Dining Out - Naked Brew

in #food6 years ago

Naked Brew

2018-05-27 12.45.49.jpg
The interior of the coffee shop, with all the tables to the left and right of the door hidden from view

While I'm doing the games from the last of the monthly events I attended before the venue changed, I might as well cover the food I had before gaming.

I'd spotted this little corner coffee shop at a previous games day, when I'd already grabbed food from the nearby Bitton Gourmet (which I wrote about quite a while ago it seems. Might be time to go back again...) and decided that I'd have to try them at some point in the future.

Having gotten up late and skipped my breakfast before a long day of gaming (a group of around 30 or more of us would gather for up to 8 hours of board gaming), I decided that a breakfast style burger would be the best bet.

2018-05-27 12.50.04.jpg
Yup, really looks like breakfast to me!

I ordered their 'Crispy Bacon and Egg Roll', claiming that it contained creamy scrambled egg and tomato relish (though not claiming anything about the bacon in the description line...).

Having arrived at the cafe after 12:30, and naturally finding it packed with other people enjoying their meals, I had decided on take away (hence the packaging in the photo above) and headed to the nearby park that was between me and my destination.

2018-05-27 12.54.39.jpg
There's a crowd of people in the distant right section of the park where I was going to sit, using the table and having a party of some sort, but now I'm not facing the sun either, which was good

For me, in a roll or burger, I don't really like my bacon too crispy, and this was just a little bit too crispy, breaking apart rather than having teeth go through it, so instead of the mess you get when it's too chewy, you get exploded bacon everywhere kind of mess. It was still tasty bacon, because bacon, but could have been better by being less fragile. The 'creamy scrambled egg' was a different way of doing the egg part of a bacon and egg roll for me, and it works pretty well, but it really wasn't the textures I was after. I'm also not much of a fan of scrambled egg, and while this was quite a good scramble, it was still scrambled egg.

The tomato relish though was enough to make this quite a good meal, coming through and saving the day. It combined with the egg really well, and had a really nice flavour to it. It also saved some of the exploding bacon from escaping as it stuck to the roll with relish.

2018-05-27 12.53.58.jpg
I was also messing around with panorama shots, and think I did an ok job of getting my view of the park in this one

I'd definitely go back and try some of the other things on the menu, but probably wouldn't have their egg and bacon roll again, even at $8, which seems a pretty reasonable price for what it was.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Sushi Dragon
Menya Mappen
Oiden Bowl Bar
Gumshara
The Roses Cafe
Tako Japanese
Khing Thai
Cedars Pizza and Bakery
Burek Balkan Oven
Warong


TA Footer Slim.png

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

#how-about-tasteem

Hi, great review and how have you been? Have you considered using Tasteem to share your food reviews? Check here for more details to see how you can participate. Cheers

btw you still living down south?

I have, but haven't actually looked into the details and what I need to do to be a part.

I've been variable, but am doing ok currently. Probably easy to tell from the return of regular posting :)

Yup, still haven't moved. Need a job so I can really afford a better place in the area my partner wants to stay in. and finding a job as a 40+yo with sparodic employment of variable nature isn't easy. Tougher still when you'd like it to be part time, and light physically and mentally so I can spend my energies on family

no worries. use it when you are ready cos there are a few rules to follow.

I was around the area recently and then I saw your posts again I had to message you. xmas is coming up so probably you can get something part time and the $$ will be good too!!

Think I've applied for around 40 Christmas Casual positions, or what seem like that's what they'll be. With the ease of online applications, I don't see how it's tough to do the 20 a fortnight or whatever the minimum required is. I also don't see it as a useful thing though, as so many seem to be wasting businesses time with applying without effort just to get the numbers done.

I've never actually tried scrambled egg in a sandwich situation. Which is amusing as I made egg sandwiches semi regularly til youngest decided he suddenly didn't like them. This may save the day XD

Crunchy bacon in the burger :O well of course you ate it because bacon, you could have had mine too, I already like it softer than most people but it absolutely cannot be crunchy when it's in something XD

Posted using Partiko Android

One thing better than bacon is certainly more bacon :)

Hi, @ratticus, you made me feel nostalgic for the bacon. Now it can not be bought due to the hyperinflation that we suffer in my country. Good post, excellent pics. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50