Short Story - TAP

in #fiction7 years ago

Hey SteemFam!

This is a story I just wrote after watching an episode of The X Files... hope you like it.


image
Image Source

Tap... Tap... Tap...

That is all I can hear.

The sound of the seconds passing you by.

Beep... beep... beep...

The sound of a heart at ease.

Tap... Tap... Tap...

Time has been moving differently these days. Sometimes fast, sometimes slow. Details that would have otherwise missed my eyes are now more prominent and more evident than ever before. Is it a good thing? Maybe... I understand things more clearly now.

The cashier at the bakery, places the deepest red roses near his register every day. Till a few days ago, it was just something that I'd seen. But now I realize that every time my friend sees them, they make her smile.

He likes her. Those roses are meant for her. She doesn't know it... just like I never noticed before.

The old man that lives below my apartment, works very close to where we live, yet he always takes the longer route to reach his office. No one knows why, I don't think anyone even noticed. I certainly didn't, till time slowed down one day and I saw him pause... for the tiniest fraction of a second, to glance at the street where his son died after being hit by a car. His son and he weren't on the best of terms. From what I heard, they hadn't been speaking for years. The day his son died would have been the first time they spoke after 3 years, had he made it to his dad's apartment alive. On his body, they found a wedding invitation, addressed to his dad... the old man.

It's funny how my accident was at the same spot where he died... the accident that changed my life and my perception. Clarity was something I never thought possible. Now, all I have to do is take a deep breath and observe... everything just slows down, slows enough for me to see everything.

I have always wanted a super power. Not sure if this qualifies as one. Even if it does... how would I use it? Time doesn't slow down for me because I have super speed or anything like that. It's just that I am able to take in more information and process it better... like my brain no longer wants to omit anything anymore.

It's amazing... this feeling. The feeling that comes with knowing that nothing can escape your watchful gaze. I feel calm and at peace... like I can rest now.

Rest is all I want...


"I'm sorry, but it's time."

"Just a little longer... please."

"It doesn't matter anymore Ma... she will never wake up."

"We don't know that for sure."

"She was declared brain dead an hour ago, Mom. We're just making her suffer more."

"Please don't cry Mom. She's at peace, I can feel it."

"You can turn off the machines nurse. Let her rest."

"Time of death?"

"3 AM."


Some illustrations may be uploaded later.


Please check out a story I finished writing recently. Please check the links below:

[Story - ALICE - Part 1](https://steemit.com/fiction/@andreanoronha/story- alice-part-1-2017814t21942938z)
Story - ALICE - Part 2
Story - ALICE - Part 3
Story - ALICE - Part 4
Story - ALICE - Part 5
Story - ALICE - Part 6
Story - ALICE - Part 7 (Final)


Thank you for reading 🙂

Please upvote, resteem and follow.


Check out my other works below


Click here button to follow me and stay tuned for more to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65