THE CUCUMBER EXPERIMENTS - Experiment #3 - PEANUT BUTTER & JELLY CUCUMBER

in #food8 years ago

Well, this is the third new recipe for simple solutions to use up a giant pile of cucumbers, and these are working out really well. This is another simple idea, but it's also an idea that I have never thought of in 35 years of eating cucumbers, so perhaps it is new to you as well.


INGREDIENTS

  • Cucumber(s)

  • Peanut Butter

  • Jelly or Jam


DIRECTIONS

SLICE CUCUMBER(S) IN HALF LENGTHWISE


REMOVE CENTER OF CUCUMBER(S) WITH SPOON


FILL CENTER WITH DESIRED AMOUNT OF PEANUT BUTTER & JELLY


RESULTS

This one was an instant hit with the children. They immediately grabbed the pieces that they had been eyeing up the whole time that I was making and photographing it. I think it's another great alternative to using bread, and an excellent way to use up extra cucumbers. This will definitely appear on our lunch table again and perhaps be used as a mid-day snack as well.

I was amazed myself at how well the three flavors worked together and was very grateful that I started these experiments. More are still to come, so keep an eye out for what I'll be up to next. If it looks good to you, give it a try, and let me know what you think. -Thanks, @papa-pepper

Also, I'm still waiting to give away 3 STEEM Tokens from my YOGART post, so check that one out if you are interested.


PREVIOUS CUCUMBER EXPERIMENTS





proof-of-peanut-butter-and-jelly-cuke

Sort:  

I want to try that!!! lol
What do you think is your best creation to date?

Best creation to date? For Cucumber Experiments, It's the Cucumber Chicken Caesar Salad Hand-held for an entree and this one for a snack. The best non-cucumber dish was my WILD EDIBLE CHALLENGE which was amazing, especially considering that it was all super-nutritious free "weeds".


About a year ago... Celery peanut butter and whip cream.
Edit: forgot that twizzler in the middle

Looks like it was a big hit with the kids!

OK, now you're just crossing a line that shouldn't be crossed! I guess that Arkansas for ya! lol

Why don't you join me on this side of that line first, and let me know what you think, Texan.

So funny! I did not think this one would work....but just look at your kids' faces! Priceless.

They put up the thumbs on their own too!
It was actually incredibly delicious, and they wished that I had made more, but it was time for dinner.
I think that using a really good jam helped. Thanks for the comment!

here's a link for .......CUCUMBER SMOOTHIES! hahaha - to help you out with that 'great pile of cucumbers'
http://www.all-smoothie-recipes.com/cucumber-smoothie.html

Thanks, I'm working on a smoothie post right now, but hadn't even thought of that use for Cucumbers yet, though some had already suggested juicing them. Thanks @ladypenelope1!

Haha, looks like one of my favorite dish types. Something you wouldn't consider tasty because of an unusual combination. My favorite is dark chocolate with almost anything.

Its peanut butter jelly time. Its peanut butter jelly time. Its peanut butter jelly, peanut butter jelly, peanut butter jelly on a celery half! Hahah Im a goofball. The kids look happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42