Fermenting Adventures: Ginger Beer Harvest And A Fermenter's Pride

in #food6 years ago

Yesterday I harvested my ginger beer and took these photos during the process. The green bottle featured in this post is a kombucha brewer and glass enthusiasts joy, an authentic Grosch style flip top bottle. More on the bottle later, but I couldn't help but talk about it.

This is how I know it's ready. It's actually a predictable and honestly pretty process.

See this is day two, when the fermented ginger starter lifts up into the brew as if possessed. It spends the day swirling around in there in the center. Day three, it has fallen. I can harvest then or on day four. I think I ended up somewhere inbetween.



Meanwhile feed the ginger bugs which as I speak are ready for a brew, and I'm not ready for them. What else is new in ginger bug land?

The tannish stuff is the wild yeast from the starter which ferments the brew.

See how it's settled and bubbly? Time to harvest. It'll just get stronger in flavor if you leave it eventually becoming really intense and honestly bitter.

I decided to flavor the green bottle with a little strawberry as I know you can flavor it like you can with kombucha to make different sodas. The green bottles are a random find where I only have four so they're personal and will likely never be sold to a customer. There's a story coming on them.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Kombucha Chronicles: Still Brewing and Expanding for Sales
Kombucha Chronicles: Fermenting Update
Kombucha Chronicles: The Truth Behind the Kombucha Brew

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Cheesy Shrimp and Garlic Butter Pasta Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Instant Pot Pink Wine Chicken and Rice Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Tequila the Chair Obsessed Dog Photo Shoot and Thoughts

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I made honey mead from wild yeast once, all i did was leave the honey open for 3 days and then leave it to ferment for 1 month, tasted pretty good

I've not heard that method but I have considered making mead myself.

super post...I like it

good information for the beer lovers. Thanks for sharing

Thank's for sharing @lily-da-vine. . .

This post has received a 0.99 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lily-da-vine. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Alcohol content? It is my understanding that this does not produce alcohol and therefore would be safe for those who are allergic to alcohol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99