Dead i. A Steemit Original Fiction Series. Prologue. Episode 1

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

What if the last person on earth was the one you hated most?




Her heart took a nosedive before sprinting up her throat. Him? No way. It had to be his doppleganger.

Her breath held.

The profile was spot on. She watched as he rummaged through a bag, setting aside useful items and replacing those he didn’t want.

His head suddenly swung in her direction. She tensed so much that she imagined her blood paused rigid in her veins.

It was him all right. Square jaw, quirkily crooked nose from a long ago break, eyes as intense and threatening as the deep end… You could fall into the dangerous abyss of those eyes.

Many had.

She blinked hard. Of all the people on the planet that could have survived, this one had been spared?

He saw no threat and went back to his treasurehunting. She quietly backed away, careful to keep debris between them.

If he were to see her…

She shook that line of thought away and replaced it with the makings of a plan to get far enough away in the opposite direction so he wouldn’t be able to see tonight’s fire smoke. Then find food, and rest enough to put as many miles as possible between them tomorrow.

His fatally threatening face danced before her. The dark was coming on fast. He hunted best in the night.

She thrust the mirage away and hurried into the newly comforting growing shadows.


Stay tuned for the next chapter of Dead i


Enter Week 4 Photo Contest for $ SBD Prize!




Thank you for your support, I love you guys ♡


signature_2.gif

With Love, Positivity and Good Mojo Light,
May Your Days Be Always Happy and Bright!

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314Improve Your Perspective on Your Life With This Creative Trick
~
A Hodling State of Mind: Crypto Slang & Speak
~
How I Bought a New Car With Cryptocurrency
~
Cute Kitten Dancing
~
Blank Page
~
A Writing Activity that Boosts Your Descriptive Skills
~
Google, GPS, and the True (Almost) Horror Story
~
Why You Aren't on the Trending Page
~
What Should You Write About? 7 Tips to Help You Find Ideas for Your Blog
~
Did You Know? Cool Science Fact # 3: Birds Fly Because a Lizard Decided to Take a Leap


Fiction

The Burn of the Badge

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

Sort:  

I like your opening. Keep this story going! It has a lot of potential. Upvoted! I love stories where the characters struggle with "I hate that I secretly love you" dynamics.

Speaking of which, I would also love to see what you think of my modern P&P fan-fiction short story. Please have a peek at one. I'm totally open to ideas for alternate endings ...

Thank you so much :)

I will take a stroll over to your page- put the coffee on ;)

Wow, that would be hard if the last person on Earth would be the one I hate. I am interested in how this story will continue and how will she manage to work with him because I suppose at one point she will have to. This was a great read. Thank you for sharing it with us.

So happy you enjoy it! Episode 2 is out now :)

Oh! Sounds like we better buckle up!

Ooo, you have got me intrigued!

What has happened? How did it happen? Is somebody smoking fish on that fire smoke?

I'm looking forward to the first chapter!

I like hearing that ;)

Episode 2 is out now!

I can't wait to read the next section. Your work never fails to immerse me.

That really means a lot, thank you!

"Of all the people on the planet that could have survived, this one had been spared?"

This line made me laugh.

Very nice opening, I look forward to seeing where it goes from here.

Thank you so much! I'm so happy you enjoyed it <3 Episode 2 is out now! :)

giving it a thought, what if the person I hated the most is the last person on earth...that is one food for thought. I guess the uneasiness goes both ways. that person would have hated my existence as well.

Great premise to a story, aye? :)

She thrust the mirage away and hurried into the newly comforting growing shadows

Love the play of words here.

@arbitrarykitten was wondering when you would announce the winner of your mentorship contest.
Thanks, happy steeming

Thanks hun <3

Posted ;)

This is a well written and enticing opening. Enough to whet the appetite.

That means a lot! Episode 2 is out now :)

Thanks for letting me know.

Nice post really amazing post thanks for sharing....resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60