THE CUCUMBER EXPERIMENTS - Experiment #2 - CUCUMBER CHICKEN CAESAR SALAD HANDHELD

in #food8 years ago

If the Cucumber Sandwich was permissible, this one is a SERIOUS HIT. Simply put, this is a great idea and worked out incredibly. It tastes amazing, is easy to eat, and simple to make as well. I'll probably start packing these in my lunch for work. As far as food preparation goes, this may be the best idea that @papa-pepper had shared on steemit so far. Seriously.


INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Medium Cucumber

  • Lettuce

  • Parmesan Cheese

  • Grilled Chicken Breast Strips

  • Caesar Dressing


I could have added more ingredients like chopped peppers, tomatoes, onions, lambs quarters or such, but I wanted to keep it as basic as possible to see if the minimum amount of ingredients could still work when dealing with such a large cucumber.



DIRECTIONS

Cut one end off of the Cucumber.


Hollow out the Cucumber with a spoon.


Dice the Chicken Breast & Lettuce. Chop them small so they'll be easy to fit inside the Cucumber.


Place the diced Chicken Breast & Lettuce in a bowl with the Parmesan & Caesar Dressing.


Mix the ingredients thoroughly.


Pack the hollow Cucumber full of the Salad mix and serve!



THE RESULTS

Again, this one was a complete success as far as I am concerned. It will definitely be one we make often, especially when we have pile of Cucumbers to deal with. With the ingredients being diced fine and mixed well, they fit in the hollow Cucumber easily and stay in too, even when it is set down.


If you've ever enjoyed a Salad Wrap, you've got to try one of these!


Stay tuned, as I explore additional options for using Cucumbers in some interesting and hopefully delicious ways!


To check out the previous Cucumber Experiment, click on the link below.

EXPERIMENT #1 - CUCUMBER SANDWICH




proof-of-handheld-chicken-caesar-salad-in-a-cucumber

Sort:  

This is very good - had something very similar in Israel - it was stuffed with rice and veg - really refreshing. One way to use up your cumcumbers. In Korea they use chinese leafs as sandwiches - ingredients in the middle then rolled up, very yummy too.

I used to make rolled sandwiches with lettuce leafs back in New Orleans. I had some really tasty recipes. Perhaps I'll share them in the future. Thanks!

Wow, what a great idea! Our cucumbers are abundant this year, so this will be a GREAT way to enjoy them!

I'm sure you guys can take this idea to a new level too. Enjoy it and see what you can come up with!

I like how you offer handheld proof :) Another original recipe.

It wasn't even a concept last week, now it's forever documented in the blockchain.

Good idea, I've never thought of eating this way before!

I'd recommend that you give it a try.
Let me know how it works out if you do.

This is a genius idea! Stuffed cucumbers sound like something off a trendy fusion menu, not home grown, home cooked goodness. Wow!

Genuis??

And they thought that I was crazy!!!

Well, of all the options that I've posted, you certainly picked the right one. I never knew that there was a STEEMIT COOKBOOK! What an honor to be added. Thanks for that!

wow! this is really smart - I always wonder how can I still make a sandwich now that I stopped eating bread. that is a great idea :)
I guess one can do a similar thing with a bell pepper (there would be different ingredients for stuffing, since it has more robust flavor) also, I just realized I recently tried a "rice burger" - it had veggies for the main part, but the neat thing was that it had too slices of sticky rice fried in a way that let them hold the sandwich together.
it was nice, still I prefer this cucumber version.

Check it out and give it a try. I'll have more Cucumber related ideas coming all week.

showing it to others now - I think we're gonna make it! :)

Shoot me a photo if you do.

I'd love to see that!

Thanks for the compliment too!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Keep the links coming!
I enjoy the heads up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61