THE CUCUMBER EXPERIMENTS - Experiment #5 - ANTS ON A CUCUMBER

in #food8 years ago

For those of you unfamiliar with this series, my garden basically attacked me this summer. At times, we were overwhelmed with produce. Of course, to rep the full benefit of a garden, you have to be able to use what it provides. Since there was one time that we had almost 300 cucumbers at one (even after giving some away) I had to get creative.

Thus, The Cucumber Experiments were born. Here is my post about being overrun by cukes.


282 Cucumbers – I’m Outnumbered Again!


And now, for today’s adventure – ANTS ON A CUCUMBER


INGREDIENTS

  • Cucumber

  • Peanut Butter

  • Raisins


DIRECTIONS


Slice cucumber in half lengthwise


Place cucumber halves sliced side up


Remove the insides and seeds of the cucumber with a spoon


Fill inside of cucumber with peanut butter


Place raisins on top of peanut butter


Add additional “sprinkles” for added excitement


I chose American Beautyberries


RESULTS

Since I already knew how great the Peanut Butter and Jelly Cucumbers were, I knew that this one would pass the test. It did! The crisp crunch of the cucumber was similar to the normal celery used in the traditional preparation of this recipe.

Since we will continue to attempt to provide more and more of our own food supply, cucumbers are a great substitute for celery, and I find them easier to grow. Though this cucumber-based snack certainly passed the test, my favorite was still the Cucumber Chicken Caesar Salas Hand-Held. You can find that recipe below.


The American Beautyberries that I used were wild harvested.


Find my Edible Outdoors post about the Beautyberry here


A big thank you to all of you just for being a part of the community and helping it exist!


To check out the previous Cucumber Experiments, click the links below:






As always, I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-ants-on-cucumber


Awesome logo kindly provided by @vlad.


BONUS – FOR EXTRA FUN – CHECK THESE POSTS OUT


Make Your Own Replica of the Best Haircut on Steemit


Seriously Hair-Style from bullionstackers

Sort:  

Hi, I wouldn't worry about the @cheetah tag. I think it made a bad call on this one. @cheetah is just a bot and this might be a bug. No one is going to flag you over this. It's a great post with delicious cukes.

Another awesome post from THE most interesting dude I've come across on Steemit!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Woah!

Excessively high level of compliment detected!

Now preparing to upvote reply at FULL POWER!

Thanks Old Dog.

Hey man no excessiveness here. The quantity and variety of your posts speak for themselves! The Old Dog is telling it like it is but full powered upvotes are always graciously accepted!

Deal.
Compliment accepted.

Ok , @papa-pepper , since i still have the original, I made this, just for you. You are Special.
The other one was cut off pepper. Punky Papa

Thanks so much!

I will be using it!

The cucumber can be preserve when they are young. This will keep the plants even more healthy by removing some of it.

how do you think this stuff up?! Your content is ALWAYS so original. The witch hunters need get their panties of a wad and loosen up. Don't let it get you down for now. All this noise will eventually settle down, I HOPE. You have my vote of confidence

I know, it's just weird that I did a post about appreciating the community for forgiving a plagiarizer and then I get called out for the first time as potentially using content from the internet.

STEEMIT IS THE ONLY SITE ON THE INTERNET THAT I REALLY EVEN USE THESE DAYS.

I know it's just coincidence, and I have *never supported plagiarism - I was just appreciating how loving and forgiving people can be here.

I'm kind of just awaiting a reply, but it is driving me a little nuts.

(or more nuts... I guess)

Thanks for your continued support and your kind words.

My work does come from deep within the catacombs of my mind, and not from deep within the world wide web.

de acuerdo, totalmente! tus catacumbas estan muy profundas - a little espanol there, sorry.

Cucumbers, peanut butter and raisins are not proprietary. I think this was "wrongly" flagged. Here's a challenge for a future post...use these 3 food items in 4 different configurations.

Hmmm that would be a challenge.

Perhaps I'll try stuffing the raisins with a mixture of cucumber puree and peanut butter.

That would be a good start, as long as it's not in a glossary somewhere online or something.

Raisin peanut butter d'jus held in a cucumber cup like a fancy beverage. Hahaha! I can see it now!

I'm going to finish it for breakfast!
Thanks!

Isn't that how cukes go? This year we had just a few, but like I posted about today, some were HUGE. Just did battle with one to gut it and save its seeds for next year.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

@papa-pepper just when I thought this post is finally something serious
kept scrolling and burst out laughing after reaching the bottom
You - you @meesterboom's clone - hahhaha

I may sneak a but of that in there...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67