Dreamscapes & Heartbreaks: Dream 589

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

I was in that same world. It’s a recurring one. I never mention this one because nothing out of the ordinary ever happens there, apart from a few incidents of ghosts which I normally try to avoid. This world is probably the most real world, but it is a world that has not yet happened. It is a beautiful world with destroyed cities. There are many left over tunnels which are still in use for travel. I’m often travelling through these tunnel systems to get from place to place. There is a city which I frequent. It is new, clean, and futuristic. Outside the city the wilderness is just left to grow. The city has a nice downtown area. I was in a law firm at one point. I can’t remember why. I might have been meeting someone. The docks are beautiful. They have that nice wooden sunny feel. The shopping district is where many tunnels intersect. I normally come out in this district when coming through tunnels. Deep down in the sewers there are deep tunnels with things down there. I have been down once or twice before, but I always get out fast. Other tunnels lead out towards underneath the hills. Beyond the hills are beautiful forests… somewhere I’ve only been once… when I met a former lover haunting my dreams.

My dreams of this world are never chronological. In some I am armed. In others the world is less violent. I have a house that I inherited on the hills, but it is haunted, and so I have never fully explored it. I normally avoid going there and instead go for a trek up the hill to get a beautiful view of the massive growing wilderness. I like to go on long walks in this area as it always fills me to look at the expanding forest… memories of another year.

Many festivals are had down in the cliff beaches of this world. I’m always weary of water level change, and of beasts in the ocean. It’s a large world. I’m often with groups of people; always working towards surviving better. The tunnels lead to some interesting places and sometimes we get lucky and find loot. There is always a danger that hangs in the air, but we remember our training and always remain safe. This world had hardened us. But I’ve never been a fan of ghosts…

I had finally decided to get rid of the ghosts that haunted my place. There was just one left. The group of friends who were helping me decided to take a break. The last ghost was in the basement. I was impatient as always. I insisted that the group hurry up and we take care of this last ghost.

“Come on! We’ve just gotten rid of so many ghosts. Why don’t you get the last ghost yourself if you’re in a hurry?” he said as he threw me the flashlight.

We hadn’t yet got the basement lights on.

I could see that they were getting ready to take this last ghost down, so I said “Yeah. I’ll do it.”

I was afraid. But I was impetuous as always. I opened the basement door. I aimed the flashlight down and saw something move. Out of fear I jerked and threw the flashlight down the stairs.

“Oh god!” I whispered under my breath as I turned to the group.

“Woops! I dropped the flashlight” I said while comically shrugging to make light of the situation.

I was safe with them here. So I bluffed. No one could tell how scared I was. I looked down into the basement.

“Hey! Throw me up my flashlight and I’ll come down there!” I coolly shouted with false confidence.

I was hoping the ghost would not understand. And then the lights to the basement turned on. I saw the ghost. It was wearing a mechanics’ uniform. The basement was a garage. I had known that I had a garage door, but I did not know my garage was so spacious! I just had to get rid of this ghost… and then the mechanic ghost did something unexpected. It picked up the flashlight and threw it upstairs.

“Looks like he’s taken your challenge!” one of my friends joked.

“Alright then!” I said.

I pretended to have no fear as I grabbed a nearby hammer and ran downstairs. The ghost had disappeared and reappeared at the back of the spacious garage. I slowly walked towards it as it walked towards me and picked up a long trowel. I saw my friends running downstairs saying that a hammer wouldn’t be able to take it. They were right. The ghost had reach with that long trowel.

I thought I was fucked but with adrenaline pumping I shouted “fuck it! I’ll take this shit bag!”

I was uncharacteristically swearing lots because of my immense fear of ghosts. There was a long metal pole lying on some old fertilizer bags. I threw my hammer with minimal force at the ghost and shrugged, like I didn’t give a shit. Pretending not to be scared was all I cared about. I turned my back on the ghost as I picked up the metal pole. Then I immediately moved in to attack the ghost like a madman. This was honestly the stupidest way to deal with a ghost. But I did not want to seem scared. So I fenced it. It was the long trowel against my metal pole. I overmastered the hell out of that ghost with my adrenaline-from-deathly-fear fuelled body as my friends rushed in. I screamed and shouted at the ghost as I gave it a flurry of attacks. The mechanic ghost tried to retreat into a large printer and into the electric mains, but I smashed the living daylights out of that printer. The guys cheered me for taking the last ghost. My heart was racing, and I did not believe that doing any of this had helped with my fear of ghosts. I had proven myself, yet I felt scared out of my mind.

Then a man in a suit approached me and said “Hey! You’ve destroyed my printer!”

“What?” I questioned.



To be continued...

@RiskDebonair
Irish Writer, Poet, & Lover

Previously

Dream 5
Dream 4
Dream 3
Dream 2
Dream 1
The Dream Before the First Dream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12