TROPICAL TUESDAY: Tamarind-Pear Smoothie with Cinnamon (Raw+Vegan)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Sour tamarind coupled with the fresh sweetness of pears and the heart-warming flavors of cinnamon - my Tropical Tuesday series comes to an end with the last smoothie post for July, using tropical fruits from my current location Malaysia. It was super exciting for me to create a smoothie recipe each week with fruits that I rarely tried before. 

Locals call it "kedondong" - The Malaysian pear

I have to be honest with you, it is not really a pear that goes into my smoothie, but a pretty unknown Malaysian fruit called kedondong by the locals. Our super friendly fruit vendor brought them along with our weekly fruit and veggie delivery, so that we could try something totally new. 

He apparently got them from his neighbor’s garden and I have actually never seen them on the markets here in Kuala Lumpur. He told me that the locals eat them when they are green, but I let them turn a little yellow, which made the kedondongs a bit sweeter. Since your chances are high that you won’t find this fruit anywhere near your home and the taste resembles a pear, you can easily substitute the kedondongs. 

Well, let’s now get to the hero of this smoothie mixture - tamarind. The main ingredient of this recipe is actually a legume, which is easily detectable by its bean-like pods. In many Asian countries it is used more like a spice, especially for sweet-sour dishes and some crazy travelers get the idea to put it into their smoothie creation.

Many stories with only one hero - Tamarind

The name tamarind comes from the Arabic language and translates to Indian date. This makes total sense if you look at the texture of tamarind flesh, which is sticky and creamy, pretty much like our beloved dates. 

Tamarind has its origin in Africa, but soon made its way into the Indian kitchen. They declared the tree as sacred and told many legends about tamarind, for example that elephants get wiser if they eat the bark. The Burmese people also think highly of the tamarind tree and believe that its crown inhabits the rain god.  

Here comes the recipe for your own tamarind story: 

  • 2-3 bananas 
  • 4 tamarind  pods
  • 3 kenonongs or alternatively 1/2 pear 
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Let food be your medicine - Tamarind's health powers

Tamarind can not only be used in the area of creative cooking, but is also part of traditional medicine. The flesh itself makes a great remedy to treat diarrhea as well as constipation. Due to its antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties, it is also a food that can help you prevent many health conditions such as heart disease, cancer or diabetes. Tamarind is even know to support you in detoxifying your pineal gland. 

The bark and leaves of the tamarind tree are also valuable, especially for the support in wound healing. Furthermore, the extract of the hard seeds inside the tamarind can aid in lowering blood sugar levels.  

I find this legume super exciting, since it is so versatile and has such an interesting story behind it. Looking past only the preparation and deeper into the origin, uses and believes behind a certain food, makes you get to know your ingredients and opens your eyes for the beauty laying beneath their look.  

(This post is taking part in the amazing Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition from @lenasveganliving.)

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruitful journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

---

Disclaimer: I am not a registered dietitian, doctor or trained detox expert. My goal is to share my knowledge from conclusive research and personal experiences to inspire you on your own raw adventure. I do not give medical advice and am not liable for any negative consequences you might face by following any information from this post - even if it is too much energy from a newly gained vibrant health and no idea how to deal with it. Always do your individual research when it comes to your precious health, it is absolutely worth the extra effort!

Sort:  

I love the taste of tamarind but I have only had it in cooking. And I have never seen those pear like fruits before. I have to try this. It sounds heavenly!

I also love tamarind juice, but its sweet-sour taste is a nice flavor for many kinds of dishes, in my opinion! So a great plant to get creative with ☺️

I love tamarind juice as well! We have it here in ET and already had one of those pears in Thailand!

Tamarind juice is so refreshing for the hot weather in the tropics, right? Well, did you try the kedondong in its green state or also more yellow? I'd like to hear your thought on this since I enjoyed them much more when they turned yellow. ☺️

I love tamarind juice, but no wonder as I love all the foods with different flavours! I tried the kedondong more yellow. I always prefer ripe fruit. All of them!

Fascination story and delicious recipe Sweetie, Those pears looks like mango on the outside and a pear on the inside. I also never tried tamarind in a smoothie or otherwise, except in Pad Thai sauce, so thank you for educating me more about it. I will get some in the supermarket. 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you, Lena! There are such nice stories behind tamarind and the flavors definitely invite you to get creative. 😁 You are right, looks a bit like a tiny mango, but way different in its texture and taste 😉 Let me know what your tamarind dish will look like!

Always a pleasure my Dear and I will l let you know for sure 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Awesome, thank you ✨

Ooh, I remember there were plenty tamarind trees at my backyard when I was a kid. And Kedondong too... I could taste it just by looking at the pictures... sweet and sour... so fresh!

Nice, do you still like it or did the abundance in your childhood kind of made tamarind less special?

Seems like I got the name wrong, no wonder I couldn’t find out anything about kenonong 🙈 That’s the name my fruit vendor gave me. I will correct that in my post, thanks! 😁

I still love the taste of tamarind 😊
Btw, I thought Kenonong was the Malay word for Kedondong... since Malay and Indonesia shared many similar words :)))

Well, good to know - but seems like Kedondong is the more common name since the Malay expression pretty much leads to a dead end if you search online 😁

It looks so yummy! suddenly I got hungry! I just can't look at these photos :)!

The golden rule - never browse through food pictures if you are hungry 😄 And still, we always do exactly that, I hope you have some smoothie ingredients available 😉

Ahah, I will follow your advice, sweetie! I'm more an eating than a cooking or else realting to mix ingredients. I eat most of the food raw, but like in a salad topped with kefir and nuts. And the aspect is not worthy of a photo. oh, but the taste... :)))!

I totally get that, most of the time my meals consist of just plain fruit, oftentimes I don't even need a plate for that 😁 But now and then my taste buds and my foodie eyes long for something special!

You do good! I'm glad I'm not the only one! Thanks, sweetie!

You are amazing with creating this smoothie recipe! I won't be able to find fresh tamarind here, but probably tamarind paste..

Thank you!! Tamarind paste will definitely do the job 😉

hey @rawadventuress. that is another delicious and refreshing exotic drink. sweet and sour. your drinks are always impressive, I was thinking this could be an idea for a raw natural juice store. i miss eating tamarind, it sweet and sour, we have it in front of our house until now, it has been stood there for ages, older than me, I am 33 soon. Lol

Thank you so much for your recipes. X
Blessings

Thank you so much, Sheryl! Yeah, I love playing with contrasts in my smoothies and always have been a fan of sour tastes ☺️ Sounds like a cool idea - is the tree still there? Maybe you should take advantage of the abundance and make a big batch of tamarind paste so that you can use it over and over again 😉

Ohh yummyyy!!! I would love to try it!! But I think I need to wait until I get back to Mexico coz there is no tanarind in Hungary...

Thank you, Miri! Mexico is quite rich when it comes to fruits and veggies, right? Seems to have everything in abundance, I have to visit some time ☺️

Congratulations @rawadventuress! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43