CHOCOLATE GINGER COOKIES | Original Recipes and Photos | VEGAN, ORGANIC, GLUTEN-FREE, SUGAR-FREEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Happy Wednesday guys!

fullsizeoutput_1191 B.jpg

These cookies taste like a classic ginger cookie with a rich chocolatey twist. Made with healthy, clean ingredients like coconut flour, cacao, cinnamon and of course ginger.

IMG_5897.jpg

What's healthy about ginger?

Well to name a few health benefits, ginger is a potent immune booster, it reduces inflammation and pain, it improves diabetes, it helps normalize metabolism and digestion contributing to weight loss, and it helps fight cancer.

I love giving you guys recipes that are guilt-free sweet treats. That’s sort of a common theme of my foodie blog posts here on steemit.

Guilt-Free Sweet Treats

Well what does this really mean? It means these treats have low calories, they’re made of only healthy ingredients (meaning no added bull****), and they also taste like your favourite sweet treats.

IMG_5687.jpg

Eating healthy shouldn't mean missing out

I wanted to create these recipes because eating healthy shouldn’t mean that you have to miss out on all your favourite foods. And this shouldn’t deter you from eating healthy either. So my solution is providing healthy recipes that encourage you to stay on a healthy track, and also taste like you’re still getting all your favourite treats.

IMG_5765 copy.jpg

Your suggestions

If there are any favourite treats of yours that you would like me to turn into one of my healthy guilt-free sweet treat recipes, let me know in the comments. I’d be happy to do that :)

Okay onto these chocolate ginger cookies

Ingredients

1 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ginger
1.5 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 cup coconut oil melted
2 eggs (use 1 mashed banana or 1 chia egg to make vegan)
1/2 cup maple syrup

Toppings

Cacao nibs
Unsweetened coconut shreddings

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl. Then, in a separate bowl, combine your melted coconut oil, maple syrup, and eggs (or banana/chia egg). Then pour your dry ingredients into your wet ingredients and mix until well combined.

Then place 2 tbsp of batter for each cookie onto your baking sheet. Add your toppings and bake for 10 minutes at 350 F. Let cool for a few minutes. And you're all done. This recipe yields about 14 cookies, at 108 calories per cookie.

IMG_5774.jpg


If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and comment! And thank you for all your continued support!

Steemit end photo with username.jpg

Recipe and photos are mine and original. Shot on iPhone 7 Plus.

You can also connect with me on Instagram

IMG_5963 copy.jpg


And for more of my clean and healthy recipes click the links below:

Green Mint Chocolate Chip Smoothie

Banana Nut Butter Crepes

Cinnamon Chia Overnight Oats

Zucchini Fritters and Homemade Tzatziki

Mint Chocolate Coconut Bark

Strawberry Partfait Bars

Vegan Pizza and Homemade Pesto

Raw Chocolate Fudge Bites

Double Chocolate Banana Muffins a.k.a Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate Avocado Pudding

Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Donuts


Sources:

https://draxe.com/10-medicinal-ginger-health-benefits/
https://www.thestar.com/life/health_wellness/nutrition/2010/03/22/heres_why_maple_syrup_is_very_good_for_your_health.html
https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/maple-syrup.html
http://blog.foodnetwork.com/healthyeats/2014/11/02/pour-it-on-maple-syrup-is-good-for-you/
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/foodbeast/maple-syrup_b_5128955.html
http://healthyeating.sfgate.com/nutrition-pure-maple-syrup-vs-honey-1756.html
http://www.health.com/health/gallery/0,,20464527,00.html#youth-booster-0
http://ilovemaple.ca/health/scientific-discoveries

Sort:  

Definitely going to have to give this recipe a try since I'm gluten sensitive. Thank you have a blessed day!

Great, let me know how it goes :)

loving it.... like...... a lot

Beautiful recipe and all great healthy ingredients.

Thanks! Glad you like it :)

No fluff, I need your honest opinion.....Do they taste good?

Yeah, I liked them lol :)

my wife makes stuff that is low fat sometimes and I am alway skeptical. LOL

Oh I see. Yeah that's why I started looking into ingredients labels. I wanted to really understand what was going into my food. And once I had done that for the better part of two years, I started developing recipes. You should get her to try these :)

perfect food for a perfect vacation... upvoting it..

Thanks for the feedback :)

Thanks!! I will certain... ... ask my wife to try to make these :)
But in all seriousness, very good post and I agree on the uses and health benefits of Ginger - we make Ginger tea esp over a cold winter night, it just keeps you warm!
Cheers!
@watch-chronolog

Thanks! Let me know how it goes :) I love a hot ginger tea on a cold night.

It's looks nice! :D

Looks like these would be great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13