fiftywords stories: Round-up and Theme for Weekdays 4: ZOO

fiftywords-red.png

Week four already! I had to check my calendar just to see if that was right. The weeks just seem to fly by. I hope you've all been keeping to your New Year's resolutions! No? Me neither.

A big thank you to everyone who found the time to join-in with the "Crime" genre - or who added a story of their own inspiration. We had a whole spectrum of crimes over the week-end: from cookie-theft to kidnapping, robbery and a crow of murders. And we had some wonderful ideas that would make great crime novels too: Who investigates a crime in a city with no crime? And a body hidden inside a snowman!

I did particularly like "The Cookie Thief" from @pyrowngs - a very sweet story and extra points for being exactly fifty words!
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@pyrowngs/my-fifty-words-story-weekend-genre-crime

I also though that the story "Cemetery" by @whitewizard fit the feel of the Crime genre really well - plenty of darkness and vengeance and the promise of action to follow:
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@whitewizard/cemetery-my-entry-for-miniature-tiger-s-fifty-words-contest

But there were many great stories - I really was spoilt for choice!


Our numbers have swelled again over the week-end. Please welcome the following authors to our ranks:
@awhsarada, @enjar, @isa93, @korfiatis, @mydivathings,
@pixiehunter, @weirdgoose, and @whitewizard!
Visit their blogs to see what they're about or catch their stories on the fiftywords tag.

And as always a congratulatory round of applause and pat on the back for all of you who have joined in so far. At the end of weekend three we’ve now stormed up to one hundred and sixty-six original stories and we've been joined by fifty-five amazing authors - past the half century mark!

As we move onwards through time, I'll drop off authors who haven't written for a couple of weeks. No slight is meant, I'm just trying to tread the line between making it easy for you to find each other and annoying people endlessly by referencing their username. So here's the revised list if you want to visit your fellow fiftyworders!

@ahmadmanga, @authorofthings, @awhsarada, @belemo, @bentheredonethat, @birchmark, @busdriver, @calluna, @charlesmackenzie, @chidiarua, @deirdyweirdy, @elementm, @ellievallie, @enjar, @felt.buzz, @gonzo, @greycrasan, @hannihealth, @isa93, @jayna, @jrhughes, @korfiatis, @lonestarpoet, @metzli, @miniature-tiger, @mydivathings, @navaneeth, @niallon11, @not-a-bird, @pixiehunter, @preparedwombat, @pyrowngs, @saoirseronan, @saryn, @someoneusual, @spalatino, @sukhasanasister, @svarozich, @sweetjoy, @thechosenwhan, @therosepatch, @tibra, @tin-tin, @vaitelavicius, @weirdgoose, @whitewizard, @yadah04, and @yomibolo.

I've generated this list automatically - although I do believe I've read every story!
If I've missed you off, sorry! It's no slight, you're just sneaking through the cracks in my query - I didn’t get any complaints last week so hopefully it’s working Just let me know if it isn’t; it would be helpful to me too.


The new fiftywords theme for weekdays four is "ZOO". Plenty of scope here, whether you want to go literally or laterally - I look forward to seeing what your imaginations come up with!

I'll round up again on Friday with the weekend theme (No I will! I will! Getting this train back on track!) I will also be happily resteeming one of the stories I like best and no doubt I will be offering some of my small upvotes as encouragement.

Thanks for reading everyone and good luck with your stories!

—-

If you would like to join in, particularly if you're new to the platform, or recently returned, and looking for somewhere to start, please do! Just post your story with the "fiftywords" tag. You can follow the theme or simply take your inspiration where you find it. The only unbreakable(!) rule is to keep it to fifty words - ideally fifty on the nose - and also try and produce a complete and contained scene, moment, or story. In a future post I'll try and put some thoughts together as to what I think makes a good fiftywords story. But everyone will have their own ideas and all are welcome!

Sort:  

Here is: My Story 😊

Two stories for the price of one!

I didn't realize the other one ended so I just dumped my last two crimes stories lol

btw I added a link to your blog into the contest section on all my posts.

Thank you @gonzo! And don't worry about adding new stories late. I still need to get around to my fiftywords for the time theme!

Ohhh, how the heck did I miss this? Ok, time for my fingers to get to cracking or typing anyway. 50 words here I come.

Here is mine, that I yet again forgot to link to. Someday I will remember lol. I just get excited coming up with them. https://steemit.com/fifthywords/@pixiehunter/zoo-tales-fiftyword-story-zoo

Yikes, caught my typo on the tag. "Bites finger for mistake."

Well, you've made it to the top of trending in fifthywords!

Oh sweet. :-) I have such a huge grin right now. :-)

Here’s my “zoo” post. It’s a little kooky. 😄

https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@jayna/getting-to-know-you

Thanks for the new theme!
Also here is my entry.

Nice work @vaitelavicius! That monkey has my camera skills!

Oh, wow! Thanks @miniature-tiger, I'm so glad you loved my last entry! 😃
This is my entry for the 'Zoo' weekday challenge: The Lost Saviour

I loved this one too! It reminded me of Narnia.

Uhm... perhaps I should make a little confession here. I actually just finished rereading all seven Narnia books before the challenge theme came up! :D I'm sure that influenced my story very much.
I wrote another, based on the same theme... hope that's not against the rules of the challenge?
Here it is: Ten Thousand Years Later...

Hope you like this too! Fingers crossed!

You may write as many stories as you wish! I'll head over and check it out.

That's a real challenge! I'll see if I can craft one. Good luck to the writers!

Please do @wandrnrose7! The more the merrier!

Thank you so much for the mention! And, oooh! I like this Zoo theme! I used to volunteer at the Santa Barbara Zoo when I was a teenager, so I have some stories! :) These stories are gonna be fun to read!!

Great amazing idea @miniatue-tiger . Let me clear one thing the concept of the #fiftywords story is precisely we complete our discussion, our journey, inspiration or whatever we think in 50 words or just we discussed the issue here regarding the topics like "ZOO" for this week. Will you little elaborate me as am new here? Thank you @miniature-tiger

Hey @peace-seeker. The idea is to come up with a complete story (or scene - or perhaps a complete thought or idea expressed as a story ) in ideally exactly fifty words. It's fiction rather than comment and debate.

Hope that helps!

olrite @miniature-tiger now I got exactly what the #fiftywords philosophy and now soon you will see my post in your contest :) thanks for your kind response dear !!!

Good to see how fast this is growing. Just goes to show what a good format that it is to write with.

Yes @niallon11 it's going great guns!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44