A Bit Under this Winter Weather? Have Some Ayurvedic Bibim Naengmyeon (비빔냉면 )

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever eaten Korean noodles? When I think of the Orient the first thing that hits my head is noodles. They eat them with chopsticks. Today, am a bit under the weather so I didn't want to cook a meal that would require too much time. On days like these, I eat - noodles or salads. Today, I've decided to go for the 1st one - 비빔냉면 or Bibim Naengmyeon .

Naengmyeon or Naeng - myun means cold noodles. The noodles could be made from the normal flour, sweet potato , all sorts of noodles and rice noodles.

Originally Bibim Naeng Myeon is made from buckwheat noodles but I couldn't find one that is organic so I just used wheat flour. The sauce of the normal Bibim Naengmyeon is very spicy and I prefer it light and no dextrose or anything that's bleached sugared - free so I made my own sauce mix since I already know what it tastes like. Sugar is mucus forming specially bleached ones. This dish is normally eaten in summer because it's a cold noodle. However, I was after the effect of the ginger, chili and red onion which could relieve me from having a runny nose and perhaps get me off this fever - I got from going out at night to socialize. Temperature's -1 to -4 here at night these days. Brrrr...

You may use whatever veggies you feel like adding on your Bibim Naengmyeon but here's the reason why I've decided to put those 3 Ayurvedic ingredients in there.

Here's how to:

  • Boil the noodles according to the instruction on the package.

  • Rinse and strain.

  • Boil the eggs. Rinse, peel and cut into half.

  • While waiting for the eggs to boil, mix all the ingredients for the sauce in one bowl.

  • Slice your vegetables however you feel like doing it. Slice the onions last - remember it absorbs bacterias.

  • Arrange in the bowl, top with the egg and slices of baked seaweed and serve.

or... just mix and serve.

Enjoy!

Very easy right? Perfect for days you're under the weather.

I took each picture with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

sources:

Homemade Honey & Onion Cough Syrup
Why does eating spicy food make you sweat?
The Many Health Benefits of Sweating



HERE ARE MY OTHER RECIPE POSTS:









I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Awesome! I love Asiatic food

I absolutely love Korean dishes, especially with the noodles. My daughter in law is Korean and she introduced me to some fantastic meals. I actually had Kimche today that I had made. Love this post @englishtchrivy!

@sunscape
thank you!
your daughter in law is Korean? Lucky you really :)
they make great cook !
aw! I wish I live near you and I also love kimchi!

See how American I am, I spelled Kimchi wrong....lol

@sunscape doesn't matter :)
I misspelled many things - we understand each other that's enough :)

@anca3drandom thank you
it's not so spicy - not this time :D

the ONLY thing i dont like in asian cuisinge are those cold noodles :) first time i "go lucky trying this" was in Japan ;)

upvoted anyways as looks great!

@kingscrown - thanks
this is Korean :D

Looks so yummy, have only tried cold noodles once. Would love to try these!

@cryptofunk - thank you - it's sweet, sour and spicy plus crunchy from all the raw veggies
I gave opheliafu instead :P
if you have a post I'll be back tomorrow now time to hit the bed
must sleep early from hubby hahaha
good night to the both of you!

We had classic bibimbap earlier this week since we just got a fresh load of homemade kimchi from my buddy's grandma. I am a huge fan of bibimbap, so I want to make this now. Thanks for sharing!

@jessamynorchard -this is bibimbap and this is noodles not rice - but I guess you meant bibim naengmyeon :)
yes, I think kimchi would be very delicious with naeng myeon, too
I miss it now, I should make again :)

This look awesome - love the sauce - what could replace sambal, as I know I have as much chance of finding that here as it snowing in JULY!!
Would love to give this sauce a try

@ladypenelope1 thanks
snowing in July in Africa? really?
replacement for the sambal - fresh chili - I was just after the heat, I needed those 3 main ingredients cause the theme for this week is noodles and I needed one with ingredients that would not encourage forming more mucus

snowing in July = it never happens - so finding Sambal would be the same ...

@ladypenelope1 lol
you just need chili or cayenne - or Thai chili whatever chili they have in Africa

wow !!! that's great~~~^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81