Lily Learns Spanish Through Food: Rol Con Canela y Datiles (Cinnamon Rolls with Dates and Goat Cheese Frosting Food Photo Shoot and Recipe)

in #food7 years ago

I had some leftover goat cheese frosting so I saved it and made cinnamon rolls with it. Knowing I had a recipe in one of my spanish cookbooks I used it as an excuse to learn a little spanish while making something sweet. Of course, I can't leave any recipe alone and I used dates instead of raisins and they were great.

Here are the pages from the book if you'd like to do your own translation. I'll be providing everything in English here.

From this book, which has all sorts of tasty Mexican breads in it.

Ingredients:

1 kilo flour
15 g salt
25 g yeast
150 g sugar
200 g eggs, or about four
300 ml milk
100 g butter

Filling
80 g butter, melted
150 g brown sugar
25 g ground cinnamon
2 t flour (my addition)
100 g dates, chopped (my substitution)

Glaze (my recipe, not shown in the book):
Goat cheese
powdered sugar
vanilla extract

How it's done:

  1. Start with the flour and add the sugar, yeast and salt in a large bowl.
  2. Add an egg, combine.
  3. Add some milk, combine.
  4. Repeat steps 2-3 until all the milk and eggs are gone.
  5. Mix well and add the butter, melted.
  6. Knead until smooth, at least 5 minutes and allow to rise until doubled in size.
  7. Roll out the dough into a large rectangle.
  8. Combine the cinnamon and sugar and the chopped dates. I pinched it together with my hands until it was really evenly combined.
  9. Cover the dough evenly in melted butter, then with the cinnamon and sugar mixture.
  10. Roll up, cut into 2 inch pieces and put into an oiled pan.
  11. Allow to proof while heating the oven to about 350 degrees.
  12. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden.
  13. Make the frosting as specified in this post just spoon it over the top when they've cooled a few minutes. Serve whenever, best stored in the fridge.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Goat Cheese Frosting Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Cutest Quail Egg Deviled Eggs Recipe and Food Photo Shoot

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Rebel Dog My Cuddle Monster Photo Shoot
Acapulco Sunrise: Bougainvilleas in the Sunshine
Farm Update: 7 Egg Incubator Project started for Baby Quails and Chickens

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Knowing other languages sucks.

It removes all the amazement and novelty.
The book cover just says "Mexican breads"

Almost any dried fruit replaces raisins in a recipe. Which can make for a lot of diverse tastes. I am glad you found the dates worked well for your palette.

which, just leaves me here thinking, damn, I coulda made some of those for supper tonight.

Sounds like you should make them for tonight :)

The goat cheese sounds intriguing and the photos look so yummy! Are Spanish cookbooks in high demand down there? Thanks for sharing.

Honestly there is a bit of a small selection at most places I've gone to...so I think it's kinda the same thing that's happening in the states...the internet is competing.

Ok we have another yummy recipe here. For a not expert in cooking this is something not easy but trying I think don't harm.

Super easy to do and very rewarding

Those ingredients i have been picturing where i can find them in my country. This is amazing food honestly, keep it up.

Where are you again? These are ingredients I've never in my life had trouble finding but I've honestly only been to the US and Mexico.

I live in Africa, and im guessing it may not be here.

The cinnamon may be hard to find I have heard because many people in Africa find it to be a unpleasant odor rather than pleasant one.

cinnamon? delicious... good post!!

Goat cheese with Cinnamon Rolls, that is new. But looks mouthwatering. Thank you for translating the recipe for us. :)

i hope nice recipe...

This post has received a 3.9 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @lily-da-vine

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 8.31 % upvote from thanks to: @lily-da-vine.
For more information, click here!!!!

The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35