Rhubarb Bars (not Watermelon) Indicates the Arrival of Summer Now

in #food7 years ago

I know, it used to be that watermelon was the first real sign of Summer's arrival.

But when you can buy watermelon almost year round now, Rhubarb has become the reliable indicator for us.

And these Rhubarb Bars have become my all-time favorite way to use it.
Rhubarb Bars.jpg
Slightly sweet but with that intense tart Rhubarb flavor and a great crust to give it that "chewiness", they disappear fast.
empty pan.jpg
Those were supposed to be for dessert!

The recipe I have is for 2 different sizes, but since the smaller batch only leads you to making it again sooner, I'm just going to give the larger one.

For a 10" x 15" pan (i.e. a single serving):

CRUST
2 Cups of Flour
3/4 Cup of Powdered Sugar
1 Cup of softened or melted Butter

Mix the crust ingredients and press into the pan.
Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.
The crust will be a light caramel color.

FILLING
4 Eggs
2 Cups of Sugar
1/4 Cup of Flour
1/2 teaspoon of Salt
4-5 Cups of thinly sliced Rhubarb

Stir the Eggs and dry ingredients together.
Fold in the Rhubarb and spread the filling mixture onto the hot crust.
Return to the 350 degree oven and bake for 40-45 minutes until the custard (filling) is set.

Allow to cool and cut into bars (or just grab a fork and a big glass of ice cold whole milk and dig in).

I'm going to freeze some Rhubarb while it's available so these can brighten up some gray winter day.

Enjoy.

If you like this recipe, upvote, follow, reteem and check out my blog.

Photos By @theblindsquirl

Sort:  

Those rhubarb bars look yummy! To say we have a surplus of rhubarb right now is sort of an understatement, lol! We are totally going to try your recipe!! 😊

That picture of the pan was literally taken about an hour and a half after they came out of the oven.

And they were too hot to eat for about a half hour.

If you like them I would highly recommend filling as much freezer space as you can with pre-portioned bags of sliced Rhubarb.

And then let me know whenever you make a batch, I can be there in, Oh, Idaho, never mind. ;-)

Oh my I am so sorry it's taken me so long to respond! Vacation prep and vacation have derailed me!!

Lol! I have one freezer that is full of fruit and vegetables, complete with a rhubarb section, your scrumptious looking bars shall be baked!😊

I'm suppose you'll have to let me know if you're ever in Idaho so they can be made and cooling in advance, lol!

I will definitely let you know. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55