Dead i. A Steemit Original Fiction Series. Episode 3

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Then.

If you look back, you can see all the things that led up to The End. One single event did not cause it; in fact, it was a series of events that seemed unrelated at the time which stacked up while you were looking the other way and suddenly all fell down like a neat row of apocalyptic dominos. First the extreme weather, blizzards in July, scorching dry winters and floods in the desert. Then the earthquakes and mass animal die offs. Then came the banking blackouts and shortages of food. Naturally, all the chaos led to questions, and when the powers that be didn’t provide satisfying answers the people started to riot. The subsequent breakdown in society led to health epidemics spreading like fire.

Then, when we were at our weakest, came the attacks.

But, in her little suburban corner of the world, most of this was somewhat bearable. Considering how things were in her own personal reality.

“You’re reduced to digging through the trash?”

“I called my wife on her lunch break for a nice surprise, only to find out from the receptionist she wasn’t there. Who did you go to lunch with?"

“Seriously Jackson?”

“What did I tell you about answering my question with a question?”

She turned back to the shirt she was folding. Her heart was beating in her throat and her vision was tunneling. His shirts had to be folded a certain way or he would be angry. She made a flamboyant show of creasing his shirt just so, hoping he would fixate on that and lose track of his current ridiculous yet treacherous path.

“I asked you a question Kayla.” She was suddenly yanked backward. “Answer me! Who did you have lunch with?” He spat at her.

“Just a friend from work. Carol if it really matters.” She immediately regretted her nasty tone as his fingers dug into the flesh of her arm.

“You always eat at the office. Is “Carol” code for “Carl?”

“Carl? Who the hell is Carl?”

“You tell me,” he sneered.

“I don’t even know a Carl, Jackson. Carol and I went to lunch across the street just to get out of the office for a change. I treated her because she’s been going through a lot at home and-“

“I don’t give a shit about that! You weren’t where you were supposed to be. Again. Now tell me who you went to lunch with.” He shook her so hard she heard a crack in her neck.

“I told you, I took Car-“

This was the first time he hit her. But it wouldn’t be the last.


She made excuses for his behavior. The stress of the world breaking down around them was the one she told herself most often. It was as if she was the world, and he was the chaos. The worse things got around them the worse he got.

Looking back, you can see all the little things that added up to make the big end.

She told herself this is the last time. If he does it again I’m leaving. But she told herself that more times than she wanted to admit. The next day he would apologize and cry and hold her, telling her how much he hated himself for what he did to her while drunk, and that he was going to stop drinking for good.

But it was never the last time. Until it was.

Sadly, it was the last time for almost everything.


What if the last person on Earth was the one you hated most? Dead i. A Steemit Original Fiction Series. Episode 1 Prologue and Episode 2


Enter the Best Worst Photo Contest for $SBD Prize! Week 5!!! Good Luck :)


Image via Creative Commons


Thank you for your support, I love you guys ♡


signature_2.gif

With Love, Positivity and Good Mojo Light,
May Your Days Be Always Happy and Bright!

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 10 Secrets to University Success That Also Work in All Areas in Your Life
~
A Crazy Trick to Write Difficult Things That Really works!
~
A Writing Activity that Boosts Your Descriptive Skills
~
Mentor a Minnow Winner
~
Conform? Never! Stop Trying to Change Them


My Original Funny, Amazing, and Meme-Worthy Photography and Videos

Parking for Residents Only
~
How You Look When They Refuse to Join Steemit
~
When They Told You Crypto Was a Waste, then Your Altcoin Tanks...
~
Scary Coincidence?

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

Sort:  

This is a lovely fictional piece. You are indeed a talented writer to have had this imagination come off of your head. The story is intriguing and catchy...when should I expect episode 4? Can't wait .

Thank you so much! I'm working on Episode 4 now, and publishing it within 48 hours. I'm hoping to add an episode every other day :)

Owk dear will be gladly waiting.

Truth to say, i have not read the previous episodes, but this particular one is more of a stand alone story.

And it hits deep into the mechanics of relationships, of family life, of love. In short, of how that true lover, will always seek for excuse upon excuse to hang on, to wait, to give you that last one chance.

And in so doing, they refuse the right long won, of giving up on you. Often, the blame is cast to the world outside, and all its Chaos, just as Kayla does...

Its all too complicated anyway...the things we do for love.

I should read the previous two episodes. I am a reader, and writer, so i tell myself. And i do some writing tryings! So you should know i am genuinely interested in your works.

And by evidence of this, i have to say you write well. The story line is as clear as it can possibly be. You can imagine an episode here but almost about being good enough as a stand-alone story. Cheers! @arbitrarykitten.

Meanwhile, Its been a while since you did a freewrite, or have i missed any you did recently?

Either way, I am today's encourager for #freewrite. Here with a special delivery from @marriannewest: the latest prompt.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-123-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-fumigate

We miss your freewrites, and wait to read more.

Love is complicated mess of chaos and beauty, pain and pleasure... isn't it?

You are correct, I have not done a freewrite in a little while. I think I am going to accept your challenge... I will post the link here :)

Please do! Waiting- Thanks.

Wow.. this is becoming more interesting ms. @arbitrarykitten I will change my comment on Episode 2, forgiveness is not an option for me now after reading episode 3, cant wait for the 4th one... 😊❤️

I am pleased you are enjoying it :) It gets more interesting... ;)

I know maam ❤️😊... so please publish the 4th one 😊😊

the day is not far when u will deliver a masterpiece
intelligent writer

Always your creative story really impressed me. You will be a legend through your writing story . Keep it up . Thank you very much for sharing this post with us.

Thank you for enjoying :)

@arbitrarykitten I am so glad I stopped drinking years ago..................

that is a adorable fictional piece. you're certainly a skilled creator to have had this creativeness come off of your head. The tale is fascinating and catchy...whilst need to I anticipate episode four?

I am so happy you are enjoying it! Episode 4 will be posted tomorrow :)

Intense and serious. Well done. Love your writing, @arbitrarykitten.

I'm so glad :) Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77