Looking Outside STEEM to grow your blog #1 Influencer networking

in #dtube5 years ago


Hay Dtube and welcome to my video today.

Last week we spoke about steem users being inward looking when it comes for an audience for their content and I would love to see people look outside steem more

You can video that video here
https://steemit.com/dtube/@paulag/cm9pjz1z

You have gained a lot of valuable skills here on steem. You have learned to
Network with influencers
Engage on posts
Engage with communities

In this video we are going to look in more details at this skill of Networking with influencers. This skill I use very often to grow my non steem blog and my steem blog. If you can take this still outside the steem community, into general social media, you can raise your profile with regards your content, and raising your profile will in turn increase the traffic to your blog.

I have a task for you, go out side steem and find 3 influencers in your field. Follow them and start to engage with their posts. The goal is, after some time we can attract them to your blog and your content, and maybe even get a share back from them.

Drop a comment below with the names of the people you started to follow and the platform you are following them on, and I will upvote your comment.

Watch the video to find out more

Youtube Mirror

Sort:  

Hey @paulag. Well for one I like to watch your videos as well as people like @d00k13, @stewsak, @clixmoney, @sergiomendes, @theycallmedan, @kawaiicrush, @prettynicevideo, @bobaphet and so many others here on @dtube and so many off @steemit like Warren Buffett, Will Smith, Gary Vaynerchuk, Denzel Washington and so many others as well. Thank You for this video and reminder. May You Always Live in the Abundance of Love and Blessings.

Posted using Partiko Android

sounds like you already have experience in this field. Are you networking with non steem people with the overall aim of getting my eyes on your content?

I am rather active on instagram and engage with many there. I am yidneth in most networks My fb kind of got too slow, and trying to rekindle youtube. But I slways find my way back here. Pd. That dress ^_^ looking lovely

would you believe I don't do instrgram. You are one of our very very talented steemains and showcasing a talent like your is a gift steem should use. I find youtube great for traffic back to my own blog. Facebook I am trying to get back to ( with a little difficulty cos I dont like it, but business is business and that where the people are)

I used to do well on youtube a while ago but for a while I kind of moved to a smaller place, went quiet and it was only last year that I started to "rekindle" it. I have not a liking for facebook where I only use my "page" as business and not the personal anymore, and I like instagram, because for once, the AI (artificial intelligence algorithm) has learned of my tastes, and honestly I open it and it provides me a dose of foxes, cute rats, puppies and other animals hahah (I think the algorithm is confused and may think my account is about that hahah). I do pretty well and in fair honestly I get a fair deal of gifts (I never compromise to review if I don't like something though) I find it has been trained quite accurately because it has allowed me to find other artists, naturelovers and animal lovers alike in a way that is totally unrelated with my business as musician at all. And thanks heartily for the compliment. :) I am open here that I have never left my "outer" network, I haven't made it's true many shout outs about Steem because fb and ig don't seem to like it and not sure now but before it would hurt your reach. I think twitter is safe for shout outs for the most part. I am aware that all sites, even Steemit (not Steem) could be transient, so though a tedious and long process I have been focusing this month into upgrading a new blog section on my site, and starting also to update the old site as well (that will take longer) but at least update the "contents" to be more updated.

I am ShadowsPub on most of the sites where I am including the podcast I have been distributing through Anchor.fm. I produce some of the posts I do on here as the podcast and it's distributed to ten other podcast platforms. I promote the fact that I produce the content here on Steem.

I also write on Medium and Trybe.

I don't actually stick to a genre other than Writer anywhere.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

I had to go an lookup Anchor.fm, but now that I know what it is, cool. having the ability to distribute with a few easy clicks is cool. This is a great way to gain extra followers and listeners.
As there other podcasters that are not steem people that you follow?

Jeff Goins & Joanna Penn come to mind as two that I listen to

Posted using Partiko iOS

Darn tooting, In my field... that’s the hard part.... what’s my field? 😅

I need to think on that one

Posted using Partiko iOS

defining your content gives you the ability to define and find your typical content consumer. Your account is rather new here on steem, you have plenty of time to work out what does well for you and what you enjoy the most.

Crazy to consider this being a tough job for me as this is my first true type of engagement with social media as I have never taken others as seriously because of situations like trolling and the sorts. However, I definitely see the value of doing so and have been pondering my approach as it has a number of implications. Thanks for being an Ambassador to this initiative as I think it beings great value to the ecosystem through awareness and education!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really think we can get more eyes on our content if we look outside of steem. traditional social media is not for everyone but it is where the people are

We came up with the idea to promote scientific related content via ResearchGate questions, because those questions (relevant to 1 person per month, but still...) are No1 hits in Google Search. Hopefully those people will discover Steemit.

What do you think about this, concerning that 50-60% of traffic is organic?

"We came up with the idea to promote scientific related content via ResearchGate questions"

This is awesome. People often think of Google as the main search engine, but trying to get ranked or found by google is so hard. But a search engine is anything that people go to find something and smaller search engines, such as Reseachgate offers a better chance of a good ranking than the bigger search engines. I actually have this on my list as a topic for one of my videos.

50-60% of traffic being organic does not seem unreasonable for a lot of businesses
https://searchengineland.com/study-organic-search-drives-51-traffic-social-5-202063

however as the content on steem is created by so many different people, all with their own reach, we should be able to increase the traffic we get from social with ease

I completely agree, we are constantly trying to promote ourselves on the eyes of the big whales and well known Steemians. And that´as it, although it is a good way to grow your account, it won´t take you a step further.

Finding influencers outside the STEEM ecosystem is a very reliable way to increase your popularity and traffic on your posts.
I´ve been doing that with some "influencers" on Scorum and Medium, because they are already connected with blockchain technology and it much easier for them.

you are doing this already, that is awesome. It is such a pity we dont yet have the ability to get stats on traffic we bring.

ye, that would be interesting!

I follow the most people on twitter now, specifically people in the economics/markets/business fields. On youtube I only follow 5 channels. I'm off FB.

from the people you follow on twitter, are many of them micro influencers, as in they have a following of between 5K-50K followers? If so, how do you engage with them?

FB I am finding hard myself, but I do love youtube, not so much for influencer networking but for the traffic I get to my blog from posting content there.

I would say they are micro or possibly a step above that some of them. They often only have 10-50 likes and just a few comments, so I will get a like on my comment or a reply sometimes even, or a retweet. That engagement is fulfilling and attractive honestly. Then there are some major ones I follow but don't really interact with, but want to know their views/updates on issues, etc.

Yes, I pulled back from other social media platforms and had focused on Steemit but I see how going outside social media can help with traffic and growth.
I'm just starting to gain an interest in looking outside Steemit again with the different apps we now have to join other platforms, so the timing was just right for this. Thanks for sharing!

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53