The Inbox Runneth Over -- Issue #1 -- Where hidden treasures come to light

in #curation6 years ago

TIRO001.png

The Inbox Runneth Over

is a private curation project begun by @enchantedspirit to honor the exceptional posts she finds in her Steemit travels. The content here will feature a good number of posts from The Steem Engine group in Discord. Their customary post is titled The Daily Whistle Stops.

@enchantedspirit is the curator there, and in that work she finds quite a few posts that are casual, interesting, well-written, helpful or just fun to experience (sometimes writers, sometimes musicians, sometimes artists), but because they are up against such stiff competition that day in submissions to The Steem Engine they can't be included in The Daily Whistle Stops. They also tend to be short, easy to read, easy to digest ... or maybe they just offer something special.

So, she brings them here and finds them a home -- because they deserve more than just a quiet decline and death ... an experience that is already all too common in Steemit. (I know I don't need to tell you that, but it's true!) Sometimes, there may be outside content, too ... from other intriguing people she follows. Sweet little "feature story" experiences and fun artistic moments of all kinds have their place in life -- and on Steemit, too. Please stop in and visit these guys ... and if you enjoy their work, show them you care.

I ... and they ... thank you more than you'll ever know.

You can find The Daily Whistle Stops at @thesteemengine -- and there is information there and here at the bottom of this post telling you how to apply to join. There is also another curation project run by both @enchantedspirit and @catweasel on his blog. It's called The Magnificent Seven and it, too, features exceptional content we find on our Steemit journey. Each of these projects has its own theme, tone and focus. You will find things in both that are worth your time and effort -- and excellent new people to follow. I offer all these suggestions with pride. I know they will enrich your day.

cws.gif

DQmXSjGnaqHUnQCVywb1Z3GV581KwGoRnqE26pwpaN1DdKo.png
Photo Credit: @alexandravart

Fresh 5 Writing Contest
Madre Del Muertas

@sultnpapper

cws.gif

DQmZWQABSHJpkDNGJg9sCH1z6JmBfAJMqep5ypBNQdox3hj.jpg
Image Source

A Tesla Roadster is going to Mars
on SpaceX's Falcon Heavy Rocket

@alexdory

cws.gif

DQmSB1MnTDqZWHboMAcvLdhjMxoULyCqfKU8yyMF556RtFu_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

I Love Philippines
Courtship in the Past

@dawnsheree

cws.gif

U5droCmUDSY5sco7PmL8D5Ah1NZdi7N_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

DNA as hard drive storage!! Anyone?
@tngflx

cws.gif

DQmXrrtWBfZR9RSig825B1Tsbgufe6cavJ1WdPVnHT52M7J.jpg
Image Source

Meditation how and why
Everything you need to know
part one

@zen-art

cws.gif

DQmbvp96mdS8cFJYVJNK5UZw9fmPQ55vgHB3X9URykumuY3.jpg

Unlock the power of Chrome
Day 3

@bozz

cws.gif

U5drQPH8qJ1rSX6JhEjHzwCQxYj2RYH_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

The Valentine Series | Gift Ideas That Give Back
@deborism

cws.gif

DQmfXpUmY83zzA5eN3gsEgCxWG86aPSruz6BDei79Qr1jZe.png
Image By @bobydimitrov

HOLLER OUT Tuesday
Calling ALL Homesteaders & Gardeners

@goldendawne

cws.gif

DQmX11F7yRjKQGURdPHUP66Vmh1rLMwDwkWJVK2sYqkpzAG.jpg
Image Source

The Stories She Gave Me
On books and the death of my grandmother

@shawnamawna

cws.gif

If you're looking for other quality posts to read,
these are links to other worthwhile curation projects.

  • @catweasel and @enchantedspirit do a project very similar to this one called The Magnificent Seven. It is published every couple of days or so on his blog. There are about 22 of them so far.

  • @mitneb devotes her efforts to The @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report. She focuses on finding newcomers to Steemit whose first language is not English. She finds some interesting people. She also includes some of her own "most interesting articles" at the end of her posts.

  • @ethandsmith is doing podcasts about other pieces he enjoyed from The Steem Engine's membership. Look for ones like this ---> The STEEM Engine Express Episode 8 There are (obviously) others available.

  • The Daily Whistle Stops -- found at the @thesteemengine account publishes one of the best general audience curation collections on Steemit if I do say so myself. Go ahead, ask me about it. I'll be happy to say it again. There are about 18 posts to enjoy at the moment. The group itself is astonishingly new for the amount of raw talent assembled there. If you create exceptionally fine content and especially if you consider it undervalued, check this out. It could change your whole Steemit adventure!

  • @goldendawne is the head writer and editor for The Daily Qurator. Again, if you're a producer of quality content on Steemit, you might want to join @qurator ... if you haven't already. They make it worth your while and they're a lot easier than I am to get along with.

  • Finally, @shadowspub does the redoubtable grandmother of all curation efforts on Steemit, The Steemit Ramble. You can find plenty of issues from it on her blog. She also hosts a Thursday discord feature (twice every Thursday, so you have a chance to catch at least one) Pimp Your Post Thursday. You can find out more about it also on her blog

cws.gif

The author of this list of curated posts by members of The STEEM Engine is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog.

cws.gif

steemengineBanner.png

cws.gif

Sort:  

I am very excited for you as you grow this channel. It takes a special kind of person who will undertake projects like this to help others and you have my utmost respect for that which you do.
I am also honored to be included in this first official edition, in the lead spot no less. Not sure if that was intentional or just happened randomly, and I don't want to know, it might bust my bubble of joy.
I have followed your new adventure here and look forward to reading the works you deem worthy of including.
Best wishes for your success,
@sultnpapper

Thank you so much. It was definitely an idea whose time came ... a while back, actually. Now this lets me return to being my schizophrenic self -- posting my woo-woo stuff in one place and my community service in another. I expect you'll make regular appearances here. As usual. <3

Your being featured first here was deliberate. I like your first excursion into the land of fiction! Order isn't always significant here. Sometimes it's determined by something as simple as when I found one piece in comparison to other things. Sometimes I have time to categorize things in sections. Sometimes it's just a potpourri with no order at all. It's interesting to look at daily patterns like that. (But then I'm into that kind of stuff!)

Here, however, your bubble of joy is well justified. You were chosen to lead the parade. Your story appealed to me on many levels. I think it's also the only one ever to hit all three group compilations -- TDWS, Mag 7 and TIRO. I could be wrong on that score, but if another piece previously hit the trifecta, it was probably one of yours.

Well I don't know now if we can trust your curation skills, I told you I didn't want to know and you told me anyway. Just kidding about the trust, I highly respect your judgement. I never gave it any thought about the trifecta, may have to pay more attention in the future.
I intend to write more in the near future, so be on the look out if you will.

!cheetah whitelist

Bless you, @patrice .

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.4$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I had never seen this before "whitelist" , but this endeavor doesn't need to be hounded and I think you just put a stop to it if I am thinking correctly, if so , THANK YOU!!!

Cheetah's vigilance notwithstanding, I'm thrilled to have this project finally in a home of its own. I hope visitors here will continue to enjoy the fine content featured in each of these posts ... because, like Truth, great stuff is where you find it, and I am committed to the task of helping you find it here.

To the new visitors, welcome. To the old friends, glad you found your way to the new location. Business as usual will continue here ... and when I've gotten a few hours sleep, I'll have lots more to say.

Thanks for sharing all these cool posts. There are probably quite a few I missed on the first go around, but you getting them all in one place sure helps. :) You always do a great job of curating. Now, go take a break and get some good sleep for once. ;) Ha.

I agree. Keeping things together in one place is a huge help when you need to find something. Or refer back to something. I do wish Steemit itself provided us all with a better way to do that. Thank you for the kind words and good wishes. And sleep? What's that?

Welcome to your new home, TIRO. Live long and prosper.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

THANK you for the mention!

You're certainly welcome. What on earth are you doing up at 4 in the morning?

I wake up usually 4:30 am but was without power all night... I heard it go on when the furnace began humming so I figured--- I lost yesterday's workload - time to get up! lol

There's just never any rest for the weary, is there! Glad you got your power back. I hope it holds. Welcome to Saturday. Good luck getting through the pile of posts waiting for you. I know you can count on the fact that nothing happened to cut down on that during your absence. Oh, joy! Oh, joy!

Ain't that the truth!!! Never knew ginabot could count this high in regards to notifications! gonna be a long day!

Happy Saturday to you too!

!tip or is it tip! , never can remember but I know I have the power to use it, so hopefully it will appear.

Thank you for the mention. I appreciate it! I have followed you to keep track of all the great stuff you are highlighting. I plan on covering a new Chrome extension every other day, so stay tuned for more great stuff! -@bozz

Great curation! Thank you for the mention. You have excellent taste :)
But seriously, all posts are amazing and your taste really is good.💚

I'm glad to see some very familiar faces among the curated.

Cheers and continue the great work with this project!
:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47