Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Okay, here it is guys, guess what?.....It’s a checkerboard cake! I mean, you probably already deduced as much but I thought I’d add some extra emphasis for good measure, you know?

Surprisingly the checkered design isn’t as difficult to create as you might be thinking. It’s actually fairly easy but that won’t change the fact that it will be something that’s sure to impress the guests. The day I made the first one of these cakes (I actually made it a few times for testing so let’s just call it “take #1”), no one could figure out how I did it.

Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (2).jpg

Hehe, this was so funny; my sister just stood and stared at the thing for the longest time before turning to me and saying “Okay, I give up. I know you didn’t just sit and cut out tiny cubes of cake to paste together, but really, how did you do it?” The kiddos thought it was pretty awesome too and I’ll admit I had way too much fun myself in making it. I’ll definitely be doing the checkered thing again.

Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (3).jpg

As for the cake itself, I’m talking about the flavor here, well it’s kind of EVERYTHING! If you haven’t jumped on the tahini bandwagon yet then I suggest you hitch a ride right now, starting with this recipe. I usually try to steer clear of majority fads for the most part, but if there was ever a trend worth following then tahini is it! It’s like peanut butter’s cousin that has been seriously under-appreciated all its life. Maybe it only seems that way to me because I’ve been one of the oblivious peanut butter loyalists not appreciating it. As you can tell from how much I’ve already used it recently, I’m planning to make up for a lifetime worth of ignorance and I’m just getting started.

Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (5).jpg

Good news though, for any of you who aren’t so into tahini or maybe just can’t get it, you can replace it with peanut butter. Yeah, that’s what I just said. For all of you reese’s lovers reading this, just imagine the glorious delight of a 4-layered cake that tastes like your favorite chocolate and peanut butter candy. I know, say WHAT!

Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (6).jpg

I had to do multiple tests to get this recipe down so I’ve already tried it both ways. I even tried a combo of peanut butter and tahini, and I’ve gotta admit that it would be a pretty close race if the two options were side by side. I pretty much want to live on a planet made of peanut butter, but then I’ve also got that major thing going on with tahini right now. Don’t you just hate those pesky love triangles?

Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (7).jpg

Anywho, you’ve really got try making a checkered cake. It’s the bomb and so much fun! If you actually are going to try it then let me mention a few tiny tid-bits before you start. Firstly, the best way to get a perfectly fitting and squared design is to use cookie cutters. That’ll give you the least amount of headache, so me being me I obviously skipped this and just eyed the cuts on my first try. The downside to that is was that I ended up having to use extra frosting in between to get it to stay together.

Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (11).jpg

Oh yeah that’s the second thing, unless you’ve got one of those nifty checkered cake pans you’ll be using frosting as a glue of sorts to hold the alternating colors together but this also helps keep the cake extra moist so it’s a win win.

Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (12).jpg

Thirdly, the decorating part is completely up to you. The recipe make enough frosting for you to have plenty of creative space to mess around and do want you want. I tried to keep it simple with the frosting job and then added a tempting rim of chocolate drip because that’s a big thing right now. (Oh man! hand to forehead moment I guess I’m not doing as well at that avoiding-the-fads thing as I thought, am I?)

BeFunky Collage.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and I've recently made new accounts on social media just for my Steemian friends to follow so don't forget to go follow me on all your favorites!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Peanut Butter M&M Jekyll & Hyde Monster Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Simple Sweet Potato Chicken Lunchplate Inspiration (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Creamy Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowl (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Homemade Good Heavens Ice Cream (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. 30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Nutella Popcorn Ultimate Chick-Flick Snack Mix (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Harvest Time Steak & Pumpkin Chili (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Crunchy PB Chocolate Chip Protein Bites (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Maple Pecan Pancake Cupcakes(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png

24 DAYS UNTIL I LEAVE FOR STEEMFEST!!


I HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE

Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake,.jpg

Sort:  

my dear ... recipe again yes

Loading...

Excellent Checkerboard, so easy when you see how to reorder existing pieces to get an excellent design. . . Now I'm off for chocolate cake. . . .

Superb!

Do you sell your food or get commissioned to make it? Or do you just make it for your family/friends and self?

You really are a professional!

From time to time, I do get professional gigs. I had to turn most of them down while I was in Chile, because 90% of the time they involved a product, for example a certain brand of Almond Milk. This product had to be included in the photos, however, it was very difficult to get the product to me in Patagonia. Since I have been back to the states, they're starting to roll in. I'll have a wrist watch campaign next month. Most gigs like these, the promoter takes ownership of the photos so I am not able to reproduce them for monetary gain.

But other than that, the majority of my food is for family which is huge.

Thanks for the awesome comment. See you soon!

Thanks for the reply.

I REALLY like you and respect your work and even MORE so your FAMILY!

Stoked to see you SOON!

SteemOn to SteemFest!

Wonderful @gringalicious ummmm delicious cake my mouth filled with water.
How much time does it take to make this delicious?

Wow, you asked twice. You must really be interested.

Mmmmm! Chocolate !!! Drooling again , you really out did yourself this time @gringalicious !! Upped and resteemed to share with my foodies in my @momskitchen food blog !! 😋😋😋💕💕💕
I Love Chocolate !!

upped and resteemed as well @gringalicious ! Great job !😋😋😋👍

Loading...

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

For someone like me who loves food and loves to cook I can appreciate how hard it is (well for me anyway) to be good at both savoury and sweet recipes. I can only cook savoury but the fact you can do both and well says a lot!

Thanks for sharing, hopefully I can do both sweet and savoury as well as you one day haha

Thanks so much for the kind words @phamished. I am so glad you stopped by and gave me a great comment!

You're welcome!

Just shared it. Thanks, my friend @rigor!

I was the first one to ask for the recipe but anyway, your'e welcome. Maybe I will try to bake that delicious cake😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86