Cinnamon Chia Overnight Oats, Original Recipe and Photos | Vegan, Organic, Gluten-Free, Sugar-FreesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Happy Tuesday guys!

What's so great about this trend that's been sweeping social media and foodie blogs everywhere?

FullSizeRender copy 4.jpg

Well, for starters, overnight oats are easy as hell to make. And secondly, they suit many diets. For instance, you can use gluten-free oats, to make it gluten-free, or you can use non-dairy milk, to make it dairy-free and vegan.

FullSizeRender copy 3.jpg

You can also add any combination of your fave toppings. And you can sweeten it with whatever you like, or use no sweetener at all.

FullSizeRender copy 2.jpg

In my recipe for overnight oats I've included chia seeds as an added superfood. I love eating chia pudding, and I found that if I combine chia seeds with my overnight oats, it's like killing two birds with one stone. I get the health benefits of chia and I get it with my morning oats.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Why are chia seeds so healthy?

Chia seeds have a huge amount of nutrients without all the calories. (There's only 23 calories in 1 tsp of chia seeds!) They're a non-GMO, gluten-free, whole grain and are usually grown organically. Chia seeds are loaded with vitamins and minerals, Omega-3 fatty acids and fiber. Though they may appear small, they are one of the most nutritious foods in the world.

Cinnamon chia overnight oats have been my go-to breakfast, lunch, snack or even dinner.

FullSizeRender copy 5.jpg

Here's how I did it:

Ingredients

1 cup organic oats (use gluten-free oats to make it gluten-free
1.5 cups organic milk (can substitute with any non-dairy milk)
1 tbsp organic chia seeds
1 tbsp organic cinnamon
2 tsp organic maple syrup

Toppings

1/2 tbsp almond butter
Strawberries
Blueberries
Blackberries

Directions

Place all ingredients in a glass mason jar and mix well.

FullSizeRender copy 7.jpg

Place in the fridge overnight. And that's it! Add all you toppings and enjoy your oats the next day for breakfast, lunch or anything in between.

This recipe yields two servings, with approximately 300 calories per bowl (depending on what you choose to top it with).

FullSizeRender copy 6.jpg


If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and comment!

Steemit end photo with username.jpg

All content is mine and original. Shot on iPhone 7 Plus.

You can also connect with me on Instagram


And for more of my clean and healthy recipes click the links below:

Zucchini Fritters with Homemade Tzatziki

Mint Chocolate Coconut Bark

Vegan Pizza with Homemade Pesto

Strawberry Partfait Bars

Raw Chocolate Fudge Bites

Double Chocolate Banana Muffins a.k.a Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate Avocado Pudding

Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Donuts

Green Protein Smoothie (with Collagen)


Sources:
http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/291334.php

Sort:  

You are going me gain weight lol :)

such a wonderful recipe, wish i could have a taste.lol

Thanks @louisdollas! You should give it a try sometime! :)

This food looks very good :)

I hope you make more :))

This is good; I had actually never heard of soaked overnight oats before! And of course the milk helps to offset the calcium loss from the phytates...

Thanks! Oh yeah, that's a very good point :)

Hmmm! Looks delicious! I am going to try this.

Thanks! Awesome, can't wait to hear how it goes! :)

Now I'm hungry omg!

Looks really good! Thanks for the recipe

Oats with cinnamon...I love oats and cinnamon, but I can't guess the harmony of the taste. Looks yummy though. I'll try it someday. :) @hatashahall

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33