Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies, Original Recipe and Photos

in #life7 years ago

Happy Monday!

FullSizeRender.jpg

I developed this recipe to be a clean desert made with real ingredients, minimal sweetener and a filling consistency. These brownies are a healthy snack or great as a dessert. I packed it with superfoods that are nutritious and organic, like sweet potatoes and coca powder. And I used maple syrup that's organic as a sweetener (it comes straight from my neighbours trees!). Then it’s also loaded with protein from the cashew butter and collagen. So one brownie is quite filling (with about 140 calories). It's also super easy to make, only 30 minutes of baking time.

FullSizeRender copy 2.jpg

So there you go! A real food desert! And it’s not going to give you a sugar crash or leave you starving a few minutes later!

FullSizeRender copy 3.jpg

Here’s how I did it.

Ingredients
1 cup mashed sweet potato
1/2 cup coconut flour
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2 scoops further collagen protein powder (optional) (for a discount at furtherfood.com on your next order use the code: NATASHA10)
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup cashew butter
1/4 milk (I used organic meadow whole milk)

Directions
Cut half a large sweet potato into a few pieces. Put a pot of water on the stove and bring to a boil.
Boil the sweet potato pieces for 15 - 20 minutes or until soft enough to mash. Then mash sweet potato until no lumps remain.

FullSizeRender copy 6.jpg

Preheat your oven to 325 F. Put all your ingredients into a mixing bowl.

FullSizeRender copy 8.jpg

Mix until smooth with no lumps. (Note: if your cashew butter is too firm then I recommend heating it in a pot on the stove for a few minutes until it melts.)

FullSizeRender copy 5.jpg

Then take a square baking pan or loaf pan and grease with coconut oil (I used Bulletproof XCT coconut oil). Then pour your batter into the pan. Place in the oven and bake for 30 minutes.

FullSizeRender copy 7.jpg

Remove form the oven and let cool. Then cut into brownie sized pieces. (Store in the fridge for up to a week.)

FullSizeRender copy 9.jpg

Toppings:
To make a syrup to drizzle on the brownies (which I did here) combine the following:

3 tbsp maple syrup
1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
A splash of water
1 tbsp coconut oil

Whisk together then drizzle or brush on.

FullSizeRender copy.jpg

I hope you enjoy this recipe! If you use my recipes let me know in the comments! And if you post about them I’d love to see how they turned out!

All photos and recipe are original and my own.

If you liked this don’t forget to upvote and follow me!

Sort:  

Desserts like these are so full of nutrition, delicious, and don't bloat you up. I make similar brownies with avocadoes. It would be great if more people knew about these health-promoting desserts. Great post. Thank you.

Thank you. I will try to post up the recipe real soon. I so wish I had more time to write. Thank you kindly for your response.

You're very welcome and agreed!

looks.so.nice.

Thank you @jagged!

I love cooking with coconut flour! I bought a huge bag of it not long ago and it makes really great desserts. Thanks for the recipe. I also love sweet potatoes. I use them to make biscuits and donuts. I've never tried them in brownies before. Interesting idea.

Agreed, coconut flour is amazing in sweet treats! My pleasure! I used sweet potatoes in my donut recipe a few posts back too. I love adding them to desserts.

Congratulations @natashahall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I do like using potatoes in desserts, looks yummy!

Congratulations @natashahall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

These look yummy. I will try out the recipe. Thanks for sharing

Thank you @globalfoodbook! I'd love to see how they turn out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70