COOKED #15: Oysters

in #food8 years ago

 

We got some Oysters at the Carrefour Nice and I had to crack them open

My friend had injured his finger prior to my visit so I had to open the oysters. While the task is usually easy it is still a horrible task if you have to open 60 Oysters....

Over the years I have developed my own technique which I will introduce in this post.

First put the Oysters in water (I believe they open up a bit in water)

Put a Towel on the table, place the oyster on the towel and hold the oyster with a 2nd towel. Take the Oyster opener and search for the little whole at the back of they oyster. Insert the tip of the Oyster Opener and push the Oyster opener with your bodyweight into the Oyster (It will go into the Oyster like butter)

Start opening all the Oysters

50 more to go...

Once you opened all Oysters place them on a big plate

Cut Lemons (prepare Onions if you like)

Enjoy the Oyster with your friends...

While I like opening Oysters once in a while it really was a task to open 60 Oysters. I did use 2 towels because the towels were too wet and cold after I opened the first 30 Oysters. The reason I am using a towel while opening the Oysters is that I have cut myself countless times while holding the oysters in my hand trying to open it. With the towel it will protect your hand and you can apply your whole body pressure to open the Oyster!

Do you like Oysters ???

I am blogging about the following topics :

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life  

Sort:  

Tsk tsk horrible way to open them ;)
First..pour on hot water and quickly drain to prevent accidental cooking. This will slightly open that tiny weeny hole. Way safer for the fingers or better to the hand.
2ndly, either way of chilling them is fine..the quicker the better.

I will try that :)

Pls do..otherwise we will miss all these lovely posts you're making due to some oyster you were murdering.let's save those fingers shall we not?

LOVE oysters!
I have always had them served, never prepared them on my own... Thanks for your post, you've given me a new appreciation of the process for the next time they cross my lips.
Need to wait at least 11 more days until this crazy new diet experiment I've been posting about is concluded 😋

yeah opening is pretty hard

wow,,,, I really like mussels this is certainly very tasty,,,

yeah I like oysters too. but like them better if I dont have to open all of them myself ;)

These oysters in my hometown very much, and become a livelihood for the majority of the villagers.

Where is this ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $45.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62