Ecotrain QOTW - As crazy as it might sound ....

in #ecotrain5 years ago
Yes, as crazy as it may sound I'm losing weight on a high fat diet!

weight loss measuring waist.png
That's right! I changed to a Ketogenic Diet which calls for low carbs and high fats trying for a ration of
• 75-85% fat
• 10-20% protein
• 5% carbohydrate

Now I'm not one to "go on a diet" but if I find something that will benefit my health I will incorporate it into my diet.

My husband had been doing some research for he wasn't feeling that great and was gaining weight in places he didn't want, showing signs of a fatty liver - not good!
I too, had fat in places I didn't want and was starting to feel uncomfortable with it.
He came across this Keto diet which will have your body become fat adapted - that is it starts using fat as it's fuel source.
Basically it works by your body going into “Ketogenesis” and starts “generating ketones”.
When the carbohydrate sources are sufficiently low your body does this naturally to generate some energy to fuel from fat.

The wonderful thing is I could now give myself permission to eat more fats, the good fats, that can be oh, so delicious!
When eating in the proper ratios I was actually loosing weight eating these fats.

Here's a more in depth look at the science behind the Keto diet from Will Little of KetoSchool.com -

When on “normal” diets (eating more than 100g carbs a day), before sending excess energy to fat cells, your liver and muscles will store carbs in a relatively simple storage mechanism called glycogen
Your brain normally runs on ~100g of glucose per day, so when your liver isn’t able to pump out sufficient glucose for this requirement, it starts producing ketone bodies to get the job done
Under “normal” conditions, insulin helps glucose from the blood stream get into cells, where glucose is converted into pyruvate and sent into the citric acid cycle to generate energy
Then, all that NADH gets converted to ATP (our cells’ main energy source) via oxidative phosphorylation.
Now, when there’s not enough glucose around to generate Acetyl-CoA from pyruvate as shown above, then Acetyl-CoA is generated mostly from oxidizing fatty acids
This not only produces a good amount of ATP on its own, but the build-up of Acetyl-CoA in liver cells induces ketogenesis
If their concentration is high enough in the blood, some of these molecules are excreted in breath, sweat, and urine (hence the fruity smell of keto-dieting people during induction). But most of the acetoacetate and beta-hydroxybutyrate is sent from the liver around to other tissues, where they are reconverted to Acetyl CoA which then produces energy

Plus Will Little added -

On a Keto diet hunger goes way down forcing more fat to come out of storage for energy than goes in. Mechanistically, without constant insulin spikes, your body can more easily take advantage of leptin-induced satiety.
With insulin levels relatively low on a regular basis, fat is pulled out of fat cells more readily and the body gets increasingly used to burning fat (consumed and stored) for energy.

The main state we were working towards as we switched from a standard diet to a ketogenic one, was to have our bodies become fat adapted.

What is "fat adapted" you ask?
Basically it is a metabolic state where the body uses your fat reserves as your energy source, moving away from relying on sugar/glucose often supplied from carbs.

I found when my body is in this state

  • I feel satiated after my meals and easily go longer in between meals, it's a longer lasting fuel source.
  • I have more consistent energy throughout the day, the fat stores are meeting my bodies needs.
  • No more carb craving and I can do high energy tasks without needing to eat a bunch of carbs.

Another big part of the "Keto" diet and what we were working on at the beginning is being in ketosis, where ketones are produced from the fat.
A big bonus from this is the ketones can cross the blood-brain barrier and nourish the brain.
Plus there has been scientific studies showing that the ketones are also anti-inflammatory, anti-aging, and has anti-cancer actions.
So now you are switching from your body burning sugars/carbs to burning fat.

In this state you can experience

  • improvements in your metabolism
  • weight loss
  • reduced inflammation
  • a clearer mind
  • sleep better

What quicken this process of going into ketosis was intermittent fasting.
Just like when you go on a mini fast over night, not eating from your last meal to when you get up and have your breakfast. If you can incorporate the intermittent fasting to a 10 to 12 even 14 hour stretch, this will stimulate the ketone formation.

This adaption to a high-fat diet is different for different folks and factors like your initial weight and other metabolic factors come into play. Also there may be some adverse affects when first adapting before you start to see the benefits that come over a longer period of time.

I chose to gradually make the transition and I was coming from a place where I had already cleaned up my diet a lot so I didn't experience to much adverse effects and I must say I'm really enjoying the benefits now especially the added benefit that my husband is totally into it and is becoming a gourmet Keto chef!

I can honestly say, now, that I can easily pass on all those carb temptations and would much rather have a fat bomb, some nuts or avocado.

There is a lot of information on becoming fat adapted and the ketogenic diet if you want to go in that direction.
We got a lot of information from Dr. Eric Berg
Check out his Youtube channel at: https://www.youtube.com/user/drericberg123

I'm very happy with the results I have got and it is now a part of my lifestyle.
If this spurred an interest in you, do your research and educate yourself and one of the most important things I found was to make a commitment and be consistent so you can realize the benefits!

May you be healthy and happy and if you want to know more about the changes I have made or have any questions please feel free to ask in the comments and I'll do my best to share what I know with you.

If you enjoyed this post,
Please don’t hesitate to follow me here on steemit at @porters

Sort:  

I tried LCHF (low carb high fat) and love it. It is not for everyone since our bodies are different but it really works for me. I have never been healthier, had more energy and I lost the weight. Good luck with keto!

That's the main thing -

it really works for me
It's working for us too and I can't see us going back to the standard diet.
Glad you're staying healthy and energetic!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

That's cool. I need to try that diet, just don't have the discipline!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

For me I had already cleaned up my diet a lot and my husband is so into it and loves doing the cooking with it which he never did much before. I'm loving that and it makes it easier to stay with it. We are really enjoying our food on this diet too.
The only time I had some trouble was after working at school I would usually have a snack right after for the drive home to kind of treat myself.
Now I don't really care to eat when I'm not hungry and I see it as just a habit and a desire but I'm not really hungry and I don't want to spoil my appetite for the nice meal my husband is making for me. If I am hungry I will snack on some nuts.
Christmas might be a little hard for my daughter-in-law is a terrific cook and she makes loads of Christmas baking.
I think I'll treat myself to some Brazil and macadamia nuts. The Brazil nuts will be in the shell so I can be cracking my nuts while everyone is diving into the Christmas goodies!
I can also make myself some fat bombs too!

That's what I'm bad at - discipline!

And the problem with this diet for me is that it's too much meat. I know you can do a vegetarian one but it's too hard when one of you is 'mostly' vego and the other one needs more meat than me. But I would like to do it...

We've been making lots of bone broth and when we make up casseroles or chilies and such we add some of that bone broth to make real tasty soups.
Also we love to froth up/blend the broth with some garlic, ginger, cayenne pepper and salt plus some kelp and green onions thrown in too to make a delicious nutritious meal. That with a big bowl of salad with our tahini mayonnaise and your set!

That's a really good idea. I do need to try the bone broth. That sounds like a really delicious base to a soup @porters!

Yum, tahini mayonaisse. Did you read my sour cream recipe from the other day? Can't remember if we spoke about it. It was like mayo but you use coconut cream, tahini and lemon. So tasty, but dairy free! I know that isn't important to you, but it's nice to mix it up.

I had such a nice brekky this morning - two boiled eggs, some pepitas and sunflower seeds, some parsley and coriander, and half an avocado. So good!

M-m-m! your dairy free sour cream recipe sounds delicious and oh so simple! We mostly went off dairy when we realized we were making trips to town just for fresh dairy products so we looked for an alternative and went with the coconut milk and such.
I am much happier with that.
I only like the unpasteurized raw milk cheeses too.
We use to be able to get the fresh cream from the farmers around here but no one is milking now. Oh there is nothing like thick rich cream! Did you have clotted cream when you lived in England? I'd make my own butter then too.

Yes it is much easier to have non dairy I think. I always did like the idea of Cornish clotted cream and jam on scones that you get in Cornwall. But I have never really been a fan of sweet food and I liked my mum's scones the best. Because I never really liked milk I never liked cream either unless it was the way my mum did it with lots of vanilla and a little bit of brown sugar. And even then I could not eat that much of it. The smell kind of makes me sick. I prefer a dairy free cream. Have you ever made it with ground cashews and Vegan milk and a little bit of vanilla and maple syrup ? it is very good.

Posted using Partiko Android

M-m-m now that sounds good! I had read about how to make the cashew cream but never did make it. I bet it is delicious!

How long have you been doing it?

Close to 6 months

That's a good test then. I know another person who just started it a month ago.

Has there been any drawbacks, anything you wish had happened or didn't happen?

I wish my husband had found it and decided to go on it before I did a big shopping trip.
He started first for I had to eat the foods I had just bought before eliminating them from my diet.
My husband dove in deep right away and had some adverse effects like the Keto flu and a Keto rash.
I transitioned over more gradually and didn't experience any of that. I did have to watch to get more salt and water into my diet. When still transitioning, before you come fat adapted the body is still looking for carbs for its fuel and it looks for it in the water which ends up getting peed out plus more salts are need from this effect too.
I did notice leg cramps which I attribute to the lack of magnesium.
It's all a balancing act to make sure you get the proper amount of nutrients too.
I made lots of nutrient dense foods and took supplements like fish oil and we use the MCT oil too.
It's a learning curve and I'm glad my husband is so into it for he does a lot of the research plus he does a lot of the cooking too, which I really like!

What an excellent reply! Just what I was seeking to know. it's good to have a researcher in the household. And another cook. :))

diet and exercise both works perfectly <3

Hi @porters!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.299 which ranks you at #7756 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 85 places in the last three days (old rank 7841).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 280 contributions, your post is ranked at #154.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Good show! I've been on the ketogenic, aka Paleo, aka diabetic friendly, aka Mediterranean diet for a few years now, and it works like gangbusters...

One thing I've found... That for those, like myself, who prefer to go as "little harm" as possible... Dump all the veggies you want in that Crock-Pot... With a cup of high grade (fat) mayonnaise... Better than butter, for such things.

Though it's not -precisely- 1000% moral, perfection is, itself, sheerest blasphemy. Try the Mayo, I promise, you'll love it.

Also... Olives. ALL THE OLIVES!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Mayo are good? Oh ok, would definitely want that!

Hey! Glad it's working for you and thanks for the tips!
I make a tahinni mayonnaise that would probably be really good on the veggies. We're really big on using the crock pot too!

You covered everything in this post! I’ve been doing a ketogenic diet for about 4 years now and I find it far superior to the traditional western diet. The word diet annoys me though because of the contemporary connotation it has of some fad crap you try to lose weight. True diets are so much more!
The intermittent fasting was such a huge portion of the ketonic lifestyle. I started intermittent fasting before going ketonic so that made that easier but I also didn’t really go ketonic in the official sense. I was looking for more sustained energy for my workouts while fasting and a friend of mine said he was doing more of a fat focused diet and I figured I would give it a try. Four years later I love it! I do totally feel when I’ve fallen off the wagon a bit such as the holiday times here in America when there’s way more carbs to be had than normal for me.

Keep with the diet, it’s truly a comfortable way to live!

Good to hear you've been at it for 4 years and still loving it.
I've been at it coming up 6 months. I've incorporated it into my lifestyle and I can't see going back, for it seems to be the way to eat for us.

This is all really excellent information - thank you. We have some keto dishes that we eat but I do enjoy carbs. I think we'll try a bit harder having read this.

It totally made sense to me to become fat adapted and burn fat for your energy, especially since we live in the colder part of the country where it takes extra fuel to keep warm.
We're really enjoying our diet and give it little tweeks here and there. Really it has simplified things for us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87