Gnash Song Challenge - episode 1 (HEAR your words set to music! MARVEL at your ideas taking sonic flight! WONDER at the sheer beauty of it all!)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

With six original songs including 3 never before published publicly online!

The pilot episode of my song challenge landed with a thud but luckily I have a direct line to the folks upstairs and I have shoehorned this contest in to interrupt your regularly scheduled programming, despite the total lack of anyone clamoring for this to happen.

I direct your attention way back to a galaxy far far away when I made my #introduceyourself post (https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@carlgnash/introducing-myself-and-gnash-comment-challenge). I wanted to do something fun and unique with it, so I decided to run a song challenge - I would set to music the full text of comments left to me on the post. I had visions of a huge comment thread being spawned, with all sorts of creative and funny song suggestions being thrown at me. Instead, what I got (unsurprisingly if you know anything about #introduceyourself posts) was a bunch of spam/automated/generic comments welcoming me to Steem.

I did set the first 3 such comments to music but quickly realized that I had made a poor choice in combining my song challenge idea with my #introduceyourself post. I said at the time that I would likely reboot the challenge at a later date.

Well buckle your seat belts ladies and gentlemen and all in between because here we go! The grand reboot of the Gnash Song Challenge!

I am all ears!

Challenge Rules

  • Clearly identify that your comment is intended to be an entry into this challenge
  • EITHER provide me with a song title or song topic, OR provide me with song lyrics (or both!)
  • I will select my favorite entries into this challenge and set them to music!

If you have ever wanted to hear someone sing your praises, you could write an ode to yourself! If you want to do some really creative shit talking, you could write a diatribe against someone else! If you want to impress your sweetie write some love lyrics to/about sweetums and I will serenade softly! You think there is not enough songs about slothicorns in the world? Lay it on me!

I will promise to set AT LEAST one comment left here to music per week and publish it as a separate post, crediting you as inspiration (and lyricist if applicable).

But what do I get out of all this?


Well other than the unimaginable joy you are likely to derive from my sonically brilliant assault on your comment suggestion, I WILL SPLIT THE LIQUID SBD PAYOUT PORTION OF ALL SONG POSTS RESULTING FROM THIS CHALLENGE WITH THE COMMENT AUTHOR. 50/50 split.

If I feel the comments here are getting stale as the weeks go on, I reserve the right to close this episode of the challenge and come out with a new episode.

Examples Please


Okay I mentioned I tried to do this contest here before in my #introduceyourself post. I am still somewhat amazed that I didn't get even a single token $.01 upvote on my original song comment replies to my "welcome" commenters. Here are the three generic welcome comments that I did set to music before I realized the futility of my endeavor:



Where are the original songs never published publicly online?


This whole thing has its genesis in a similar undertaking that I did on Facebook many years ago, in private fashion, with my Facebook friends. I asked for song topics/titles for an upcoming show I was playing at an infamous dance club called Cowfish in Eugene. My Facebook friends provided me with some hilarious suggestions that I set to music. This is the kind of stuff I was hoping I would see here on Steem. Don't leave me hanging this time, Steem friends!

Here are three of the songs that arose out of this, previously only published on my private Facebook feed.

Song topic/title (prompt): Peanut Butter Penis


Song topic/title (prompt): My Glass is Half Full (but it has vomit in it)


Song topic/title (prompt): Funky Fistula Fondue


The video crapped out while recording this one so it is audio only.

Much love! - Carl

Sort:  
Loading...

Oh my! I laugh so much already here's my lyrics which is a comment I got with my answer:

-Nice post would you be kind enough to analyze my function?
-I would be happy to analyze your function I just don't know what you mean by function?

This is incredible THANK YOU I laugh so much again...... You are the fucking rockstar Carl. It sound so beautiful and meaningful but I know where the lyrics are coming from....

Song title - "Too many selfies"

I like the way this one turned out :) https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/4jbw1o0s

Something "Funny" to "Sink Your Teeth Into":

Comedians brains, partially insane, randomly refrain

Something funny---sink your teeth into ;)

A priest in a bar , a god inside a jar, you hear a yelling from afar:

Something funny, sink, your teeth in two?

A cat-i-pulled flies, a doggy bark, lies. The tree hes anal eyes

Something punny funk your feet in two!

Somthing punny funk your feet
Something punny funk your feet
Not as funny as a tweet
But foof.

Its 3 am dude. Thats all i got lol... enjoy

Okay this might have gone up to the top of the list. Ima pick up my guitar and see what happens. I kinda feel like you were channeling a cross between Beck and Bootsy Collins here. We will see what happens.

Boom. Didn't end up recording a whistle part.
https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/12fdogoa

Just you wait until I figure out what to put here for an entry! It'll be awesome!

Oh I am waiting :)

I see you at the fork in the road. At your feet is a big brown toad. Be careful, if you please, when you pick up the fork, not to step on the toad in the road.

Sounds like fun, @carlgnash :) Here's my entry:

"Yes, my Other, this is how
I always recognize you
Upward-reaching and glad,
within wing's wind
of a Great Song."

Awesome! This one is probably going to be next up :)

Cool, I’m looking forward to hearing you lend your breath to my words! Brave New Day, Carl ✌🏼

Wow - I love you, too, and am grateful for your friendship! Thrive, Carl, you do us honor _/|_

Who can resist, in a sense of fun of course, throwing something in to challenge you Carl, and initially you'll find it promising, almost excited, only to be sat their 16hrs later, mind still blank apart from hearing yourself getting ever louder in your own head, still stuck , needing a little bit more to add to these few paltry lines I offer, which are........... this might be a good time to draw a halt to this challenge(no that's not one of the lines, just a warning before you tackle this, hehehe)........

Here we go then .........
"Got me a surefire feeling, I'd bet all my Steem on it, Oh such a sure fire feeling, I'd even bet what's in my jeans on it,"
(but not my belt, you'll never know when I'll need it---- optional line)
"It's like it's, just on the tip of my tongue, I say, just on the tip of my tongue"
"I'd better not mention their names, the greedy bastards, No, I'd better not mention no names, the greedy bastards"
I'd better not mention their names, the greedy bastards, cos they might just send me down in flames, the greedy bastards"
"Aww, it's just on the tip of my tongue, I say, it's just on the tip of my tongue!!"
"Give up on technology, don't be daft!" (this line, I feel, should be repeated 5 times in succession each time it's sung at any point in the song, and as many times as is your liking, but of course I don't want to influence your judgement too much in case I make a bum choice. (see how I'm tryin to make it easier there for you, hehe!)
It needs a few more lines, maybe, and for the last line, I'd like you to hurl a choice insult at me of your own choosing, but must contain an alternative word for masturbation or at least one good expletive...... I deserve no less after all. :)

Challenged? .................... yes I am :)

I love this man. This one is going to be super easy. This one practically writes itself. Very rhythmic.

Glad to hear it @carlgnash, or rather, I'll be glad to hear it. OPlease let me know if you succeed, as I haven't got the notifications side of things quite mastered here yet. ;)

what does the g stand for? we all want to know. your songs have a sort of dirk gently well the planet is ending oh well douglas adams 42 fuck it feel. perhaps a nice commentary about the ills of steemit?

My middle initial is "G". My username is first name, middle initial, last name. Pretty boring :) Bonus points if you guess what my middle name actually is. Hint - it is not "God" (I did have somebody guess that when I provided a clue - it is a religious name).

"The Ills of Steemit" - should I consider this an official entry into the song challenge?

sure. im going off lexis rant on upvoting comments on the 6th day to a tune of a 1500$ payout. they cant be downvoted and theres no mechanism in place to stop the abuse. whales in disguise are greedy fks. as to that G, i'll go with gabriel or some from of godfrey.

It's actually gadfly... :-)

i do believe you are correct!!!

The G remains elusive

you better practice flying.

I have a few lines floating through my head already :)

I think your middle name is Gerald. Your folks were big president Ford fans.

Ok Carl I got one for you!

Yesterday I wrote a misunderstood piece that tried to tie the following.

In the future we will have a chip fitted to our brain which will allow us to 'see' or 'relive' another persons memories.

The memories will be 'cheap' like 'smartphones' says the article.

My attempt to link this to the future problems of @cheetah / @curie when they attempt to spot unoriginal content as it has typed/telepathically made its way to the blockchain, but is in fact a paid for memory from someone else.

I hope that makes sense, my post may or may not help!

Cheers

Oh yes, this makes sense. It is going to be epic.

Oops never left a link here - for posterity:
https://steemit.com/music/@carlgnash/orsc63u4

Ok My entry is a song about ...
Eating chimichangas next to the rhododendron with my canoodling companion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53