30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Wouldn’t it be nice to have freshly baked, homemade soft pretzels everyday? Can’t you just imagine the smell and the chewy goodness that tastes so good covered in salt and dipped in cheese or mustard!

I’ve had moments that I imagined I could find some time everyday to make some and we could live the soft pretzel dream, but then I come back to reality with thoughts like “dream on!” and “fat chance!”. Yeah…um…not happening.

30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels1.jpg

Pretzels just take too long when you make them for a big family and I wouldn’t mind this if I had extra time (ha!), but let’s just say I don’t think the pretzel dream life is within my grasp.

30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels8.jpg

Now 30 minutes, that I can probably do most days. Did you know it was even possible? With some quick work and a little messiness you can have a hot pretzel 30 minutes from now. Awesome right?

30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels2.jpg

What sane person can resist the flood of Irish recipes going on right now? I’ve seen so many Irish soda bread recipes recently that I’m starting to worry if people are ditching yeast. Must. Make. Soda Bread!

30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels3.jpg

I snuck some beer into these and used part whole wheat flour because it just seemed like the Irish thing to do (sticking with the theme here). Another perk of adding the beer is that it helps create that yeasty flavor that you sort of lose when you use soda instead. So good.

30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels..jpg

I topped mine with the traditional sea salt and served with spicy mustard for dipping. A cheese sauce would be amazing with these but that would have defeated the “quick” part, but cheese is definitely a must next time. I’ll have to figure out how to work that into the 30 minute window. Another option is adding some fresh herbs to the dough (Yum!), or cinnamon and sugar (That’s something I’ve never done that would be interesting to try on a beer pretzel. I bet would be equally delicious!)

30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels0.jpg

So what are you waiting for? Just 30 minutes and you can have your very own Irish soda bread beer soft pretzels with your choice of toppings and condiments!………and if you order now we’ll throw in this handy-dandy thingamabob, a rubber duck, and a new car! (Not really. I just felt like a commercial for a moment and got carried away.)

30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels4.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and I've recently made new accounts on social media just for my Steemian friends to follow so don't forget to go follow me on all your favorites!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Nutella Popcorn Ultimate Chick-Flick Snack Mix (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Harvest Time Steak & Pumpkin Chili (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Crunchy PB Chocolate Chip Protein Bites (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Maple Pecan Pancake Cupcakes(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Thai Peanut Pad Thai Noodles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. The Best Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake Smoothie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Shredded Chicken Tacos with Strawberry Mango Salsa (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Spiced Baked Doughnuts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png

26 DAYS UNTIL I LEAVE FOR STEEMFEST!!


I HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE

30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels9.jpg

Sort:  

Recipe plz

Ingredients

3 cups whole wheat flour
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 (8-ounce) can of beer
2/3 cup milk (almond milk or water for vegan)
1 tablespoon baking soda
1/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons salt
1/4 cup baking soda
5 cups water
melted butter and course sea salt for topping (optional)
Instructions

  1. Combine baking soda and water in a medium pot and bring to a boil.
    Meanwhile, mix beer, milk, sugar, salt, and soda in a large mixing bowl. Add flour a few cups at a time and mix well after each addition. Turn dough out onto lightly floured surface.
  2. Now preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C) and line 2 baking trays with parchment or silicone pads *see note.Your soda water should be boiling by now so remove from heat when it is.
  3. Knead dough for a few minutes to develop the gluten the divide into balls, 10 for mall-size pretzels and 20 for smaller snack-size pretzels. Form the balls into snakes and twist into pretzels. Brush water on the spot where the ends meet the base and press down lightly to stick.
  4. Lay them about an inch apart on baking trays. Now dip each one in the hot soda water and place back on tray.
  5. Bake for 10 - 12 minutes until the pretzels have puffed and outside is golden.
    If desired, brush with butter and sprinkle with sea salt

Notes

I reccomend sil-pads because the parchment may stick. If using parchment it's a good idea to grease it with butter. You can also just grease a baking pan and skip any liner.

I admire your post my friend. It does not matter if I did not catch the first comment. I am glad you share delicious food. I am a mom who love cooking always follow your blog and I wish you luck. Thanks!

That's so kind @asridsyaref! Thank you so much.

I love chewy pretzels!! These look so yummy!!

Thanks @fullofhope! You're always so supportive!

Fantastic food photography as always, super well done!!

I'm thrilled you like it @noboxes

Loading...

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Um, yeah, that would be nice to have fresh pretzels every day! These look amazing!

Goooooood

I'm thrilled you like it @daljit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42