Fragrant Coconut Rice // Nasi Kuning

in #food6 years ago

Here is Day 2 of my #7daypositivitychallenge although I am not able to use the tag here on Steemit, apparently everyone doing this challenge is using busy application instead Steemit, but since I was tagged, then already typed, it was rather annoying not to post (idk why people would tag me in "positivity challenge" 🤣) so I posted my Day 1 anyway, but with a new tag that Steemit allows #sevendaypositivity regardless no one will find my posting among the posts of #7daypositivitychallenge 🤣

For my Day 2, am tagging @plantstoplank, @mermaid, and @vegan.niinja, all #vegan ladies, just like my Day 1, I tagged vegan peeps as well. The vegans are still rare breed on Steemit, I would love to introduce them more 😉

I made nasi kuning the other day, it is fragrant yellow coconut rice with turmeric as the colorant.

1529342534616.jpg

Usually I would do it in my rice cooker, but it died on me just as I needed it 😅

1529341851736.jpg

Thank goodness for Instant Pot though! Never thought I would need it much 😁 My Santa got me an IP last year (or 2 years ago? Can't remembet).

This so called super handy pot seems to be a must appliance to have by so many vegans. I asked for it so that I could make yogurt, boil beans, etc quicker. Although it does have "rice" option, I never tried it. But when I needed to make nasi kuning and rice cooker died on me, I grabbed regular pot and steamer and my husband ran across dining room to the kitchen and grabbed the IP from the shelves and said "Hell, no, you gotta be kidding me. Got you an expensive pot not to collect the dust"😂

1529341791136.jpg

Glad he did, glad it worked and man, making rice only in 10 minutes was a breeeeezzzeee! 👍👍👍👍 Thanks IP inventor!

Do you have one? If not, treat yourself to one. Seriously, less time spent in the kitchen is superb especially in summer time 😉

And here is the recipe of my fragrant yellow coconut rice, which you definitely need to try, because it is sooo good. Can be served as is or with anything you like!

ingredients

  • 2 c of rice, rinse clean
  • 1 can thick coconut milk
  • 1 lemongrass, bruised
  • 1 thumb ginger, bruised
  • 3 dried kafir lime leaves
  • Hungarian Vegeta powder or Himalayan salt or regular table salt, to taste
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp turmeric powder

how to

  • Place everything into IP. Click rice button and that is all 😉

1529342553059.jpg

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

Mention three people who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)



VOTE me as your witness at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. On the provided box, type thekitchenfairy and click VOTE

1526477305672.jpg

Find me on Discord, being friendly on #teamcanada, #teamaustralia, #thealliance, #vegansofsteemit, and helping new comers on #indonesia



Hai!

Kemarin aku unggah sebuah challenge akan 7 hari - 7 hal yang positif, dimana aku kena tunjuk oleh salah satu teman Steemitku, dan berikut ini adalah Hari Ke 2, cerita positif yang aku alami pas Lebaran kemarin

Salah satu menu yang kusajikan adalah nasi kuning. Biasanya aku masak di rice cooker biar ga ribet ngukus-ngukus, tapi pas saat aku colokin kabelnya, eh ga mau nyala. Haiyaaaah 😕

Jadinya aku ambil panci dan kukusan. Nah suamiku pas lagi duduk di ruang makan, dia tanya kenapa, aku bilang rice cooker tewas 😅 Jadi mau pakai panci biasa.

Eeeeh loncat dia sambil bilang "laaah, kan ada panci ekspress, kenapa ga pake aja. Dah mahal2 beli, kok ga dipake, cuman buat pajangan dan koleksi debu" 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Nama panci ini adalah Instant Pot, produksi orang Kanada yang sudah mulai mendunia. Bisa buat goreng, masak, tumis, ngukus, bikin yogurt, bikin nasi, bubur, presto, dll. Wadao jadi promosi nih 🤣 Adakah di Indonesia? Kalau ada, mari ibu-ibu, borong satu 😂 Masak nasi hanya 10 menit loh. Ekspres bener2 👍👍👍👍

1529341791136.jpg

Dan ini caraku bikin nasi kuning di panci ekspres ini.

bahan-bahan

  • 2 gelas beras, cuci bersih, tirisan
  • 1 kaleng santan kental siap pakai
  • 3 helai daun jeruk kering
  • 1 jempol jahe, dikeprek
  • 1 batang sereh, dikeprek
  • garan secukupnya
  • 1/4 - 1/2 sdt kunir bubur

cara membuat

  • Campur seluruh bahan di panci ekspress, pilih tombol untuk nasi, jadi deh 😉

1529342534616.jpg

Nah 3 orang yang ku tag buat ikutan main nih challenge, @bundaqubeki, @dwiitavita, @gilangarif131294

Nih petunjuk mainnya 😊

  • Tuliskan hal yang positif, misalnya rasa suka, terimakasih, sayang dll
  • Unggah hal positif yang berbeda2 setiap harinya, selama 7 hari kedepan
  • Tunjuk 3 orang yang berbeda setiap harinya juga, untuk ikutan main
  • Jangan lupa pakai #7daypositivitychallenge (kalau pakai aplikasi busy, atau #sevendaypositivity kalau pakai website Steemit)
  • Dan ikut sertakan foto yang sesuai dengan hal positif yang kamu unggah


VOTE thekitchenfairy sebagai saksi (witness) di https://steemit.com/~witnesses. Dalam kolom yang tersedia ketik thekitchenfairy dan klik VOTE

1526477305672.jpg

Aktif membantu pendatang baru di channel #indonesia di MSP PAL Discord



Thanks For Looking!



7 Day Positivity Challenge

Happy Father's Day



More of thekitchenfairy

12 Questions
A Steemit Witness
Fairy and Food
Love It or Shove It
10 Facts 1 Lie
Behind The Curtain
WhosTheKitchenFairy



Team AustraliaThe Alliance
U5dtKdfLm9nJqKJFHfRKLjJFPPcjKxt_1680x8400.jpgU5dsLndjHTL75XZyjr7kKWCrtdQJFAS_1680x8400 (1).jpg


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits

Sort:  

@thekitchenfairy You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter & @bycoleman because this post did not use any bidbots.

I love nasi kuning!! My mom in law makes it for special days. Normally we just get white rice but I'm always looking forward to Easter and Christmas as I know there will be the yellow rice! :)

My in laws are from Indonesia but they moved to the Netherlands many years ago and my husband was born in the Netherlands already.

Thank you for sharing the recipe. Now I can make it too!

You fragrant yellow coconut rice looks so good... maybe I will tried someday but I do not have the magnific IP.. I will tried with a regular one.
Good luck

Wow keren, terimakasih telah mengundang saya @thekitchenfairy :)

AJ picked your post @thekitchenfairy for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I have cuisinart pressure cooker (since I couldn't buy the IP here). I love it though. Cook everything in it.

Instant pot!! Is that the one where you can slow cook your meals? Or is it like a pressure cooker? Glad it it turned out well for you with the rice @thekitchenfairy🖒
coconut milk, lemon grass, ginger...great flavors :) i never tried with rice- Sounds delicious!!🖒😙

Thank you @thekitchenfairy. My wife loves cooking Rice and my kids love it even more ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55