5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Purple Squirrel

in #freewrite7 years ago


Driving down a country road on a snowy night wasn't the best idea. The winding roads were designed to lure unsuspecting cars into hungry ditches and lonely fields. It didn't help that it was snowing. Pretty snowflakes dancing in the air had fed several cars to said ditches. Nature wasn't going to fool me with its Thomas Kincaid painting.

I pulled up to the old house and parked next to the driveway. Engine running, I waited for him to come out. The lights were on but there weren't any shadows moving in the house. I wonderedd if he had fallen asleep. It wouldn't have been the first time. None of the trip was a first time. It would have been nice if he had planned things out a little better.

The overgrown yard looked nicer smothered in snow. Weeks ago it was a gnarly mess of overgrown grass, weeds and sumac trees. The garbage bins had been piled near the sagging garage door. Random objects littered the front porch and concrete pad that led to the workshop door. Everything had sung a song of neglect. It still did, the snow only turned the volume down.

In front of the workshop window, by the misshapen hedge, was a purple squirrel holding something. That got my attention. It moved left, climbed over a propne tank and scurried across the porch. I had to laugh. Tired eyes and country nights did funny things to colors. I shifted forward to see

(time ran out)


For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Purple Squirrel by @mariannewest

photo via pixabay


Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Great story and I really appreciate that you are visiting the other freewriters!! Today's post https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-20-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-red

It's true, visiting each other is very important..we could grow as a community :-)

I'm happy to read their wonderful posts! Thank you, Marianne!

I want to know what's next! Not fair! Why don't you continue it in the next prompt?

I shifted forward to see the squirrel leave the porch when my passenger door was flung open! Startled, I threw myself back against my seat as he stamped his feet on the ground and dropped down inside my car. He coughed and asked if I had any problems driving out. Each word wafted sour beer in my direction. As I replied, he pulled a crumpled pack of cigarettes from his dirty flannel jacket and lit it. The red tip glowed merrily inside my car, uncaring that I didn't want it there.
We drove silently down the road. Him smoking and I lost in my thoughts while trying to keep the car on the road. I was tired and fighting off a yawn. I knew that if I let one slip through, it would be a long time before he accepted help again. His efforts not to be a burden were such a bother.
The convenience store was closest but also expensive. I drove past slowly, wishing that I had money to burn. The cold coming in from the window was helping to drive out the yawn, but it was hell on my fingers. I would have given a lot for a cup of cheap hot chocolate.
We finally pulled into the amber lit parking lot of the 24-hour grocery store. I considered waiting for him in the car, but that didn't work well the last time. Besides, this was one of the few occasions that he allowed anyone near him. We trudged towards the entrance, shaking snow off of our coats and stamping our feet outside before entering.
I nearly missed his soft "thanks" as we grabbed a cart. I stood for a moment, letting it sink in. It wasn't hot chocolate, but it worked.

I don't recall fair being in the rules... 😈 For you though.....😉

hahaha - that's right. Being fair is not part of the game :)

Hahah you got a point! Go and tell this to Martin (fire and Ice chronicles), who wrote something like 11 books and then just doesn't feel to write the final chapter...and everytime a fan asks about it he just plans to kill another character ..thank you for finishing it, I'm honored! :-)

I'd better not pen a letter to Mr. Martin. I can't guarantee what I would write. It would probably begin with:
Dear Mr. Martin,
Kindly go suck an egg.
I don't think that would encourage him finish his novel.
You were the one who honored me by requesting more of the story! Thank you for that. I truly enjoy reading your pieces and I'm happy to be able to return the favor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62153.21
ETH 2411.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64