"To Leave a Dying World" - D-TUBE EXCLUSIVE MUSIC VIDEO - Steem Collab w/@calluna | Gnash Song Challenge #6

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


To Leave a Dying World Snap.jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Guitar is in open Dsus2 tuning - from low string to high string DADEAD

Lyrics by @calluna

1/2 the liquid SBD payout of this post will go to @calluna, so please show your support! @calluna is a really creative poster who writes original fiction and poetry, among other posting! Visit her blog and show her some love.

Earn SBD! No Musical Ability Required!

Visit the Gnash Song Challenge post to learn how you can submit song lyrics or a song title/topic for me to set to music in its own post, splitting the SBD payout with you!

https://steemit.com/music/@carlgnash/gnash-song-challenge-episode-1-hear-your-words-set-to-music-marvel-at-your-ideas-taking-sonic-flight-wonder-at-the-sheer-beauty

To Leave a Dying World

Lyrics by @calluna | Music by @carlgnash

I dream each night
Of how the stars look from home
But still I roam
But still I roam

Behold! That
Distant shining sun
Where life begun
Where life begun

Watch for her flicker
Where home passes by
Across the sky
Across the sky

That life we left
Drifts further away
Each passing day
Each passing day

Those we loved
Linger there no more
In our hearts they roar
In our hearts they roar

The bluest blue
Oh slowly fades to black
No turning back
No turning back

Our hearts echo
Of oceans left behind
But in our mind
But in our mind

Yet here we are
Lost but still alive
We will survive
We will survive

And so we go on
To places still unknown
And dream of home
And dream of home

Post cover image started life as a photo of a plate painted by @calluna and featured in this post where these original lyrics were first published:
https://steemit.com/poem/@calluna/to-leave-a-dying-world-birthday-post

I ran the original plate image through deepdreamgenerator.com to create this image.

Previous Gnash Song Challenge Entries:

#1 - "Analyze My Function" w/@vachemorte

https://steemit.com/music/@carlgnash/analyze-my-function-original-music-gnash-song-challenge-song-1-for-vachemorte

#2 - "Within Wing's Wind" w/@yahialababidi

https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/1mwk8ljv

#3 - "Big Brown Toad" w/@amberyooper

https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/t8q7ooqf

#4 - "Ode to my Crawdad" w/@dillemma

https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/uhwe1ioy

#4 - "Funk Your Feet" w/@limabeing

https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/12fdogoa


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great job both of you! It's awesome to see D.tube exclusive videos because it gives people another reason to come to this amazing site. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks - totally agree about the value of D-Tube exclusive videos :) Cheers - Carl

all those song you did in this series are beautiful and instant hits. Really catchy. Congrats @calluna to have those beautiful lyrics sang by the bearded legend himself!

I love you man

Wistful stuff, @carlgnash, like a sigh put to song. I'm especially susceptible to the sweet suffering in the lyrics, since I hear the echoes of an immigrant's lament (something I'm familiar with).

Then again, according to Sufism (Islamic mysticism) all of life is a kind of protracted Homesickness, a great & insatiable Longing...

Wonderful collaboration, you two; it left me eager to explore more of @calluna's work! Off to do so, now :) Cheers, Yahia

I love that Sufi concept - I am something of a non-denominational mystic myself :)

Yes, I figured as much :)

This sounds so amazing! This is how collaborations should be.

Thanks! I have been having an absolute blast with this series of posting. So much fun to collaborate with the other amazing talented creative folk here on Steem :)

Oh my word this is incredible!!! To be totally honest, I was nearly sick after I heard it, because this is EXACTLY how I heard it in my head. It is crazy eerie to hear your imagination captured in real life this perfectly. It is like a dream coming to life. I am just totally blow away, you have captured it so so perfectly, so perfectly in fact, I am becoming convinced one of the following must be true.

  1. One of us isn't real
  2. The collective subconscious is definitely real
  3. None of this is real

For sanity's sake, I am going with number 2. I cannot tell you how amazing it is to hear someone else sing this. I know it wasn't really, but next time someone asks me what my best birthday present this year was, this song will be my answer.

Thank you so much!! I am just totally blown away, and kinda babbling lol - I will have to calm down before I can get to work on another entry!

Thank you so much for bringing this to life, for your amazing words, and most of all, throwing my reality into question, it makes the world seem that bit more magical.

Well I think #3 is definitely true in some senses of the word "real", but I am going for #2 as well :) This makes me so happy to read your response! Yay! I totally heard a song while I was first reading this poem, even before I made it to the bottom of the post where you said you also heard it as a song. I think you and I are both made up of some of the same raw stuff of imagination - we have already talked Lovecraft / weird horror, and sci-fi is another of my first loves. You rock and this was a ton of fun. I love Steem collaborations.

Much love - Carl

Sounds awesome carl and @calluna!

Check out @calluna's writing if you haven't - I really enjoy it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33