came across @mariannewest's #freewrite initiative late at night when I should have been sleeping. Who is Marianne West? I could spend the next few hours telling you (and still miss something) or you could visit @ana-maria's beautiful story of this incredible woman here.

       A 5-minute freewrite is easy enough, set a timer, write about whatever the prompt word brought to my mind, and stop when the 5 minutes are up. Post what you've written as is, edit it, or say the hell with the time and carry on writing (which I've done a time or twelve). Marianne isn't fussy over any set "rules". She only asks two things: use the prompt and have fun!! This freedom to do as we wish has drawn so many to the freewriting group and made it what it is today!

      My first thought when I was invited by Marianne into the Freewrite Over 20 Club was, "Do I have to pick my own stories?" I was honored, of course, by her wanting me to highlight some of my favorites! She's such a sweetheart and she truly wants each and every freewriter to find success and happiness here on Steemit. But, I was at a loss as to what to write. What could I say about myself? I took a look back and noticed (these things take me a while), that I've been writing about myself all along.

An Uncomfortable Truth

      Some stories aren't our own. There is good and bad in everyone's life and I'm no exception. Sometimes, these prompts bring up memories that I’d rather not think about. Highly personal things that would shame some people in my life to have on a public platform. I NEVER want to hurt these people but, I want to write what I feel. My compromise is to call them fiction.

A Special Occasion

      My moniker on Steemit comes from two places. The first was Mrs. Brisby from Don Bluth's The Secret of NIMH. Seeing Mrs. Brisby fight against everything she was terrified of to save her children was one of my comforts as a child. Her willingness to do anything for those that she loved made me want to be like her. The second meaning to brisby is broken bone. It is a nickname given to someone who has been in a lot of fights.

Bubbling
      These stories were memories, often written as though they happened to someone else. Which makes sense, since I’m a different person now than I was then. The memories are painful but, they are a part of me and they formed me into who I am today. This next one, from the prompt Purple Squirrel, made me think of hallucinating. Which is easy to do driving late at night when you're exhausted.

Purple Squirrel

A Growing Truth

      As the days go on, I become more comfortable with my writing. More willing to open up and share more of myself. More open to expressing feelings that I have in my quiet moments and write about the little things that are special to me. I love water. Swimming, bathing and especially splashing in the rain. Maybe it's because I'm a cancer?

Rain

      On the weekends, the freewrites get a bit crazy. Marianne posts 3 prompts and the idea is to write the first one for 5 minutes, then continue on with the second and third. They're a bit more challenging but three times as much fun! This story was a continuation from an idea that formed in a previous prompt, The Taste of Chicken. (Hey Marianne, do you realize how often birds and poultry products show up in your prompts? LOL!) These two stories contained some of my favorite elements to write about, loneliness, growth, magic, and horror. I like the characters that were created and plan to continue their tale. The second one, Forbidden, is my first piece of fiction to receive a Curie vote. To this day, I am still humbled that they thought it was deserving.

Potluck

Forbidden

The Truth Is

       My favorite part about these freewrites are the comments. Where people chime in with their thoughts to the stories. Jokes are told and experiences are shared and it's more fun that I ever thought comments could be! I've tried other platforms and, aside from reconnecting with my Mr. First Kiss, I was less than impressed. I made it two weeks on one before growing tired of people wanting to be "friends". (My ass they wanted to be friends!) Most who contacted me just wanted to up their numbers. (No thank you!) Numbers don't mean a damn thing without a connection, without interaction. My friend, @omra-sky, was the reason that I gave Steemit a chance. (Sure, I liked it after I lurked around for a couple of weeks to scope the scene but, without him, I wouldn't have bothered. Thank you Omra!!) Through this next story, I met two of my favorite people here, @f3nix and @snook. The two of them went to town in the comments section and made me laugh!

Dirty Dishes

      Two months ago, @omra-sky, wrote a hilarious tribute to his friends The Old Steemians Home, which set off this insane and wonderful series of his freewriting friends living together in an old folk's home. (BTW, check out the video Omra & Snook made!) His story made me laugh and want to join in the shenanigans! Since it was Christmas, I wanted us to celebrate together! My friends came out to play in the comments and I still go back and read through any time I need a laugh!

An Old Steemians Home Christmas Eve

      Sometimes my friends visit my post and the in jokes can carry on into additional pages! My blog page is my home here and they have no problem coming right on in, raiding the fridge, rifling through the music, and having a party. I wouldn't have it any other way!

Vacuum the Dog

      Through each and every one of these stories, Marianne was there. She pushes herself to be there for all of us. Encouraging, laughing, and becoming our friend. Thank you Marianne, for this chance to look back and for being you!

Thank you @omra-sky for my lovely Squirrple Necklace separator!


This awesome badge was made by @fireawaymarmot!

Title GIF by my friend 👉 @omra-sky

GIF gift by my friend @snook 💚


Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Awwa this is a wonderful post! I loved hearing about your journey through the Steemit. I am so glad I am here and able to read your stories! I am also glad you stuck it out and began writing in the freewrite, and that I was able to meet you here. You are a valuable part of the Freewrite Community! <3

Thanks again for the Nutty bitmoji!! You were the second among our group to welcome me to the freewriters Simgirl! Thank you so much!! (It's totally you I was thinking of rifling through the music, btw 😁)

Thank you for sharing this and letting me get to know you more over these past few months. I always enjoy how deep and thought provoking your writing is. I think that's why you get such great comments. I've had so much fun going back through these posts. I'm glad you decided to join Steemit and thank you for introducing me to the freewrite community!

I'm happy that you would want to read them ...and thank you. 😊 It's wonderful that you have found so many supportive friends here! 😄

You gave me a lot of nice freewrites to read or re-read in my lunch break! Thank you for being one of the wittiest and more supportive freewriters of the group! People like you and like those you named in your post, Marianne, Snook, Omra, F3nix (my personal "Omra", intended as real life friend who brought me to Steemit and to the freewrite) are a true enrichment to my life, through what they write. :D Tip!

Grazie Marco for your thoughts (as well as the tip)! (Your words are turning me redder than the variety of Snook Fruits in your Dust Bowl finale!) F3nix has a fantastic friend in you and I'm so glad that you joined the freewriters and welcomed us as your friends as well! You are kind and attentive and hilariously twisted in all the best ways! The detail and care that you've put into your stories, and into your comments, have become another reason for me to read back through older posts when I need a pick me up! Plus, it can't be easy to have to translate what you want to say into English for us and that you take the time and effort means so much in and of itself! (I need to get off my butt and into learning more than three things in Italian....)

Also..I forgot a thing:

Maybe it's because I'm a cancer?

This explains a lot... my "Princess Sassy" is a cancer too, and she's an untamable, quick-witted aquatic creature too. ;)

The more I hear about "Princess Sassy", the more I like her! 🦀 (Sweet compliments BTW 🤗 Grazie Marco!)

When we become rich and we can travel around the world, we'll go to visit every freewriter's hometown! :D

Congrats on Over 20 Club #Freewrites. Such a beautiful stroll down memory lane. You pulled out a few I hadn't read. And thank you again for joining me on my rewrites journey. Those stories we're awesome. 😉

Thank you Bruni!! 😸 They were!! We had fun and I would love to team up with you again!

You are so sweet giving all the shout-outs to everyone!! I am so glad that you decided to stay on this platform and that you are one of the inhabitants of this home we all have made for ourselves in Omra's house :)
Thank you for sharing the origins of your name. I find it so interesting that many of us do not even know each other's real name - but we do know each other through our writing.
And I love the way you think!! and are! ❤️ 💜

Thank you Marianne for this group! And the name thing is interesting! When we meet we're going to keep calling each other our screen names. (I wonder if we will say the "@" signs? LOL). What a great compliment, thank you! 😍

Steemit would never be the same without you my wonderful funny crazy friend!!

Ha! Yeah, it would smell better! ❤ Happy to have meet you sweet silly Snook! Here's to more zany shenanigans!

Holy cow that was 4 months ago.........your dishes post.....seems like yesterday but then again way more than 4 months ago <3

I know!! Brussel sprouts. Love you! Hugs!!

you're so sweet! Thank you for the tip, Snook! hugs!

Hi @brisby! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @snook!

@snook wrote lately about: Week #14 Fox Tales~ Contest. Feel free to follow @snook if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

I enjoyed the insight in your steemit nickname Bris..You made me live again those beautiful windows in your soul called freewrites. You are a kaleidoscope of feelings and I always admired your unique way of seeing the world, of reaching the heart of people and caring for them and of course your taste for twisted and crazy stuff! Thanks for making this community rich with your presence and authenticity my dear vampiric friend ☺️ tip! tap! squeek!

F3nix... for your sentiments...Grazie! You have been there for everyone from the beginning, same as Marianne, and without you, this group would not be what it is. There are many on here with beautiful hearts such as yours, but not coupled with the integrity and the willingness to comment on the uncomfortable subjects. You never shy away from asking if you don't understand something. You've called many brave but do you know how impressive what you do is? Too many are worried about how what they say will be taken or what it will make them look like. Not to say that they aren't valid concerns, or to say that you don't have them, but you carry on! You make letting them know that someone is there and listening your priority.

Every reply from you brings a smile to my face! (Yes, even when you tell me that I misinterpreted something I'm still happy that you respect me enough to tell me so instead of fobbing me off.) You treat me as a true friend and that is a gift that I hold dear! Also, I LOVE your sense of humor! Letting me share in some of your craziness is always a delight!! I raise my newly gifted gimlet tipped straw to you as well Vampire F3nix and to all of the times that we have ahead of us!
(Thank you for the tip, I'll be using it to bribe someone in the house for some tasty Snook Jam!)

Congrats on the milestone and look forward to seeing you in the Over 120 Club.

Thank you Deirdyweirdy! Wait...I'll have to write another one?! 🙃

This was a wonderful post! I love that your favourite part is the comments. I see the comments that a lot of freewriters write between one another, and really, I thought that most of you have been friends for a VERY VERY long time! It shows that you have a connection and relate to one another. I hope to keep seeing you guys writing and commenting on one another. @snook 's replies can be a real treat!

Thank you Poetrybyjeremy! I've seen you let loose in some of your comments and you're fitting in quite well with our lawless bunch! That connection is a real gem and the true treasure of our group! I agree, Snook's comments are some the greatest out there!

Yeah. I do want to spend more time reading freewrites and interacting. This week was a bit busier, and I started hosting a poetry contest, so reading, commenting on and judging 30+ entries is not an easy task!

Your first sentence was priceless. I love your incredible sense of humor which always keeps me ROFLMAO! You know that. And because I was able to read these gems that I missed, I got to know the serious birsby which is equally phenomenal. Congratulations on your well deserved Curie vote! You will be well known in this community for "The Purple Squirrel" which is such a fitting and fun tribute to you. LOL! I am so happy we became friends and I am looking forward to continuing this incredible journey with you. Keep the laughs coming...you nutty squirrel! Hugs! : )

Making you roll on the floor makes my day! How have you been? Hopefully recovering well from the dentist! Hugs
thank you so much for reading my previous stories and for the compliments you gave my "serious side"! Who knew I had one? LOL!
being able to chat with you in the comments has been so much fun And each time we do it gets better and better! This squirrel is absolutely nuts about you and wants you to know that you are always welcome to let loose in the comments and have fun! Thank you for being my friend Whatisnew! As to the laughs..salutes Yes Ma'am!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36