Kombucha Chronicles: Fermenting Update

in #food7 years ago

If you've been following me awhile you'll know I got a little kombucha crazy with my series the kombucha chronicles now featured in full over at the Homestead Guru. I'm still brewing guys although it's been a little while since I've updated on my brew. Yesterday I harvested at least 3 gallons nearly 4 gallons into flip top bottles which are building fizz as I type.

I was a little discouraged after I got mold on one of my brews but it hasn't happened since and I've now harvested several happy gallons. The only issue is I now have pressure to get more brews started.

It's not the brew photoed but I did a test run of a green tea and jasmine tea blend to brew. I didn't know what John would think but when he said he really liked it I decided one of my big brews will be converted to a jasmine blend.

I tried using dates for the first time for a couple of reasons: I bought dates at the market, my brew was on the tart side and they're full of sugar and I like dates. Combine it with flavors like cinnamon, maple and honey and we've got a winner coming....I hope.

Mexican cinnamon, distinctly different in all sorts of ways.

I've been experimenting with using dried fruit instead of fresh fruit. I'm not sure on my thoughts on it other than it's much milder in taste.

Yay kombucha!

Check out some of my other recent posts!

Acapulco Sunsets: First of the Dry Season
Fermentation Adventures: Growing and Expanding Ginger Bugs
Restaurants of Acapulco La Concha Part 2

Sort:  

I have had really good luck with some dried fruits and not so much with others. Good to see the mold didn't stop you!

It didn't stop me but I have avoided using the vessel that got moldy lol, it's sitting empty.

My wife tried doin kombuca a while back but then nothing ever came of it. I got to get her on it again. Thanks for the reminder. It sure looks yummy

Show her my series at kombuchachronicles.com if she needs some help!

Thanks my thoughts exactly. 👊🏻👍🏻

Yeah, I'm brewing kombucha too. Somewhere I saw a kombucha enthusiast make a great recommendation: Double-brew for extra bubbles! I tried this technique with my most recent batch, and sure enough they're bubblier than ever. Almost scary, they're so effervescent, and in fact I've heard the bottles can explode, so I'm excercising caution while I'm new at it. The trick is to put a couple of raisins (and I added goji berries too) in a finished bottle and keep it out on the counter while it integrates the additional dried fruit (for days or weeks). Then it's ready to pop like champagne! Are you familiar with this technique?

That's what I'm referring to when I said I bottled my brew for second fermentation.

nice view and great photography,
images (16).jpg

this is the first kombucha post i have read on steemit. looks.... good.... well looks kinda weird but it probably tastes good. feels good to drink on an empty stomach?

I know zero on this. Looks fun.

Damn girl you are doing the fermenting thing again. LOL I hope you are enjoying your creations. Good photos my friend.

I'm always doing the fermenting thing.

you work is absolutely amazing!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89