Mint Chocolate Coconut Bark, Original Recipe and Photos | No-Bake, Organic, Vegan, Sugar-Free & Gluten-FreesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Happy Thursday guys!

I’m in love with my latest creation! Why? Because I’ve created from scratch one of my favorite things: CHOCOLATE! This means no more having to get the packaged store-bought stuff, and being able to make my own healthy chocolate!

FullSizeRender copy 39.jpg

Okay so maybe you think I’m being a little over the top. But not having to buy store-bought packaged chocolate bars anymore, even when they are technically organic, means a lot. It means being able to skip getting all the extra ingredients that inevitably always come with the chocolate bar.

FullSizeRender copy 44.jpg

Those strange ingredients that you can’t pronounce and have no idea what they are, and even Google can’t really help you there. Like, “Soy Lecithin” or “Milk Powder.” I mean what are these things really? And what the hell is actually required to make something like milk into a powder?!

FullSizeRender copy 42.jpg

Well by making my own chocolate, I’m literally avoiding all of that. And those mysterious unpronounceable ingredients tend to make me break out. But I've found that this homemade chocolate does not, so problem solved. I can eat chocolate again, finally! And I don't just mean chocolate flavoured treats, I mean real chocolate-bar chocolate. (Lol, if you're a chocolate lover you'll understand.)

FullSizeRender copy 40.jpg

What’s in it

Okay so let’s get down to the good stuff. This chocolate bark is made up of a few real ingredients that are packed with nutrients. Throw in some coconut oil, almond butter, organic cocoa powder, and maple syrup, eh voila! Then top with some yummy nuts and coconut flakes and all done. Plus there’s no baking required!

FullSizeRender copy 45.jpg

Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients

1/4 cup melted organic coconut oil
1/4 cup organic unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 tbsp almond butter
2 - 3 tbsp organic maple syrup
1/8 tsp peppermint extract

Toppings

1 tbsp walnuts
1 tbsp almonds
1 tbsp sunflower seeds
1 tbsp dried blackberries
1 tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes

FullSizeRender copy 46.jpg

Directions

Melt your coconut oil in a pot on low heat. Then pour into a bowl and mix in your cocoa powder, sea salt, almond butter, maple syrup and peppermint extract.

FullSizeRender copy 49.jpg

Then pour the liquid into a 9 inch square baking pan lined with parchment paper, and even it out with a spoon or rubber spatula.

FullSizeRender copy 48.jpg

Then add on your toppings.

FullSizeRender copy 51.jpg

Place in the freezer for 20 minutes, and you’re all done.

FullSizeRender copy 50.jpg

This chocolate bark keeps best if stored in the freezer. Recipe serves about 9 pieces, at 100 calories per piece. Recipe inspired and adapted from Angela Liddon and Rachel DeVaux.

FullSizeRender copy 43.jpg


If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and comment!

Steemit end photo with username.jpg

All content is mine and original. Photos shot on iPhone 7 Plus.

You can also connect with me on Instagram


And for more of my clean and healthy sweet treats click the links below:

Raw Chocolate Fudge Bites

Peanut Butter Chocolate Turmeric Cookie Skillet a.k.a Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies

Double Chocolate Banana Muffins a.k.a Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate Avocado Pudding

Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Donuts

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Peanut Butter Energy Bites

Chocolate Strawberry Protein Smoothie (with Collagen)

Green Protein Smoothie (with Collagen)

Sort:  

YUM!!! That looks good!

Nice! Those look so good

wow! amazing recipee! I am vegan too! Thank you for sharing this recipe with everyone it looks so good!! :D! I am following you now! c:

Thanks @innita! Glad you liked it :)

You are welcome @natashahall!! :3 I love to see nutritious food, animal cruelty free! n_n

Thanks for the feedback! :)

You are welcome! I hope you like my recipes too! I am new in steemit, but I want to share with everybody what I have learned in life including nutrtitous food, advice, and so much more!!

That's great, I will check them out :)

Thank you so much Natashahall :3!! You motivate me to keep up the good posts :D!

@natashahall looks delicious! You are very pretty too! :)

Very delicious. And chocolate buzz is of course the best :) I like the composition of the photos also.

Thank you! Appreciate that @throughmyeyes :)

Nice!
That does it! I'm gonna do some food photography too :P

Thanks! Lol awesome! :)

Just curious - do you tap your own maple trees for syrup? I've seen it done around here and would love to do it if I had more time.

I looked into it, and found that I didn't have the right type of maple trees on my land. However, several of my neighbours have entire forests of maple trees perfect for tapping, and I get it from them. Fresh organic maple syrup is really good, I highly recommend it!

I used to think only Sugar Maples can be tapped. But a guy I know taps Silver Maples, too, and says the syrup is delicious.

wow that looks yummy , now I have a sweet tooth!

Wow that looks so good, thanks for sharing Natasha!

Congratulations @natashahall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39