Dungeon and Steem game is here! REGISTRATION AND RULES

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

The time has come! DnS is here. My thanks go to all the users who have spread the word about the project. At the same time I want to apologize to those, on whose channels I have been promoting it without being able to draw their attention. Anyway the calling was super effective! It has reached over 130 users that showed their interest in either playing, viewing or supporting the contest. I haven’t imagined such a number even in my wildest dreams. GL HF guys, let’s get started.

Source

About the game

DnS is my humble try to transform the overall experience of DnD onto this platform. Even after all the testing in “Closed beta version” I can never be sure whether things will work how I anticipate. The first season will basically be some kind of “Open beta version”. The lore of the game is the one from my book. The world with its characters will be present in this game as well as the first book of my saga that is currently under construction. (Off topic: When I finish the book in my mother tongue, I will try to translate it and publish it here on Steemit, so if you are interested in that too stay in touch…that will take a loooot of time though). The players will take control of the main characters from the book. They will have to try to do the best decisions, survive, do their job and pursue their dreams. Will they survive? Will they fulfil their goals? It’s up to you to form their destiny…  


Game rules

source

Basics

Every parallel dimension will have one Human, Elf, and Orc in it. That means you guys can interact with each other if you manage to find yourself (note: do NOT try to interact with other player if you do not share known language!). When all dimensions finish their action plans and engagements the round ends. Maximum amount of parallel dimensions is set to 6. If all the dimensions will be active, I will give you all 2 DAYS to lock in the action plan. After all plans are locked in I will have UP TO 3 DAYS to prepare all the events. Then you will have 1 DAY to finish your engagement plan (if you are not in engagement you skip this part and wait for next round) and I will have 2 DAYS to finish the round and prepare next round. In early stages it should take much less for all of us to do our parts, but the more individual storylines branch out, the more time will be needed to prepare those events (if significant part of players die out early this will not be the case but for the sake of lot of good stories I hope this will not happen). Whoever reaches 300 points first wins! Everyone starts at 0. Whoever reaches -50 is automatically disqualified from the game. If anyone reaches 200 points threshold in 10 or less rounds I will increase points needed to win to 400 or 500 (I want AT LEAST 15 turns to happen and have no way how to test it). If no one reaches 100 points by the end of 10th turn I will lower them to 200 or 250. As I stated above the first season of my DnS game will be something like “Open beta”. The current beta testing is helping me to adjust all the numbers in the game, but I feel like we will need to run through one whole season to really balance everything out!

Rewards

I don’t have any Steem to support the game, so I will give away half of all the generated Steem. 1/10 of generated Steem will go to last standing representative of every specie (that means 3/10 of all Steem generated). Whoever reaches amount of points needed for victory will receive additional 1/5 of the generated Steem (that means 3/10 for a winner and I sincerely hope that there will be one!). Plus thanks to @papa-pepper we will have a special jackpot in the game! Whoever makes the best plan throughout the game will win all the Steem that will be generated by his promo article (if it would be too much I might relocate a portion to the global reward pool)!

Awarding points

Any positive minor step towards your goal, or just doing your job, will grant you 1-5 points, significant step 10-20, and a huge success will grant you 50 points. There are several milestones for every character in the game. The first representative to reach such a milestone will receive 10-50 points. If more representative reach the milestone in the same round the points will be divided. Furthermore, if I find details of your plan clever or good I will give you 1-5 points. If you act accordingly to your characters attributes I will give you 1-5 points too. But if I deem your plan discordant with physics or your characters attributes I will remove points according to magnitude of your culpability. Winning or losing a fight will grant you +/- points accordingly to strength of your enemy. Points received for every round will be presented at the beginning of the following round. I will only reveal the complete number, so the rest of the players do not know what specifically is or is not being rewarded (the point is to force every player to do the decisions they deem necessary, not follow a tree of “high-value-decision”).

Character’s stats and improvement

Every character will have following attributes and abilities. Strength, Intelligence, Agility, Speed, Charismatics, Luck, Endurance, known Spells, Fighting experience and known Languages and Abilities (passive). Furthermore, everything but Luck, Intelligence and Charismatics can improve during the game. There is no experience in the game. I will decide when a character has underwent enough events of a kind to improve. The average of all stats is 10.

Round

Round is one day in the game time. It is formed by Action plan and Engagement. During the round player is free to do almost anything he wants (closely specified below). The day when character eats and the following one, he has a full strength. 3rd day all the stats are halved due to starvation and 4th day character dies for the same reason. If characters fails to drink one day, his stats are halved the following one and he instantly dies in the third one. Character has to sleep every day. If he doesn’t sleep for one round stats are lowered to 2/3. If he doesn’t sleep even in the following round, the stats are lowered to 1/3 and the character can fall asleep almost at any time when he’s not in the engagement.

Action plan

Action is first half of a round. During every action player can interact with everything he directly sees. Also he has an option to choose whether he wants to search nearby surroundings 3 times, surroundings 2 times, or large area once for anything he deems necessary. I recommend you to prepare a detailed action plan. The more details the higher chance of me telling you that something is not possible and giving you chance to change something still. The character can do everything that any living being is able to do (focus even on the little things!). If a fight, or a possible fight occurs, the plan is postponed and player will be presented with details in second half of a round (engagement). If he manages to live through a fight plan continues. If anything during planned action or engagement hinders the ability to finish all desired moves the plan stops at that event. Everything planned afterwards is discarded and player will be presented with what happened in next round so he can adjust accordingly (etc. you decided to travel to a place one day away by foot but you managed to break your leg), though if you feel like continuing desired plan you can do so.

Engagement

Engagement and potential engagement is the second half of the round. Whereas player’s action is plan for a whole “day”, the outcome of engagement decides, whether character will survive to see another round, or not. It’s really important to explain detailed battle plan with all the moves players wants his character to do, if you don’t want to die early. I highly recommend not to count on magic too much, since it’s not as strong as in usual fantasy worlds.

Preferred form of your action plans

Keep in mind that this is the minimum information I need. Feel free to express your storytelling desires! 1. Search the place where you’re at for anything. 2. Search surroundings (explained above) for anything 3. Interact with objects you have found (create tools, bandage yourself, eat, drink, etc). 4. If you´re in interaction with a person express what it is you want from the person (saying “hello, how are you” isn´t enough). 5 Decide where you want to travel. You need to make me believe that you can make your plan work. Just saying “I go there” might be enough, but if you said “I go there avoiding main road, trying not to be seen, looking for opportunity to steal/find a mount” not only you increase chances of not being spotted, but you will also be looking for something along the way increasing your overall effectivity. If you are going forth a potential engagement, make sure to prepare basic strategy for example when following someone you could go with “as soon as I feel I was spotted I run away” or “Walking by someone with hidden dagger under my sleeve”.

Preferred form of engagement plans

Most dangerous part of the round. It’s really easy to die here. 1. Decide which weapon you’re using. If you want to use a bow and shoot from a bush at a target who is 5 meters away, if you shoot once and if you missed (not gonna happens if you are an archer… just illustration) you would want to draw a sword you would make it because the enemy would need time to find from where he’s being attacked. If you though decided to shoot twice no matter what you wouldn´t have time to draw a sword and all you could try to do is to throw your bow away and try to pull out your dagger fast.

source

Me as DM

Most of my decisions will be made by combination of how well your plan will persuade me that it will work and stats necessary for completion of such a plan. If I deem your plan/stats sufficient I will personally decide about its success and vice versa. If it will be around 50/50 to me D6 or D10 roll will decide the outcome. I pledge that I will be most fair in doing so and if any known user by me enters this game I will do my best not to be influenced by such a presence. In first two rounds I will be actively trying to help you and will not let you die just like that. You do not have complete knowledge of my book’s lore so if you’ll be trying to accomplish something which is in the world unreal, I will tell you.

Source

Additional info

Any time during the round you can ask me additional questions in the comments. If you feel like your character knows more than I describe, don’t hesitate to ask (Do I know about any source of water nearby? Do I know anyone around here? Where is the closest village I know about?...). The later you’ll do so, the less time you’ll have to lock in your action, so don’t wait until the very end of a round with such a questions, or I might not be able to reply (but I will do my best to do so).


Thus was inscribed on a sacred stone. The whole crowd stood witness to the nascence of “Rules V. 1.0.0”. Also a proclamation has been made, that adding new needed rules during a season is allowed, but re-carving the old ones can only be done under grim circumstances! Competitors will always be notified about any correction.

Registration

I need from you to say that you want to play and specify a race that you’d like to play (Orc, Elf or Human). It wouldn’t be fair to start a dimension with less than 3 players. I will do my best to form dimensions in accordance with the chosen races. It won’t be possible to make everybody happy though I might need to change races of few players to fill the spots. The earlier you sign in the later your race will be changed if needed. If you are really stubborn about the race you want to play you can say you don’t want the race to be changed, but what can happen is, that you won’t play at all.

The following guys are pre-registered and have 5 days to confirm registration and specify the race they’d like to play.

@Aggroed, @Fellix, @Clayboy, @Bilbop, @Daniel.dalo, @Whatageek, @len.george, @Jennswall

That leaves 10 open spaces for the rest of you guys! Let’s do this! Note that this post is already a game post, reward poll generation starts!  

Up vote and Resteem for the sake of the competition, if you deem it worthy.

Sort:  

rip I've only seen this now. Are there still spots open?

SURE still quite a few spaces left...I take this as a reservation of a spot so just pick your race and you’re good to go.

This is always the hardest choice......

I think I'll go human this time

Oh how I feel you man. There wasn’t a single RPG where I wouldn’t spend at least half an hour choosing the race and class :P. Human it is then! Welcome to the DnS.

Congratulations @fingersik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I'm keen on playing,
can I be an elf?
Will I be able to change it before confirmation?

The sooner you make up your mind the easier the job for me. Also if you lock your race now, the rest of the players will eventually need to respect your choice and pick another race to lock yet another dimension. You’re starting a new dimension with and Elf then. If you change your mind, notify me.

nah I don't change my mind. Go ahead man, your game, your rules.

I would love to play as an elf

Perfect! This settles first dimension.

OK, here goes! I'll start off the new dimension with an Elf request please (although I am not picky and will gladly change if the need arises). I'm very impressed with the work you have already put into this.

Thank you for your heart-warming words. Elf it is then welcome in!

Why thank you kind sir!

It sounds like a fine idea! I don't think I would have time but kudos to you and I hope it goes well!

That is shame. Thanks for your support though! So do I, so do I.

It really does sound ace. I kinda struggle to steem and work and be a dad at the moment!

I would love to play as a human

Another human is in!

It'd be nice to play the other fantasy game on here. See if we can survive in each other's :D.
I'll play as an orc!

This settles yet another dimension! Never thought people will choose one of each every time :D. So apparently you are running a contest of your own! Gonna check it out soon.

Resteeming so I can re read these rules often.
I like Elves in the Heroes series, so iif available , I will fill in that hole.
Let the fun commence.

Perfect! Every little bit of promotion for our contest counts. Thank you for that! After all its your prize money too :P. Third dimension starts with an Elf then.

will definitely need to re-read those rules, but i'd like to be an orc !

So will us all. Was one hell of a sacred stone to handle all the text I tell you. Orc it is then!

appreciate your effort. will appreciate it more once I gobble up those rules.

That’s the spirit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85