THE CUCUMBER EXPERIMENTS - Experiment #1 - CUCUMBER SANDWICH

in #food8 years ago

This week I'll be trying to figure out some non-traditional uses for cucumbers. For anyone who saw my "When Life Gives You 282 Cucumbers" post, you'll understand why. (Otherwise, I think the title of that post says it all.)

Some time ago we gave a neighbor lady some cucumbers and she was really excited about. I know that sounds strange, but I guess she had just heard about the option of using Cucumbers to make sandwiches and wanted to give it a try. I never did find out how her attempt went, but I stashed the idea in my mind to be used on a future occasion. Well, now is that time, so I'll be experimenting on options all week. Some will be "full sandwiches" like the one pictured, and I've got some ideas to use them as "boats" too, filled with something delicious, similar to the style of a Deviled Egg. Stay tuned and we'll see what I come up with.


INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Medium or Large Cucumber

  • Sandwich Meat of Choice (Turkey for me)

  • Sliced Cheese of Choice (Extra Sharp Cheddar on mine)

  • Lettuce

  • 1 Tomato

  • Condiments of Choice (Mayo & Honey Mustard used here)


DIRECTIONS


Slice Cucumber in half lengthwise and remove the inside with a spoon.


Add Condiments to each side of the Cucumber.


Add Cheese to one side and Lettuce to the other.


Add Meat to one side and Sliced Tomato to the other.


Combine both half to make a whole sandwich.


RESULTS

Obviously, this was not as dry as a sandwich made with bread. Since the inside of the cucumber is moist and I did not wipe it dry, the condiments made it a little slippery, though I've seen the same results by having sliced meat and mayo next to one another in bread sandwiches too. I think that it could be a great option for those trying to avoid Gluten or Grains, and it certainly was delicious.

Would I make it again? Yes. It's a great way to save money and use up some of the harvest, though it was a little more difficult to eat than a traditional sandwich. We'll see what else I can come up with. I think that I have some even better ideas for the next couple!

Thanks- @papa-pepper


proof-of-sandwich

Sort:  

When I read "cucumber sandwich" I thought you meant those dainty little crustless bread sandwiches with sliced cucumber inside that they serve with a classic English tea.

It's novel using the cucumber itself as a container for the filling. I feel like you should have added back the inside of the cucumber that you had scooped out, to make another layer, as it tastes nice.

Oh, my goodness, you people are going to make me go to the market today after all. LOL! I like to make a cucumber/dill/yogurt dressing to add to those dainty little sandwiches.

I did eat the insides, but I think to add them back to the sandwich would make it rather sloppy. If you give it a try, let me know how it works. I'm certainly not for wasting it! Thanks for the input.

WOW! I've never tryed this. Now it's time to follow your experiment. Thanks :)

You are welcome, and thanks for the support!
Feel free to follow. It'll only get stranger and more delicious.

This was a clever idea. Can't wait to see the next option.

Thanks! I'll be working on it shortly.

I use cukes in smoothies to add a taste of "freshness", if that makes any sense. :} I also hollow them out and make Cucumburritos (my word, lol). Stuff them with pre-cooked taco filling, or something similar, and steem (see what i did there?).
Peace

I used to do that with my "Big Jim" peppers, but never with a cucumber. I was thinking of a something similar, but not a steemed version for one of my experiments. You should do a post on how to make your Cucumburritos, or you could get me the recipe and I'll do a spotlight on your invention to get your name out there a little more (apparently I have 168 followers now, so maybe that would point a few your way). Like a Cucumber Experiment featuring @areynolds as the "guest chef". Let me know what you think, but I'm interested in trying the cucumburritos either way.

Great idea. I love cucumbers and have been looking for a low carb sandwich alternative. The only problem is we only have very narrow cucumbers in England so I will have to see if I can source some of those giant ones.

Some time ago we gave a neighbor lady some cucumbers and she was really excited about

Sorry but the 12 year old in me couldn't help but laugh at this quote!

Thanks. I'll have some more coming, so we'll see how you like them too. Hopefully you can get some thicker cukes.

How about Kimchi, or fermented pickles!

Yes my friend. We already fermented some. I was thinking about doing a how-to plus sharing some of the health benefits.

I followed your recipe and MAN!, was it good. The first bite destabilized a little (I prolly went to the heavier side on the ingredients) so I wrapped it in a tortilla and mixed the cuke insides with a little hot sauce for dipping. Thank you @papapepper

The tortilla idea was genius to use as a stabilizer. Nice thinking!
Did you see the Cucumber Chicken Caesar Salad Handheld yet?
I think that one was even better!

This cucumber experiment gave me an idea so i made a post how cucumbers are underestimated. :)

Indeed, versatile yet underrated. Do you really make all those dishes every day, or are they from your archive of previous experiences? That looks like a lot of good food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81