Creamy Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowl (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food6 years ago

Wow, September disappeared into October, how did that happen? The days are quickly getting shorter and the chill in the air seems to be here to stay so I'm cozying up my recipes and I hope that you're as excited about this as I am. This sweet potato bowl is a current favorite of mine with all of it's comfort-food vibes and versatility. During the summer while I was recovering from my 4-wheeler accident this became my go-to breakfast.

It's definitely not the most common morning fare but honestly it shouldn't be all that strange considering sweet potatoes are a staple around the holiday season. Have you ever just wished you could find an acceptable way to eat sweet potato casserole (which, let's be real, is basically a dessert item) all year long? Well, I'm here to make your wish come true, my friends! It's also a great source of protein but the protein doesn't come from a powder. In fact, you may be surprised to read it comes from egg whites, that's right! Much like the popular egg white oatmeal recipes that you may be familiar with, this sweet tater bowl gets it's wonderful consistency from the same basic ingredient.

Creamy Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowl (2).jpg

It's thick, it's creamy, it's fast, and it's definitely filling. Plus, it's a little bit similar to a bowl of oats or cream of wheat. Just another form of warm carbs, right? I love to top it with all kinds of things based on my cravings but my go-to is always berries of course. Aside from that I'll maybe add Greek yogurt, nut butter, and then something crunchy or chewy like granola or, as in the pictured bowl, squares of a protein bar. Ooooh, and a sprinkle of pumpkin seeds to go with my Autumn mood.

Creamy Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowl (3).jpg

I've also tried a vegan version of this using protein powder in place of the egg whites and pudding mix and it's just as good and then I made a chocolate version that was like dessert -> oh my goodness YES! So let me know if you want me to share those versions.

Creamy Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowl (6).jpg

I hope you're enjoying you're month so far and I quickly wanted to mention that I was so deeply sorry to hear about the events in Las Vegas recently and my heart and prayers go out to all of those affected. At times like these it's easy to feel overwhelmed by the ripple effects and sadness of it all but that's when we need to lean on each other for support the most. Stay strong you guys!

Creamy Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowl (11).jpg

XOXO

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and I've recently made new accounts on social media just for my Steemian friends to follow so don't forget to go follow me on all your favorites!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Homemade Good Heavens Ice Cream (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. 30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Nutella Popcorn Ultimate Chick-Flick Snack Mix (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Harvest Time Steak & Pumpkin Chili (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Crunchy PB Chocolate Chip Protein Bites (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Maple Pecan Pancake Cupcakes(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Thai Peanut Pad Thai Noodles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. The Best Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake Smoothie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png

25 DAYS UNTIL I LEAVE FOR STEEMFEST!!


I HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE

Creamy Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowl (10).jpg

Sort:  

Looks very healthy and tasty toooo..... perfect for breakfast

I am so glad you liked it @robertsekhose

Recipe plz

is this a bot?

I'm not a bot.

Ingredients
46g (3 tbsp) egg whites
150g (about 1/2 of a medium) sweet potato, baked.
3g (2 tsp) sugar free vanilla pudding
pinch of pink sea salt
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
Optional Toppings:
plain or sweetened yogurt
granola
protein bar cubes (I used GoMacro)
berries or fruits
nut butter (I used peanut butter)
honey or maple syrup
nuts or seeds (I used pumpkin seeds)

Instructions

  1. Peel the sweet potato and mash it in a small bowl until there are no lumps left, set aside.
    Warm the almond milk in a small saucepan until simmering, then add the mashed sweet potato, salt, cinnamon, and spice and stir well.
  2. Bring the mixture to a simmer until it starts to thicken then reduce heat to lowest setting and quickly whisk in the egg whites and pudding powder. Remove from heat and pour mixture into a serving bowl. Top with all the topping you'd like such as yogurt, berries, protein bars, or nut butters!

Notes
For the recipe without topping: Kcal: 185 Protein: 8.5 Carbs: 34 Fat:1.5

That’s great. Thanks

This looks mighty delicious! Didn't see you post a recipe so patiently awaiting that :D

Thanks @rkrijgsman! I really appreciate it.

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

hai @gringalicious..give your recipe..

Just shared it above @slempase, thanks for reading!

Wow like always thank you for sharing it looks so tasty

Thanks for sharing,, recipe.

You are very welcome @chindy!

I never would have thought of this combo, how delightful!!

What a great idea....I'm just about to eat my oatmeal now for breakfast but sweet potatoes sounds even better.

You have to try it @mprgrmmr! Definitely.

I'm not a bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70