Dining Out - The Roses Cafe, Yass

in #food6 years ago

The Roses Cafe

This was one of those nice finds you have when you wander through a town instead of just taking the bypass as you rush through to the destination. My day might have had over 600 km of driving in it, but being only an hour down the road from my early morning start, what I really was feeling like was some food and some coffee.

Turns out that this is just one of the sites of a Goulburn based family cafe, run by some people that left Sydney and it's hospitality industry to run these cafes with everything being made on site. The look of the cafe was very nice, and there was a good display of things that they make. If I'd been there at a different time of day, I'm sure that there'd have been a much tougher decision to make!

Being breakfast time though, I was very focused on the egg and bacon roll. When it came out I was very happy with it's size, and amused at the side salad. It came on a proper hamburger bun, making for a large roll with a decent bread to filling ratio.

2018-03-11 09.03.34.jpg
The only thing I add to my ones at home is cheese

Perfectly cooked egg so that it just oozes yolk without exploding. Nicely cooked bacon without being crispy, which is the last thing I want in a bacon and egg roll. They also didn't overdo the condiments, with just a taste of barbecue sauce without it dripping from it.

It's quite likely that if I find myself in Yass again (or Goulburn or Mittagong), I might look out for The Roses Cafe for a food stop.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Tako Japanese
Khing Thai
Cedars Pizza and Bakery
Burek Balkan Oven
Warong
Thailander
Bavarian Bier Cafe
Marrickville Pork Roll
Coffee Club
Pizza @ Christies


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

"amused at the side salad" I got a side salad with a breakfast sandwich recently also. Being that I seldom leave anything on my plate...I ate it and rather enjoyed it. But still salad with breakfast is too healthy for me. Sandwich looks yummy though!

Yeah. Too healthy for breakfast. Or at least to healthy to go with this sort of breakfast. Some healthy breakfasts are great, but generally not my sort of start to the day

well I was in San Francisco so I guess maybe I should have expected it lol

haha, yeah, probably should have. Meanwhile I was in country NSW...

Tell me, is that photo an after thought? Because I do it all the time as well. Food is usually half eaten before I remember I should take a picture in case I want to post about it

Yeah, It wasn't so much an after thought as a 'oh crap I forgot the photo' Try and make it look as good as I could and then take it quickly and scarf down the rest of the food. Combination of crazy hungry and needing to get back on the road for my day to stay on time

I don't mind explodey yolks, the ones that just goosh are much easier to deal with in a burger though. What was amusing about the side salad?

Mostly the here's some stock side salad, even though you're ordering a breakfast roll. Oh and we'll shove it on the side of the plate too because even we know it doesn't really belong

Gotta love when food gives you that eye roll of joy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86