Scalloped Potatoes With Turkey, Bacon, Cheese and Sour Cream (An Incredibly Tasty Viral Recipe Improved Exclusively for Steemit)

in #food8 years ago (edited)

This recipe started as a viral picture, which my wife once sent me through the facebook’s messenger. I really had no idea how to cook it right, so I’ve searched that image and found a recipe of scalloped potatoes with sliced parmesan and butter. Since I almost had no parmesan (which is too expensive, actually), but had a nice piece of turkey fillet in the fridge, I’ve decided to improve the recipe. So here it goes: Scalloped Potatoes With Turkey, Bacon, Cheese and Sour Cream, exclusive for Steemit!

Ingredients:

  • 7 large long potatoes;
  • 200g of thick-sliced bacon;
  • 400g of turkey fillet;
  • 200-400g of grated cheese;
  • 200g of sour cream or mayonnaise
  • garlic powder;
  • fresh (unfrozen) dill
  • salt.

How to cook:

Preheat the oven up to 200 C (400 F).

Peel potatoes, or just scrub clean, if these are thick skin.

Make big slits in each potato (do not cut them through) up to 5mm between each slit.

Grab turkey fillet and bacon:

Slice up the turkey thinly:

Cut bacon to fit into potatoes:

Make the boats of foil (kids will gladly help you with this part). Season the turkey generously with salt and some garlic powder. Put the slices of bacon and turkey into the potatoes' slits (you may need to open them more by one).

Put the potatoes to the preheated oven and let it cook for 45-50 minutes.
Take out the potatoes (almost ready):

Strew them with the grated cheese:

Spread sour cream or mayonnaise on top and put into the oven for another 15-20 minutes:

In 15-20 minutes take the potatoes out. Add sour cream to taste and dill on top.
Enjoy while hot and tell me if you ever tasted anything more delicious!

BON APPETIT!


You might also like my previous food posts:

Yet Another Great Recipe of Hot Chicken Wings BBQ
How To Make The Best Pork BBQ Skewers (PORK SHASHLYK ON STICKS)
How To Make A Perfect Fluffy Omelette
From Ukraine With Love: Pork Plov (RICE PILAF WITH PORK)
A Kind of Magic Every Man Can Do: Delicious Pancakes With Honey In The Morning
Crispy Skin Chicken With Country Style Potatoes (easy and incredibly tasty dish)
Steamed Dumplings With Strawberries (Original Recipe)
Mushrooms fried with onions (Easy cooking recipe)
How To Cook A Delicious Mushroom Soup (Step-By-Step Guide With Original Pictures)
How to cook delicious tuna steaks fast and easy (Friday night at home ideas)
Chicken wings BBQ with grilled mushrooms, vegetables and chilled wine (Quick and Easy)
Summertime chicken wings BBQ in soy sauce


If you liked my post, please don’t forget to upvote, follow and comment.
Cheese and have a great day!

Sincerely yours, @richman

Sort:  

Well, I may be biased, but I really do think it is a masterpiece

Really appreciate your comment!
Love all your post, this one specially: https://steemit.com/art/@tanata/steemitart-part-1-my-winter-girls

I'm so happy to hear that! Thanks)

Ok, I agree too, why not :D

Bet it's just as good as it looks!
Great Reciepe!
Thanks for sharing!

It really tastes better than it looks, and the smell is outstanding!
Liked your artwork too, this one especially: https://steemit.com/art/@jcsteem/planet-peace

Thank you .. cant wait to try recipe soon.

Early Thanks Giving:) Very Nice Food @richman!!!

Wasn't really thinking about Thanksgiving Day, but more about myself, because I was really hungry lol :D
Thanks for the compliments!

I love Leo btw, so bookmarked the last post of yours to study later: https://steemit.com/climate/@arcaneinfo/leonardo-dicaprio-against-flat-earth-climate-change-fake-space-footage-exposed
So, climate is not changing?

Thank you for posting @richman. This recipe is on the menu for the weekend.
Very timely post.....

Thank you for your support...gave you a mention today.
All the best to you and yours. Cheers.

My pleasure. Thank you for reminding me....so bleujays post was timely as well. And yes, thanksgiving to God the Father.
Cheers.

This is amazing, fantastic, wow. Adding this to my to do List now! My family thanks you in advance! Great post and thanks so much for the idea, you have inspired me!

I think balsamic would be perfect

Oh, cool, glad to know that! Thought I said something foolish :D

Hola, Amiga!
I'm very glad you liked it. It's really delicious, totally recommended :D

i'm hungry after this photos :)

Thanks for the comment!
I was really hungry when shooting the photos, but now feel fine :D
Now, holding a cool beer mug: Hvala vam!
This post of yours about Fiesta WRC Prototype is really cool too: https://steemit.com/steemsports-motorsport/@ssekulji/ford-fiesta-wrc-2017-prototype-more-pre-monte-carlo-rallye-testing

well, thanks. tonight i'll have my beer ;) rally sport is my passion :D

Finally I'm lucky too! Thank you very much :D

Well @richman, you have out done yourself with this one. Fantastico.

Thanks a lot for your compliments, Johanna!
Hope you are having fun in Amsterdam. Anything tasty there yet?
Cheers!

Looks nice. Simple ingredients but I guess some effort is required. :-)

Exactly, just some effort and it tastes better than it looks :D
Thank you!

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66868.29
ETH 3520.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63