Dreamscapes & Heartbreaks: Dream 859

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

dream859.jpg

Tunnels… I am always heading into tunnels, heading out of tunnels, or heading through tunnels. There is a tunnel that comes out into wilderness. There is a paved road that comes out of the tunnel with wooden buildings dotted along it. Beyond this area are the wooden docks of the city. I’m normally with other people when I am exploring this tunnel section. Leaving through this tunnel exit back to the city during night is always scary. I normally run. I’ve ran during the day as well when I have been alone. This time I was with other people and we were exploring the wooden houses. There wasn’t much to see or find. Eventually we were in the tunnel system exploring. I never go too deep, always trying to stick close to the surface and near the light. Old metal machinery and metal constructs populate these tunnels.

I was with a friend and I thought I saw someone I knew in the tunnels on a platform. I ran over to him, but it was not him. It just looked like him. This person was with a family of people who all looked like him. All of them wore trench coats and horn-rimmed glasses. My friend ran around a big metal machine and began to play with two young teen versions of him. As I walked around to join them I saw that they had placed my friend in a barrel on wheels. The barrel slowly moved across the platform. I could only see his head poking out. He had a blunt in his mouth. The smoke from it floated upwards. I ran over and we played with the kids, pretending to fight each other. On the other side of this platform around the big metal machine was another dimly lit platform which led to a dark tunnel. I saw something floating down the tunnel. It had a black cloak. It was a wraith, a creature that lives in the darkness. It might see us at any moment. So I made a quick plan, and told the kids to back off. I walked into the darkness where the wraith could see me. As it floated towards me I slowly moved back. It hastened and so I ran. The lights were now dim on all platforms. The entrance back to the platform had been blocked by a barrel. I ran and jumped over the barrel. I turned to watch half expecting/hoping the wraith would stumble comically over the barrel. But it floated right through it. It had me within reach and so hastened with its arms outstretched. Everyone else was on the other side of the big metal machine.

“Now!” I shouted.

I ran towards the wraith and as the lights came on I drop kicked it. I did not have to dramatically kick it. The beaming lights would destroy it, but I had to make sure the cloak would not protect it. I could have done a lot of things but I wanted the satisfaction of having not been afraid and fighting this creature head on. As I fell to the ground, the now empty black cloak fell with me. I heard the sound of something metallic hit the concrete platform floor. The wraith had dropped a ring. I picked it up and placed it on my finger. I could feel the touch of it as it slid down my finger into place. It fit perfectly…
I could never bring myself to wonder where these dark creatures came from.

I was now outside, alone in the reddish wasteland area. I was searching for more tunnels to explore. The tunnels out here were not as deep or as dark. It made a change from the clusterphobic-inducing dark tunnels. Some people lived out here so I had to be careful not to barge into anyone’s home. In no time I found an entrance to one tunnel. These tunnels were big holes that went down, somewhat like dry wells with carved out rooms. This hole went about fifteen metres down. There was a wooden ladder fastened into the wall. I descended. The tunnel was not very dark and broke off into two corridors. Light easily made its way in from above. This tunnel was inhabited. I immediately got into a fight with someone who lived down here. He was a big man and punched the wall beside my head several times to let me know he was going to fight me. I just stood there as he smacked the wall, crumbling it with his fist. After I accepted, the fight didn’t last long. I showed him my moves and responded to his and then we stopped. It was just this person’s way of saying hello.

I met a girl in this tunnel. I didn’t know her, but we talked and got to know each other. I could feel her touch. We lay together for some time lost in bliss. I didn’t want to leave. I never do.



To be continued...

@RiskDebonair
Irish Writer, Poet, & Lover

Previously

Dream 8
Dream 7
Dream 6
Dream 589
Dream 5
Dream 4
Dream 3
Dream 2
Dream 1
The Dream Before the First Dream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58110.30
ETH 2687.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30