Homemade Toothpaste?

in #esteem5 years ago

Hello, Steemit friends!

IMG_7455.JPG

Do you know that almost all of the popular toothpastes on the market today are not only useless but also damaging?
If you don't - there are many studies and many articles about that. If you are interested, you can check. The ingredients that the commercial brands use are toxic and can lead to many health problems such as enamel erosion, dental fluorosis, stomach issues, skin rashes and others. The fluoride considered as healthy for teeth, today is known as highly carcinogenic and toxic. Its long term usage can lead to brain, heart and bone problems. There is a famous statement by Dean Burk, a chemist who worked many years at the National Cancer Institute in US.
“More people have died in the last 30 years from cancer connected with fluoridation than all the military deaths in the entire history of the United States.”
The list of dangerous ingredients that the toothpastes contain but have no place in your mouth is pretty long.
Some studies claim that the toothpaste generally is absolutely useless and for healthy teeth we just need a toothbrush, water and a healthy lifestyle. Although the first one of these three is not that necessary.

I've known that for a long time, so I don't use toothpastes with fluoride and I used to look for natural, organic or handmade natural products. My favorite was with so simple ingredients that a while ago I decided to do it myself.

I read controversial opinions for the homemade toothpastes but for myself I choose to believe in nature more and to prefer them.

I made several different pretty simple mixes with turmeric, coconut oil, baking soda and mint and orange essential oils. I also tried adding activated charcoal. Next time I will probably try some other recipe with cocoa powder, cinnamon and bentonite clay. How cool is that - cocoa toothpaste. Experimenting is also fun :) There are countless recipes around the internet and most of them are super easy, super fast, just mixing everything on water bath and pouring the mix into small jars. Popular ingredients are baking soda, turmeric, coconut oil, bentonite clay, vitamin E, xilitol, ginger, salt. The most simple recipe is just coconut oil and baking soda.

P1280991.JPG

P1290001.JPG

P1290004.JPG

IMG_7394.JPG

Wish you healthy teeth :D :D

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Awesome! I have stopped buying store toothpastes a few years ago and never looked back. I made my own toothpaste for a while, very similar recipes to yours. I even used biochar in one batch. My favorite thing about homemade toothpaste is that it doesn't flavor things, like if I drink orange juice afterward. But now I've settled on yarrow tincture (thanks to susun weed) and baking soda. Its very simple! Not for everyone though because baking soda flavor can seem intimidating if you're not used to it. The yarrow tincture on the other hand is quite tasty and very anti bacterial :)

oh I like the sound of the yarrow tincture, yarrow is such an amazing plant. xxxx

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Also, do you have any interest at all in selling natural toothpastes on the first ever crypto-only marketplace for sustainable, organic, and handmade goods?

I bet they'd sell very well at https://homesteaderscoop.com

The steem account for that online marketplace can be found at @homesteaderscoop. @sagescrub made the site available with no commission, listing fees, or anything.

That sounds so cool! I am definitely checking it later! Thank you very much for sharing!

Thanks for the info! I'd been thinking about this for some time and will probably stick with a simple coconut oil and baking soda. I'd try the turmeric but I wondering if it causes some yellow staining? I've never heard of using termeric for toothpaste. Why did you add it?

Thank you very much! Coconut oil and baking soda make the perfect toothpaste :). Turmeric is well known for its healing properties and it doesn't cause any stains, although i’ll probably wait before I make again mix with turmeric :)

Okay! Thanks for the info!


Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @goldendawne to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. Come join us on discord! https://steemit.com/ghsc/@ghscollective/today-s-promoted-post-danielapetk-and-squishysquid

Omg, this belongs in #naturalmedicine. I'm going to share it there, do you have any interest in joining the @naturalmedicine discord server?

As I listen more to the Wise Traditions podcast presented by the Weston A. Price Foundation, I'm learning the absolute utmost importance of gut health, and gut health starts at the mouth. Thank you so much for this post, it is bookmarked now!

Thank you so much for your kind words! That's great that you are interested in that! :)
I would love to join the discord server!

https://discord.gg/gxVztzj

There's the invite link :) looking forward to seeing you there!

I love this post @danielapetk really informative this is totally up my ally. do you ever use your homemade toothpaste when you go on long hiking trips? if you do how do you pack it? :)

Good question, @enosh! I haven’t tried it for hiking but I would take in the same jar probably, although if it is too hot, it will melt :D

Thanks for the reply 🙂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Woo! Love your post - we've given you an upvote with a chance to be featured in the weekly curation. We’ve also resteemed it. We encourage you to use the #naturalmedicine tag so we can more easily find you.
If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, and haven't already got on board our collective, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

this is great, we really need to promoting natural alternatives for body care, so many are polluting their bodies. I also use diluted apple cider vinegar as a mouthwash xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62