Viento

in #art7 years ago

boy flying through clouds

Wallpaper inspired by @jedau's novel A Day in the Clouds, specifically a scene in chapter 9 described thus:

I concentrated my viento on my feet and catapulted myself into the stratosphere. I spun in place, trying to accumulate the heavy winds that blew high above.

Although I made it concentrate in his hands and uplift him with spirally winds partly because it was fun and that's how I'd done the pose originally (because that's what was in my head) and mostly because it's been a while since I read that chapter :S

I was a bit slack with the progress shots as I find Windows very grating to work with (I'm back home on Christmas Island visiting my family so I'm using my Surface Pro 4; gorgeous machine, too bad about the operating system which I loathe).

wip03

wip02

wip01

This was amusingly quicker than I'm used to for these kinds of pieces, there's a lot to be said for one character and simple background XD


This post also appears on my blog.

Follow @jedau and read A Day in the Clouds!

love fyn

Patreon | ArtStation | deviantART | Weasyl | Wysp | Picarto

Sort:  

OH WOW! :O I am speechless! This was completely unexpected, and I was surprised when I saw the title pop up in my feeds. This is amazing!! I am so grateful for this my friend! :'D

Even on vacation you still managed to pull this one out splendidly! Hands down my favorite of yours to date, and maybe for a long time. This is exactly how I envisioned his powers function! I really like the spiral viento enveloping the body. To me, it felt like it gave an added depth to the piece that made it seem like it's moving. I love the details you put into this, I could really see his clothes fluttering in the wind. This perfectly captures the essence of the story, and suffice to say, this will be used in every chapter from here on out!

This really brought tears to my eyes, my friend. Thank you from the bottom of my heart :D I've already sent this to my cousin, but she has yet to reply. I'm sure she'll have the same reaction! This really made my week!

I am so glad you like it :D

I have a wallpaper sized (2560x1440) version (because I usually work in those dimensions as everything I make is potentially a wallpaper, I'm not very exciting XD) which I can shoot to you on Discord if I can catch you on there (if you go on there anymore) and if you want.

ps - vacation is when I get a lot of art done as my partner is not working ;)

Very much so! Looking forward to it :D

This is nice. Very nice!

Thanks! ^_^

Hi my friend!
I voted and subscribed to your page!

with love @andrianna

Hi, thanks ^_^ I like your art and photos, followed you back :)

That's awesome that you used @jedau's power word for Ledd, one I'm also quite enamored with as I've told him! As well as putting the guy in the clouds, this is really cool stuff @ryivhnn!

Thanks! ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44