Chocolate Avocado Pudding, Recipe and Photos

in #life7 years ago

Happy Monday guys!

FullSizeRender copy.jpg

Here’s is my latest creation to get you through this Monday. Chocolate avocado pudding. And it's sooo darn good! How did I do it? Well again, I wanted a clean sweet treat that's also loaded with protein for a filling snack, and very healthy! I also didn't want something full of processed sugar that was going to give me a sugar crash and a headache.

So this pudding has no added sweeteners, like sugar, or even maple syrup. It's mainly sweetened by dates! (One of my other favourite food groups! Joking, I know this is not a food group, but it should be!) Then throw in some of my other favourite things, like peanut butter, collagen and cocoa powder.. eh voila! Chocolate pudding!

FullSizeRender copy 2.jpg

It's only 165 calories per serving (1/4 cup). I used all organic ingredients, and only 5 ingredients in total. Which is very exciting for those of us in favour of clean whole foods with minimal ingredients (as on the Whole 30 diet). Or at least ingredients that we can actually pronounce and know what they are. None of these mysterious ingredients that we don't understand, like polysorbate 80. I mean what is that anyway? And it has a number in it, making it all the more mysterious. I found this in a jar of pickles in the grocery store the other day. Well it's definitely synthetic, that's for sure.

Anyway, I like making these sweet treats firstly because I actually know, and control, what goes into them. None of this mysterious stuff. And I know what kind of sweetener goes into them and how much, i.e. no painful sugar crash that ruins your day.

FullSizeRender copy 3.jpg

Here's how I did it.

Ingredients
20 dates (I used pitted sayer dates)
1 small avocado
1 very ripe banana
1/4 cup milk (or non-dairy milk alternative)
2 tbsp peanut butter
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/8 tsp sea salt
2 scoops collagen powder (for a discount on this at furtherfood.com use the code NATASHA10)

FullSizeRender copy 4.jpg

FullSizeRender copy 5.jpg

Directions
Take your dates and place them in a pot with one cup of water. Place a lid on the pot and boil for approximately 15 minutes or until tender. Then let the dates sit for 5 - 10 minutes.

FullSizeRender copy 7.jpg

Then place dates and remaining liquid from the pot in a blender and pulse until they form a paste. Add the avocado, banana and milk to the blender and pulse until smooth.

FullSizeRender copy 10.jpg

Then, in a large mixing bowl, combine the cocoa powder, peanut butter, sea salt and collagen (collagen is optional).

FullSizeRender copy 9.jpg

FullSizeRender copy 11.jpg

Then place the pudding in a glass container and put in the fridge for 30 minutes or until firm. And you're all done.

You can store it in the fridge for up to 5 days in a glass container. This recipe serves about six 1/4 cup size portions, at 165 calories per serving. Recipe adapted from Ale Zozos.

FullSizeRender copy 12.jpg

You can add an array of different toppings to the pudding and combine it with your other favourite sweet treats and desserts.

FullSizeRender copy 13.jpg

Here I put the pudding in a chocolate oat cup with some fruit.

FullSizeRender copy 14.jpg

I hope you guys enjoy this recipe! All photos are original and my own content. If you use this recipe let me know in the comments and I'd love to see how it turns out!

If you liked this content don't forget to upvote and follow me

FullSizeRender copy 6.jpg

For more of my clean and healthy sweet treats click the links below:

Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Donuts

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Peanut Butter Energy Bites

Sort:  

I didn't know about the dates! Very interesting! I am constantly looking for high protein and other healty recipes. It might be a good decision to follow you! ;-) Keep up the good work & thanks for sharing!

Delicious and nutritious!

That's what I was going for! Thanks for the comment @weq!

Awesome recipe, @natashahall! This food looks really good. Keep it up.
I've just upvoted & followed you as well :)

Thanks @lazariko12! Appreciate it.

Great dessert for kids

Looks very tasty!! :-)

Congratulations @natashahall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Maybe I should start adding a pinch of salt to sweet stuff. You look super healthy btw ;)

Adding sea salt to anything sweet and chocolatey is amazing.

WOW! This looks so delicious! I took a quick look at your instagram a/c. You have some amazing pics there too. Mouth watering at 8.30am :D

Thanks so much @firepower! Appreciate it!

Hey guys, I also wanted to add that this recipe was inspired and adapted from Susan Napolitano.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81