Mushrooms fried with onions (Easy cooking recipe)

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Recently I was quite surprised to know that not everyone in this world likes mushroom dishes. Thus, after my latest posts about mushroom hunting and cooking a mushroom soup many people told me that they dislike or even hate mushrooms… While I’m sorry, if my mushroom posts caused you any discomfort, I just couldn’t help sharing another recipe with mushroom lovers (please don’t flag me for a third mushroom post in a raw, if you hate mushrooms).

I’ve mentioned before in the comments to my mushroom hunting post that same day I also had mushrooms fried with onions. Since it’s a dead easy recipe and fried penny buns are exceptionally tasty, I dare to share it with you.


Mushrooms fried with onions recipe


Obviously for this recipe you will need mushrooms. I had mostly penny bun mushrooms (or cep or porcini), but usually a lot of other edible mushrooms can be used, like any kind of edible boletus mushroom (birch bolete, orange-cap boletus, weeping bolete, boletus badius and such), or even russule or chanterelle. Also you will need some onions (quantity depends on your preferences), good amount of butter, vegetable oil (olive or sunflower), fine flour and black pepper.

You will need to clean mushrooms and chop them. Then put chopped mushrooms into a deep preheated cooking pan with some vegetable oil (only a little, like a tablespoon or two).

Since penny buns like other mushrooms contain a lot of water, the mushrooms would be basically stewing in that pan, so you will need around 40 minutes before most of water evaporates (try to stir them once in a while, no need cover the pan.)

Meanwhile you have to grate onions and prepare another heated pan to put some good amount of butter in it when heated. When butter melts put grated onions (you might also want to add some garlic) and stir until onions become golden.

When water evaporated from mushrooms (after 30-40 minutes), add some fine flour (just a little), stir them more often and fry them up a little for some 5-10 minutes, until they get more brown. Then add prepared onions as well as black pepper to the pan with mushrooms, stir and fry them altogether for some more 3-5 minutes.

Serve while hot and enjoy your meal. Usually fried mushrooms to be served with smooth mashed potatoes. Below you can see the picture of fried mushrooms with some good home made alcohol with herbs, which also fits the dish perfectly.


Thank you for all upvotes and comments!
Cheers and happy cooking!
@richman

Sort:  

A little grated cheese on top yum got to try this :)

Thanks! Never tried it with cheese, perhaps next time ;D

Yum! Much better than soup!

Thank you!
Glad that you liked it :D

This looks very delicious!

Thank you :)

MMM mushrooms))as tasty with onions and sour cream) need to go too in the forest))

Thank you and good luck ;D

I love marinated mushrooms and for the most part when they are used to compliment an entree. Steak and Swiss cheese w/ mushrooms doesn't cut it for me. Stuffed mushrooms are delicious.

Yeah, we all love these compliments!
Thanks for stopping by and your support ;D
All the best!

Looks amazing as always, will try to cook it sometimes :)

Thank you a lot!
Your blog looks interesting, follwing ;D

Nice post. I haven't eaten mushrooms so far. Though it is expensive, it is a delicious food.

Thank you!
I haven't paid any money for these mushrooms, here is my post about foraging, if you are interested:
https://steemit.com/mushrooms/@richman/hunting-for-wild-mushrooms-for-the-benefit-and-enjoyment

@richman you are too kind...giving us these detailed instructions with photos. Looks delicious. Heres hoping you will be able to obtain the pickled mushroom recipe from your local restaurant. And no we have not tired of mushroom recipes....you are just getting started. Steem on.

Thank you very much! Glad that you like my post ;D
Here is the recipe, which looks legit (though I never marinated mushrooms myself, so really don't know):
http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/26594/pickled-wild-mushrooms.aspx

Thank you @richman. All the best. Cheers.

Cheers! All the best!

The recipe for mushrooms and onions is a winner @richman. Tried it today according to your instructions with lovely results. Cheers.

Thank you!
I'm glad it worked ;D
Cheers!

Looks delicious. I must try!

Thank you!
It's delicious, believe me ;D

MMMMMN mushyrooms... I wish we could have that many at once, omnomnom. Those look divine! It's funny in my younger days I was one of those fungi haters, I just couldn't handle even being around them at all. Now I'm addicted to them.

I'm so glad that you are not a fungi hater anymore ;D
I love this kind of cooked mushrooms since my childhood, and will never be able to understand how come someone dislikes this tasty dish! :D
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27