🌟 The Magic of Flow and Why Hacks Are Bunk - Part 2 🌟

in #flow6 years ago

Magic of Flow.jpg

Flow states are something that you can train yourself to experience more and more and become quite adept at. But you can’t hack your way there you have to put in real effort. Posture always perplexed me in terms of meditation and wondered why is was so important and is it really necessary? From the perspective of posture in executing performance in sports or the arts it is part of the process of excellence. But did you know that meditation is a process that involves talent and skill also? The more you meditate the better you get at it and posture is important in this process for the same reason. And both will get you into the magic of flow and the more you do either the more you will be positioning yourself to experience flow.

In 2016 I wrote this post about the magic of flow and it’s worth taking a look at: The Magic of Flow and Why Hacks Are Bunk because true excellence requires effort. The benefits are immense though and are but not limited to: character development, self-awareness, self-transcendence, maturity, the development of good habits, creativity, inner peace, wisdom and radiating joy. Practicing your craft, meditation and with guidance from ethical teachings such as in The Eightfold Noble Path are a wonderful foundation for a happy life. Guidance from a qualified teacher in all aspects is the best investment in yourself you could ever do. The old saying “when the student is ready the teacher appears” is true because if you are not ready for transformation you will not be able to see a teacher who is right in front of you! It’s that simple. So, you can transform yourself in every way except in how you may be physically limited. And what you cannot change you can learn to accept.

girl-2940655_640.jpg

Moving Toward Excellence and Positioning Yourself For Flow

In the first essay on flow I reference above I started by paying homage to the originator of the research on flow states. I wrote:

Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, author of “Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience” says a person’s identity disappears for someone who has trained in technique in a particular field and that it takes about ten years to get to the point that you are so engrossed in what you do you seem to disappear and your hands and mind seem to work on their own while you feel ecstasy and as if you are no longer there but somehow observing everything. You are merged with the activity. He offers us a list of seven qualities of the flow state:

  1. Completely involved in what we are doing — focused, concentrated
  2. A sense of ecstasy — of being outside every day reality
  3. Great inner clarity — knowing what needs to be done, and how well we are doing.
  4. Knowing that the activity is doable — that our skills are adequate to the task
  5. A sense of serenity — no worries about oneself, and a feeling of growing beyond the boundaries of the ego
  6. Timelessness — thoroughly focused on the present, hours seem to pass by in minutes
  7. Intrinsic motivation — whatever produces flow becomes it’s own reward

Practicing, working with a teacher or a group will get you into flow as you develop new skills. It is exhilarating to master a new level of skill in an activity. Remember the day you learned how to ride a bike? I’ll never forget it! And if you don’t know how to ride a bike you and you have the good fortune to have 2 working legs, or even arms, you can still learn! Learning new things is good for your brain and has a positive effect of your neuroplasticity. And trying something that challenges your mind, like playing an instrument, has particularly wonderful benefits:

By taking on mentally challenging skills, we can potentially capitalise upon neuroplasticity to strengthen existing connections in the brain, or even forge new connections. ~ Muireann Irish, Associate Professor from Sydney University's School of Psychology and Brain and Mind Centre

hug-3110806_640.jpg

Getting to that new level or acquiring a new skill after some effort forges new pathways in the brain. We can learn about flow to optimize and position ourselves to see potential for it more often and find new ways to create it which empowers us and is good for our brain! I learned this from reading the wonderful information from The Flow Centre website which is based on evidenced-based scientific research and they emphasize experiential learning so I was stoked to find them! Some of what they teach is:

Step 1 – Flow Mindset
In order to find flow frequently, we must first fundamentally change the way in which we think to be aligned with an autotelic personality. By understanding the nuances of flow, we empower our mind and body to find flow in new experiences.
Step 2 – Manage the Experience
In preparation for a specific event, the management of mind and body is key to finding flow. Our perspective, emotions and thoughts all play a determining role in our ability to thrive in the moment.
Step 3 – Total Immersion
In the moment, we have the power to either limit our ability, through endeavouring to consciously control the experience, or to maximise our ability, by trusting our innate capabilities.

Learn something that brings you joy and add to your brain health and well-being. Sounds good to me!

meditation-2214532_640.jpg

Emotional Regulation, Meditation and Flow

A study was conducted by Harvard University affiliated Massachusetts General Hospital and confirmed by other studies (see study link for details) that an 8 week meditation program had the effect of activating the right side of the amygdala which regulates emotional response. Brain scans showed that even when the participants were not mediating the activity was still present and this is the area of the brain that controls responses to stress.

When you are meditating you are learning the skill of mindfulness by noticing the thoughts then focusing either on an object of meditation like your breath or in my case I focus on the space between thoughts which I found to be a better method for me although occasionally I will return to the breath. This trains the brain to not be immersed in thought and optimizes you to find opportunities to cultivate and experience flow!

I would love to hear about your experiences with flow and if you dont feel like maybe you have experienced it if you feel inspired to try. I will be talking more about this as I update my current skills, challenge myself and hopefully get into some more flow states.

What do you think?

50 percent bio.jpg
@soulsistashakti is a musical artist and writer based in NYC as well as a practitioner of Buddhist teachings. You can check out my music on my FB artist page at https://www.facebook.com/soulsistashakti

Recent Posts

Creative Problem Solving Through Meditation
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You – Part 1
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You Part 2 - The Noble Eightfold Path - Right View
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You Part 3 - The Noble Eightfold Path - Right Thought
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You Part 4 - The Noble Eightfold Path - Right Speech
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You Part 5 - The Noble Eightfold Path – Right Action
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You Part 6 - The Noble Eightfold Path – Right Livelihood
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You Part 7 - The Noble Eightfold Path – Right Effort
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You Part 8 – The Noble Eightfold Path – Right Mindfulness
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You Part 9 – The Noble Eightfold Path – Right Concentration
Making Mindfulness Meditation Work For You – The Noble Eightfold Path Part 10 – Ethics, Compassion and Wisdom
Meditation and Buddhism - What is Compassion?
Meditation and Buddhism - What is Compassion? - Part 2 - The Three Poisons
Meditation and Buddhism – What is Compassion? – Part 3 – Toward Ourselves
Meditation and Buddhism – What is Compassion? – Part 4 – Toward Our Loved Ones
Meditation and Buddhism – What is Compassion? – Part 5 – Toward People To Whom We Feel Neutral
Meditation and Buddhism – What is Compassion? – Part 6 – Toward People With Whom We Have Conflicts
Meditation and Buddhism – What is Compassion? – Part 7 – Toward All Sentient Beings

Meditation and Buddhism – The Fascinating and Awesome Power of Om Mani Padme Hum
The Enchanting Tibetan Buddhist Spiritual Technology of Prayer Wheels - Om Mani Padme Hum

Sort:  

meditation is the best way in my opinion. 👍👍👍
because with it will feel more relaxed and load lost. so cool 👍👍👍👍 @soulsistashakti

Thank you. Meditation is the best thing one can do for one's well being.

thank you, I've tried it several times, ite like you say, it's very nice, as if we no longer have problems in life ... your post is very useful for people who have not tried it.
did you ever meditate? @saulsitashakti

I meditate every day. I am a Buddhist.

oh .. your face looks happy, apparently you are a devout Buddhist 👍
does a buddhist have to do it every day? @saulsistashakti

Yes that is the idea. I have written a lot about Buddhism and the science behind meditation. Meditation eventually can remove negative habitual patterns.

you are an expert in the field of meditation, yes I will read your post about meditation, this is a new science for me, thank you @soulsistashakti

I am a student of meditation and Buddhism :). I share knowledge that I want to get better at that has been around for thousands of years. Plus, recent scientific research.

I have never done any meditation, but after reading your post I feel interested to follow this meditation. adan is very remarkable about this. @soulaistashakti

That's great to hear!

Thank you very much.

I think that meditation is a union of the soul, but I have never done it before. I am interested in your post. hopefully i can do it @soulsistashakti

I recommend looking on youtube for instruction in Buddhist meditation.

he is absolutely right, I have to watch it and do the meditation, thanks for recommending me to learn meditation

in our school is also always taught to meditate before learning, use to focus more in learning @saulsistashakti

Your post very good.

I have applied medetation. many benefits by medetation among others clear and calm mind. but for a new try it would be hard in emptying his mind. thanks for sharing @soulsistashakti

Yes, on the rare day something happens and I miss my mediation I am really feeling it by afternoon. It's the best thing I ever did for myself.

I agree with you @soulsistashakti.
thank you :)

meditation in my opinion is very unique, just by sitting quietly, can produce extraordinary calm, I never try it when in taught in practice.

and the results are stunning @soulsistashakti

i do it like the @aneukbawang do.
is there another way to meditate? @soulsistashakti

I used to meditate until I was possessed, I thought maybe because our mind is empty and easy to enter the spirits @soulsistashakti

I personally don't believe in spirits or possession but I'm sorry you had a bad experience. Whatever it was doesn't sound like it was pleasant.

maybe he does not focus in meditation, or he is daydreaming instead of meditation 👍

ha ha. so need to learn the same people who really understand the procedures of meditation, how to make the mind focus, empty things that can interfere with concentration.
I think the person who understands it is @soulsistashakti

The most simple way I can explain is to focus on the space between the thoughts in your mind. When you get distracted either come back to that space or it that seems elusive come back to your breath. With practice the time with the space between thoughts gets longer and longer and that is where real progress takes place.

Benefits of Meditation
You must know the late Steve Jobs, Former CEO of Apple Inc. If you ever read his biography or watched a movie about his life. There you will find that in the process of making his company Steve is greatly helped by his meditation.
1.With meditation we can add health.

  1. give a brilliant idea.
  2. make life brighter.
  3. make us more unaffected by the circumstances, for example you are not easy 5. triggered to be angry to people on the streets.
  4. Increase your memory power.
  5. Energize your life. And many others.
    @soulsistashakti

@srizal I wholly agree. One thing to understand, though. Meditation absolutely helps with focus. But if it is not taken with ethical instruction it can lead you to not develop true compassion for others. While I have been a user of Apple products for over 25 years as a musical artist I am not an iPhone user and never will be. I don't think the exorbitant prices and the way people go crazy for them all over the world, poor people, I wouldn't say Steve Jobs was the most compassionate man. Actually he had a reputation for being rather cold hearted.

I have written a lot about the importance in my life to follow the Eightfold Noble Path of Buddhism which is ethical instruction and leading to ethical actions and along with meditation.

Time for me to meditate right now :)

I am proud of you, you are a big soul that I meet, hopefully your dream is always achieved and always be a successful person, hopefully we can be friends @soulsistashakti

Thank you and the same to you.

You are welcome. permit me follow @soulsistashakti and do not forget in follow back and upvote me

If you want people to upvote your posts you should concentrate on creating quality content. That is how Steemit works. My posts take me several hours each 3 times a week, generally. So, in the little bit of free time I spend on Steemit I am looking for quality posts. Asking people to follow you and upvote you is frowned upon.

thanks for the advice, i will do as you say

Super interesting! For me I am in flow when I lose all track of time and get immersed in something and feel a sense of peace.

That's exactly it :)

There seems to be a lot of overlap between the concept of flow, mindfulness and mental fitness in that we activate and engage different aspects of our mind and intelligence to heighten our mental state. I have been reading quite a few really good posts (including this one) from people on Steemit, and I would love to be able to discuss some of these concepts and ideas further. Perhaps there should be a Discord group? :)

Hi :) Thank you for reading and commenting. Yes, they are all related which is why I'm interested in each subject :)

That sounds like a great idea for people who have time for it. I usually post 3 times a week and each post takes 5-6 hours. Then I have my career I have to attend to so I can't add anything else to my plate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33