# CrossFit Open 18.4 #

in #fitness7 years ago

Fittest On Earth

The Games

The CrossFit Games is the Olympics of the CrossFit world, where arguably the fittest athletes in the world compete each July to be crowned the “fittest man/woman” alive. They must first, however, qualify at Regionals in one of the 18 Regions across the globe. But, to complete at Regionals, you must first qualify in the Open, five workouts released across five weeks. THIS is Week 4! Source

Live Announcement 18.4

This week's Live Announcement of 18.4 can be viewed on YouTube by clicking below:



In this Live Open Announcement two consistent Crossfit stars, Scott Panchik and Bjurgvin Karl Gudmundsson (a.k.a. BKG) went head-to-head.

This was an evenly matched face-off with Panchik placing in the top 6 for the last five years at the Crossfit Games and BKG never lower than top 10, after a slow start in his rookie year in 2014.

BKG has aspirations of being the first European male on the podium since 2009’s champion, Miko Salo. While Panchik holds the title for competing in the most Live Open Announcements of any male athletes; however, standing on the podium of the Crossfit Games eludes him as well.

Both of these athletes showed they have what it takes in the high-skill, heavy workout. But, Panchik’s pacing and strength down the stretch, never hesitating in the Handstand walk, positioned him solidly ahead of BKG in this matchup.

Catch Up

Hopefully, you’ve read the previous weeks’ posts, introducing the CrossFit Open and 18.1, 18.2 as well as 18.3. If not, you absolutely don’t want to miss the FINAL Live Announcement of the 2018 Open on Facebook this Thursday night at 7:00 CST. It will be EPIC, with the “Dottir’s” in a three-way showdown! Then, follow up with my Results post on this blog to see how I ended up faring.


Follow Along

Personally, 18.1 and 18.2 were not strong performances for me, which you can read about in my Week 1 Results and Week 2 Results. Week 3 allowed me to hold steady, which you can check out here.

18.4

The Workout


1DC59DC0-7FBA-4D66-99B4-4F7A12192217.jpeg
Source


What The What?

Let me decipher...18.4 is a combination of a benchmark workout called Diane (one of the Girl WODs Crossfit is famous for) and a second workout involving a never-before-seen-in-the-Open movement—the Handstand Walk!

Here’s how it works, you have 9 minutes to complete 21 Deadlifts (DL), 21 Handstand Push-ups (HSPU), 15 DL, 15 HSPU, 9 DL, 9 HSPU. THEN, with a heavier bar complete 21 DL, a 50’ Handstand Walk, 15 DL, a 50’ Handstand Walk, 9 DL and one last 50’ Handstand Walk.

Movement Standards

This demo video from YouTube, clearly explains the movement standards and gives you a visual of what the workout should look like:



Source


Complaints

There was a new standard for the HSPU this year that caused a lot of grumbling. If you train with this standard of excellence in your HSPU, it was not a problem at all. However, many folks had to adjust their hand placement, keep an active shoulder, and stay lengthened through the spine to achieve the standard—things they were not accustomed to and which held them back.

My Results

I was one such athlete. My grip width was too wide, making each repetition a huge struggle to achieve the standard. I was only able to eek out 10 HSPU before the cap. It truly makes you appreciate the level of Fitness the top-tier Crossfitters attain.


976AAD43-A9B1-4D34-90B8-8130C50E6555.jpeg
Photo used with permission of Gavin Grote


Although my performance was NOT one for the record books, it did allow me to move up the leaderboard. It looks like the new standard wreaked havoc on more than just me.


61DE5DFF-0E5A-43FD-96FE-AF45F6DF3452.jpeg


I hope you'll continue to follow along as I share the final weeks workout and my results...and see where I finish 2018 on the leaderboard!


Thanks,
Coach JJ


All information was sourced from this Crossfit video

Hi Friends! Thanks For Reading!


received_1828048737268297.jpeg


Hi! My name is Coach JJ and I've been coaching and inspiring athletes to better health and fitness for over five years! I'm a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer at CrossFit Edwardsville in Edwardsville, IL, USA. But, my vision is to bring together the Fitness Community on Steemit in order to have a greater impact on improving the health and fitness of our fellow Steemians.

I'm also a mother of two teens and a self-defined “spicy, sassy Christ-follower” who posts about my personal journey, but loves all those on any journey. Feel free to check out my intro post, get inspired on your fitness journey, or ponder on my faith-based posts. If any of this connects with you, follow me and say Hello!

Happy Steeming,
Coach JJ


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

That's a straight up beast of a workout! That's awesome to just get out there and do what you can do. Everyone is at different levels, but it doesn't mean you can't join in and give it a go to see what you are made of!

That’s right! Do what you can. Push outside your comfort zone a bit. That’s how I roll ;)

Thanks for this insight into the lifting world I did not know before @coachjj. That is massive that you can even try but to compete like this is amazing. I get dizzy even thinking about it.

From,

@mineopoly

Thanks @mineopoly! I love it and grateful I can participate. But, truly, it’s scalable so ANYONE can compete! Even you ;)

Side note: I consciously chose to abandon the 100 Days of Poetry Challenge :( I enjoyed it. I grew from it, but I couldn’t keep up. It was stressing me out. So had to trim some stuff, and that got trimmed. How’s it going for you?

Do post what you like to post @coachjj. You don't have to do one hundred days of poetry. That is not creative if it doesn't fit you. I actually don't have time enough in a day to make two posts so if I make a post about something I will add a poem at the bottom. I don't know how I can do 90 more days of it. I am running into all kinds of strange poems. Life is busy and we are not our blog. The blog is just a small reflection of who we are. I am fighting against a lot just to be here and say a few words. I thought when I figured myself out and made a couple good friends and started posting then it would be easier but it never is easy. Now mineopoly has almost 500SP. I thought at this point I would be really happy to begin to post freely and find an audience. But some days I am forcing myself to post. The morning routine is very serious for me. I am tempted to check my cell phone or log into the computer before reading the Bible or doing any kind of exercise. I'm excited when I promote a post and a lot of people comment. If I don't promote a post on discord or upvote it with a bot then no one takes much notice. I kind of like that too sometimes. It is a way to keep posting and still have low stress. I guess what I am saying as once you get into a community in Steemit it really is not so easy to get out. It's not easy to stop posting and not easy just take a break.

Thanks for keeping up:)

@mineopoly

I totally relate to all of this. It’s kinda nice to know I’m not alone in this struggle. I just try to give myself grace. And to refocus what’s important right now. Keep priorities straight. And keep my connections here. When I feel disconnected to people on Steemit, my enthusiasm wanes. I’m thankful for you and your posts. Keep your morning routine first and let everything else fall into place.

Have a beautiful day :)

Thanks. First is first.

sooooooooooomedayyyyyyyyyyy. i will be awesome like this!!!! LOLOL

handstand walk. oh my gosh - my dream is to do this thing called the zombie press....

i have to show it to you. its so amazing...

but...I'm here on official pirate business ;)

remember on March 1 when I said I was gonna celebrate my 500th follower with all of the PYPT people who pimped their post that day?

I didn't forget ;) I was just out of the country for some time! hehehe now i'm back and tip! simple
enjoy!!!!!! :)

(by the way - the tip service seems to be lagging tonight - so hopefully it will be in your wallet by tomorrow morning!)

Thanks @dreemsteem! I love you— your joy, your generosity. You’re awesome!

And I HAVE to see this zombie press!

Hi @coachjj! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Congratulations @coachjj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81