Strawberry Parfait Bars with Organic Yogurt, Original Recipe and Photos | Happy National Strawberry Parfait DaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Happy Sunday guys!

FullSizeRender copy 24.jpg

And yes today is National Strawberry Parfait Day! So in the spirit of that I made these strawberry parfait bars with organic yogurt.

I used to love picking up yogurt parfaits on the go...that is until I learnt that dairy is commonly poorly farmed where I'm from. And I realized that these little packaged store-bought parfaits were loaded with 2 - 3 times a person's daily dose of added processed sugar. So that was the end of that for me.

But now I've created these bars for a healthy, naturally sweetened, organic yogurt parfait. These bars are made up of a few real ingredients, like whole grains, maple syrup, coconut oil, organic yogurt and strawberries, i.e. lots of nutritious fats, antioxidants and fiber! And they taste like a strawberry parfait!

FullSizeRender copy 25.jpg

Okay so as a person who isn’t strictly vegan but loves a good vegan meal once in a while, I am actually pro-dairy, believe it or not. I feel like going non-dairy is becoming a very huge thing recently. However, I think when dairy is honestly farmed and organic, it can be really nutritious and super good for the body.

That being said I am not trying to impose my way of doing things on anyone. That can’t be stressed enough. And I’m not going to talk about cruelty vs. cruelty-free farming, as that is a matter in and of itself, for another post.

Honestly organic dairy is a very important part of my diet. And I feel that one of the main reasons many people today are opting for non-dairy foods, as far as diet is concerned, is that they have experienced adverse reactions to it. But is that because of the lactose in the dairy? Or could it be largely due to the fact that the majority of dairy products in the U.S and Canada are very poorly farmed, non-organic, and the cows are largely fed GMO grain feed, and in very poor health.

The good news is that there are many organic dairy farms turning up all over Canada and the U.S making organic dairy products much easier to find. And some of them may even be local for you. (In my area we have three not even an hour and a half drive from us.)

So if you’re not sure about dairy, and are having a hard time figuring it all out. I would try organic dairy, or even visit a local organic dairy farm. I think you’d be amazed what good honest farming can produce.

Organic farming methods and supplies undoubtedly cost farmers more, and it’s definitely not always easy for them. And therefore we really need to support them, despite the fact that it may cost us a bit more. Because this is what will promote organic farming happening more in our local areas. And this will ultimately probably help to reduce the price for all of us, the consumer, in the long run.

So in light of all this I made these strawberry parfait bars with organic yogurt.

FullSizeRender copy 26.jpg

Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients

For the base:

2 cups oats ground (measure before grinding)
3 tbsp maple syrup
1 tbsp coconut oil, melted (I used Bulletproof XCT coconut oil, no melting required)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
2 bananas
2 tbsp almond butter
Walnut oil cooking spray (can also use coconut oil)

For the yogurt:

1 cup organic plain yogurt (3.5%)
1 cup organic strawberries
1 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp organic strawberry jam

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350 F. In a large mixing bowl combine your oats, maple syrup, coconut oil, cinnamon, salt, bananas and almond butter.

FullSizeRender copy 30.jpg

Then grease a 9 inch square baking pan with cooking spray (can use walnut oil or coconut oil). Next pour the batter into the pan and spread it out evenly. Bake for 10 - 12 minutes.

FullSizeRender copy 33.jpg

While your base is baking, take a mixing bowl and mash your strawberries. (Doesn’t have to be completely smooth, you can leave some strawberry chunks in there.)

FullSizeRender copy 34.jpg

Then combine strawberries with your yogurt, maple syrup and jam.

FullSizeRender copy 36.jpg

When the base is done, remove from the oven and let cool for 5 - 10 minutes. Then spread your yogurt mixture evenly onto the base.

FullSizeRender copy 37.jpg

Freeze over night. Let thaw for 15 minutes before eating. Store in the freezer.

FullSizeRender copy 38.jpg

This recipe yields 9 pieces, with 125 calories per piece.

FullSizeRender copy 27.jpg

FullSizeRender copy 29.jpg

I hope you guys enjoy this recipe!

All photos and recipe are my own original content.

If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and comment!

FullSizeRender.jpg

For more of my clean and healthy sweet treats click the links below:

Raw Chocolate Fudge Bites

Peanut Butter Chocolate Turmeric Cookie Skillet a.k.a Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies

Double Chocolate Banana Muffins a.k.a Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate Avocado Pudding

Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Donuts

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Peanut Butter Energy Bites

Chocolate Strawberry Protein Smoothie (with Collagen)

Green Protein Smoothie (with Collagen)

Sort:  

They look yummy:) Its 11.30 PM here, I can't be hungry:)

Lol, Thanks! I can understand that :)

I might just remain hungry:)

This sounds amazing. I have some strawberries right now too

Thanks for the feedback @vegetarianbaker! You should try it :)

i'll have to tweak it a bit to make it vegan, but i bet it will be delicious

Ah yes, go for it! :)

Thanks so much!

My wife just got an account. She is a foodie. I will tell her to follow you too. @erin-michiels

Oh thanks! I'd love to see some of her content :)

I did not know national parfait day was a thing lol. I feel left out now.😯 I agree with everything you said on this message. I sum it up in a simple message: Eat real food like our ancestors ate, mostly plants, not too much. Great recipe and awesome presentation. Keep up the great work. 👍🏼👍🏼

Lol, I just found out about it myself. Great message. I totally agree :) Thanks for the awesome feedback!

Sigh...calories...delicious calories :) As a vegetarian I'd starve to death without dairy!
(a climb can burn 350-500 calories an hour for as long as 15 hours...)

I hear you. I tend to eat a lot of plant-based meals myself. Looks like some very interesting adventures in mountaineering! :)

Thanks! And even more interesting eating parfait bars :) Actually sugary things are really all my stomach can handle up at altitude;everything else gets 'ignored' in the stomach...

Interesting :) I have to say I've never tried it, but it sounds like an amazing experience.

It is! :) In particular,your mental state becomes differerent. It becomes very calm and matter of fact in the presence of all that vastness of height and depth.
You put your head up over the ridge and suddenly you are looking 1000 feet straight down. But your mind simply notes the fact then moves on to thinking that the handholds are pretty comfortable. Wierd and kind of cool :)

Sounds incredible :) And that totally makes sense to me. I had a similar experience while hiking some of the trails in my neck of the woods. Sort of like your survival depends on it, so you have to stay completely analytical and calm, and you adapt to that mindset almost immediately out of pure necessity.

I think you are right-that is probably what is is! Especially in winter...and you move through some pretty rugged countryside up there I bet!

Lol yes that's true :)

Looks soooooo good, you are going to make me break my diet lol

Lol! Thanks! These are pretty much guilt-free though, I wouldn't worry about it ;)

Another amazing creation! Looks so good!

Thank you @amy-goodrich! Appreciate that.

I.. want..

<3

Lol. Thanks for stopping by :)

Hi, These look SO delicious! I love strawberries! I can't wait to try it! Thanks!

Sounds yummy. :) Thank you for the recipe. @natashahall

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31